To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Chester St Mary on the Hill, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chester St Mary on the Hill, Cheshire
St Mary Church Chester 2.jpg
St Mary Church Chester 2
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxton; Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Chester Incorporation
Registration District Great Boughton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1628
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chester
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Mary on the Hill is a parish in the city of Chester.[1] The parish of Upton was annexed to St Mary on the Hill.[2] For more information on the city, see Chester.

An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Claverton, Little Mollington, Marlston cum Lache, Moston (near Chester), Upton by Chester and part of the city of Chester. The original church was closed in 1887 and replaced by St. Mary without the Walls in Overleigh Road.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Chester St Mary on the Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chester St Mary on the Hill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI 1547-1812, 1836-1843, 1843-1856, 1868-1881
1549-1812


FS Catalog PRs
1628-1953
1628-1953
1628-1953
FS Catalog BTs
1601-1894
1601-1894
1601-1894

Upton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Upton Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


FS Catalog PRs
1854-1983
1854-1983
1854-1983

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Not known

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Chester Poor Law Union

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Chester St Mary on the Hill on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 576-586. Date accessed: 18 March 2019.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk