Chester St Paul, Cheshire Genealogy
|Chester St Paul, Cheshire|
Boughton St Paul contributor Adie Jackson
|Poor Law Union||Chester Incorporation|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: 1838|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1838|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Chester, St. Paul, Boughton Lane. Founded 1838 as a chapel to St John the Baptist, becoming a parish church in 1846 covering parts of the city centre and Great Boughton. In 1879 the parish was extended to include Spital Boughton.
The parish became known as St Paul's Boughton.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Chester St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Chester St Paul Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1538-1911||1538-1910||1538-1911|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1576-1906||1576-1906||1576-1906|
|FS Catalog PRs||1838-1947||1838-1947||1838-1947|
|FS Catalog BTs||1838-1867||1838-1867||1838-1867|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837–69)
- Chester (1870–1998)
- Cheshire West (post1998)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Chester St Paul on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
Thacker, A. T.; Lewis, C. P. (eds.) (2005), Churches and religious bodies: Modern parish churches, A History of the County of Chester: Volume 5 part 2: The City of Chester: Culture, Buildings, Institutions, Victoria County History, pp. 159–162, ISBN 9781904356035
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp.35, 172–173, ISBN 0 300 09588 0