Chester County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
South Carolina
Chester County

Guide to Chester County, South Carolina Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy court records, deeds, maps, immigration, maps, military records, newspapers, obituaries, plantations, probate records, slaves, local archives, libraries, museums, churches, cemeteries, and Civil War records.


{{{link}}}


Chester County, South Carolina
Map
Map of South Carolina highlighting Chester County
Location in the state of South Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting South Carolina
Location of South Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1785
County Seat Chester
Courthouse


County Information

Chester County, South Carolina Record Dates

Chester County's civil records start the following years:

Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1915 1911 1915 1800 1785 1787

County Courthouse

Chester County Courthouse


Chester County Courthouse
140 Main Street
Chester, SC 29706
Phone: 803-385-2605

Chester County Probate Court
1476 J.A. Cochran Bypass
P.O. Box 580
Chester, SC 29706
Phone: 803-385-2604
Marriage and probate records

Clerk of Court
140 Main Street
P.O. Box 580
Chester, SC 29706
Phone: 803-385-2605
Deeds and court records

Hours:
8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday-Friday

Historical Facts

Chester County was named for Chester, Pennsylvania by early Scots-Irish settlers who arrived in the area as early as 1755. Many belonged to the Fishing Creek Presbyterian Church.

Chester, Pennsylvania was in turn named for Chester, England.[1] Learn more about the history of Chester County from the South Carolina State Library or from Carolana.com.

Parent County/Boundary Changes

  • 1785 - Thirty three counties were created within existing South Carolina Districts. Chester County was created within Camden District.
  • 1791 - Chester was transferred to the newly created Pinckney District.
  • 1800 - Chester was re-christened a district and Pinckney District was abolished.
  • 1868 - Chester and all other districts became counties.

For more information as well as maps of Chester County through time, see the South Carolina State Archives or For animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation South Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1682-1987) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

County Seat

The county seat of Chester County is Chester.

County Pronunciation

Hear it spoken.[2]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.

Resources

Chester County

Research Guides

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png South Carolina African Americans

Known plantations - South Carolina Plantations:

  • Backstrom - Richburg - also called Key, Marion
  • Beckhamville
  • Blackjack - also called Barr
  • Brawley
  • Cedar Shoals
  • Green
  • Key - also called Backstrom, Marion
  • Landsford - Catawba
  • Marion - also called Backstrom, Key
  • McCullough
  • Mount Holly
  • Oak Grove - also called John Edward Bankhead Home
  • Oakland
  • Oaks of Mamre - Chester - also called Walker-Mills
  • Red Bank
  • Red Hill
  • Tivoli - Landsford
  • Turkey Creek
  • Walker-Mills - Chester - also called Oaks of Mamre
  • Wappetaw
  • Woodside
  • Wyoming

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
SCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
SCGenWeb Archives Tombstone Project
SCInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 6,866
1800 8,185 19.2%
1810 11,479 40.2%
1820 14,189 23.6%
1830 17,182 21.1%
1840 17,747 3.3%
1850 18,038 1.6%
1860 18,122 0.5%
1870 18,805 3.8%
1880 24,153 28.4%
1890 26,660 10.4%
1900 28,616 7.3%
1910 29,425 2.8%
1920 33,389 13.5%
1930 31,803 −4.8%
1940 32,579 2.4%
1950 32,597 0.1%
1960 30,888 −5.2%
1970 29,811 −3.5%
1980 30,148 1.1%
1990 32,170 6.7%
2000 34,068 5.9%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.


1800, 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Chester County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see South Carolina Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See South Carolina Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Chester County, SC census assignments, including links to transcribed files, The USGenWeb Census Project®

1820
1820 Manufactures

The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL films 1024517 - 1024518.

Published abstract:

  • National Archives. Indexes to Manufactures Census of 1820. 1920; reprint, Knightstown, Ind.: Bookmark, 1977. FHL Book 973 X2m 1820; digital version at Lineages. Includes this county.
1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840, film 2321; digital versions at Google Books. See South Carolina, Chester District on page 144.
1850
1870
1880

Church History and Records

Court Records

  • Holcomb, Brent H. et al. Chester County, South Carolina Minutes of the County Court, 1785-1799. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1979. FHL Book 975.747 P2s.

DNA

Template:DNA DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Charleston County residents. FamilySearch has not independently verified the lineages of those tested.

Genealogy

Genealogies about several Chester County families are kept at the Winthrop College Archives and Special Collections in Rock Hill, S.C.[3]

Several Chester County families are discussed in the following collections:

  • Hartness, George Bowman. By Ship, Wagon, and Foot to York County, S.C. Columbia, S.C.: G.B. Hartness, 1966. FHL 975.743 D2h ["A compilation of historical information on the following families who were among the earliest white settlers of York, Chester, Winnsboro, and Kershaw Counties, South Carolina: Hartness, Ash, Burris, Bowen, Whitley, Mitchell, Carson, Thomas, Neil, Irvin, Chesnut, Curley, Sutton, McClain, Waggoner, Eakins, Johnsey, and including a chapter on the Hartness family who settled in New York State."]
  • Myer, Lois C. Descendants of Dr. Alexander Rosborough and Mary Hemphill in Chester Co., South Carolina: Descendants of James Strong and Elizabeth of Chester Co. South Carolina; Descendants of James Brice and Jane Wilson of Antrim Co. Ireland and Fairfield Co., South Carolina; Descendants of Andrew Hemphill and Isabelle McKeown of Chester Co., South Carolina; Descendants of William Maffatt and Barbara Chesnut of Chester Co. South Carolina; Descendants of James Knox and Elizabeth Craig of Tennessee; Descendants of William Gaston and Miss Lemon of Clough Water, Ireland and Chester Co., South Carolina; More Roseborough and Gaston Family Records. Typescript. Microfilmed 1969. FHL 599428


  • [Allen] Allen--Osborn--Alley, and Connected Families, Census Records, 1850-1870. Typescript, 1937. FHL Film 1597818 Item 8.
  • [Archer] Archer and Allied Families, ca. 1727-1960. MSS. Microfilmed 1986: FHL Vault US/CAN Film 1435481.
  • [Barnett] Wear, Kyle. "Proposed Ancestry and Extended Family of William Barnett," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 36, No. 3 (Summer 2008):123-138. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 36
  • [Beard] Beard, H. Chris. Descendants of Aaron Beard and Kizziah Carter Beard. Chalmette, La.: H.C. Beard, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 B38bh.
  • [Bell] Hoover, Leslie Everett Orr, James Thomas Bunkley, Emogene Bunkley, and Irb Parker. Genealogical Records, 1900-1978. MSS. Microfilmed 1979: FHL Film 1036928 Item 4.
  • [Bigham] "James and Jane Bigham of Ireland and Chester, South Carolina," in Esther W. Bigham, Genealogical Collection of Esther Bigham. MSS. Microfilmed 1993. FHL Film 1598133 Item 7.
  • [Boyd] Perry, Max. The Descendants of the Robert Boyd and the Charles Boyd Families of Chester County, South Carolina. Midland, Texas: M. Perry, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 B692p
  • [Buford] Buford, Marcus Bainbridge. A Genealogy of the Buford Family in America, With Records of a Number of Allied Families. San Francisco, Calif., 1903. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Burnsides] Sibley, Marilyn McAdams. Hiram Abiff McAdams of Camden, S.C. Houston, Texas: M.M. Sibley, 1988. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 921.73 M115s.
  • [Combest] Covington, Lerlene Rowell. John Combest and His Descendants. Wolfe City, Texas: Henington Pub., 1987. FHL Book 929.273 C732cL.
  • [Combest] Smith, H. Jane and Patricia J. Olmstead. Samuel Combest and His Descendants. Elgin, Ill.: H.J.B. Smith and P.O. Olmstead, 1990. FHL Book 929.273 C732s.
  • [Cooper] Parker, Elmer Oris. "The Cooper-Amberson Connection," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 13, No. 3 (Summer 1985):130-134. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 13
  • [Cooper] Parker, Elmer Oris. "Cooper-Amberson Family Connection Update," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 16, No. 4 (Fall 1988):222. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 16
  • [Crawford] Veach, Mary Frances Thomas. Sorting the Waxhaw Crawfords a Compendium of Research on the Crawfords & Related Families Starting Out in the Counties of York, Chester, & Lancaster, South Carolina Before the Revolution. Elverta, Calif.: M. Veach, 1993. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL 929.273 C856v .
  • [Cureton] Perry, Max. Descendants of the Cureton Families of York and Chester Counties of South Carolina: Including Genealogical Briefs of the Stewart, Webb and Heath Families. Midland, Texas: M. Perry, 2001. FHL 929.273 C923p
  • [Curry] Curry, R. Bruce and Roberta Mitchell Curry. Descendants of Samuel and Sarah Smith Curry. Gainesville, Fla.: R.B. & R.M. Curry, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 C937crb.
  • [Davison] Wells, Laurence K. "William Davison of York County, S.C., 1779," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 60, No. 3 (Sep. 1972):163-168. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 60
  • [Dick], Barbara Ann. The Descendants of John Dick and Wife Margaret Wylie. Brea, Calif.: B.A.Z. Renick, 1986. FHL Book 929.273 D55r.
  • [Edwards] Stevens, Robert J. and William Henry Edwards. Captain Bill: The Records and Writings of Captain William Henry Edwards (and Others), Company A, 17th Regiment, South Carolina Volunteers, Confederate States of America, a History and Genealogy of Chester County, S.C. in Five Volumes. 5 vols. Richburg, S.C.: Chester District Genealogical Society, 1985. FHL 975.747 H2s
  • [Egger] Egger, Virdie Hodnett. Moses Bond Egger, His Ancestry and Some of His Descendants. Plainview, Texas: V.H. Egger, 1971. FHL Book 929.273 A1 no. 3468.
  • [Elder] Elder, Mary J. and Margaret Elder Ratterree. Elder Family. Marissa, Ill.: Marissa Hsitorical & Genealogical Society, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 EL22m.
  • [Elliott] Caldwell, James Philo, Betsy Matthews Garland and Nelle McMaster Sprott. The Family History of James Elliot (1773-1865) of Winnsboro, South Carolina and His Descendants. Clover, S.C.: J.P. Caldwell, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 EL58c.
  • [Faris] Faris, David. The Faris Family of Washington County, Indiana: A Genealogy of the Descendants of William Farrie; Born in County Antrim, Ireland about the Year 1745; Settled on Rocky Creek, Chester County, South Carolina in 1772; Died as William Faries on Turkey Creek, York County, South Carolina in 1805: Including the Principal Families of Baird, Devinney, Ervin, Faries, Faris, Finley, Loudon, McIntyre, Martin, Steuart, Taggart, Tippin & Woods. Philadelphia, Pa.: D. Faris, 1984. FHL 929.273 F228fd
  • [Fee] Pearson, Ralph E. William Fee and Family with Index. Austin, Texas: R.E. Pearson, 198-. FHL Book 929.273 F32pr.
  • [Fee] Curtis, Oscar F. Research File: Orr--Fee and Allied Families. Microfilmed 1989. FHL Film 1638488 Item 36.
  • [Fee] Fee Family Bible Records, ca. 1785-1887. Typescript. Microfilmed 1989. FHL Film 1638488 Item 36.
  • [Feemster] Feemster, Roy F. Brief Biographies of the Feemster, Cope, LeFors, Redus Families. Concord, N.H.: Feemster Publications, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 F321fr.
  • [Ferguson] Paulus, Maud A. Shields/McElhannon Families, Neely/Ferguson Families, Faris/Lusk/Whitside Families. Typescript. FHL Book 976.4 D2c.
  • [Finley] Finley, Carmen J. "The John Finleys of Augusta County, Virginia: Correcting the Record," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 46, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2002):3-13; Vol. 46, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2002):98-113; Vol. 46, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 2002):171-178; Vol. 46, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2002):268-281. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 46 (2002).
  • [Ford] Sisson, Rubye Hall Edge. The Fords of Northeast Alabama and Related Families. Cullman, Ala.: Gregath, 1990. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 F75sr.
  • [Franklin] Franklin, Jesse Edward. The Family and Ancestry of Sims Kelly Franklin and Margaret Virginia Chapman Franklin. Wolfe City, Texas: Henington Pub., 1973. FHL Book 929.273 F854b.
  • [Franklin] Franklin Family Researchers United et al. Franklin Family Researchers United. Newsletter. El Campo, Texas: Franklin Family Researchers United, 1991-. FHL Books 929.27305 F854ff.
  • [Gaston] Davidson, Chalmers Gaston and Arthur Lee Gaston. Gaston of Chester: Based Chiefly on the Notes and Records Preserved by Judge Arthur Lee Gaston. Davidson, N.C.: n.p., 1956. FHL Book 929.273 G219d.
  • [Gaston] Wood, Kathleen Wilkinson, Leonidas Howard, Kate Howard, and James Augustus Wood. The Gaston, Howard and Wilkinson Families: A Genealogical History of Three Intermarried Families in the Black Belt of Alabama. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1976. FHL Book 929.273 G219a.
  • [Gill] Hendleman, James Aaron. Southern Gill Genealogy -- Gill Branch Primary Limbs, Gill, Greer (Grierson--MacGregor), Pollard and Douglas. Annandale, Va.: J.A. Hendleman, Jr., 1982. FHL Book 929.273 G41hj.
  • [Glenn] "James Glenn/Hannah Thompson (Hanover County, Va., Chester County, S.C.) Through Glenn Miscellaneous," in Melton P. Meek, Meek Genealogical Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 1993. FHL Film 1888717 Item 5.
  • [Graham] Kell, Katherine Tolle and Philip James Graham. David Graham of Chester County, South Carolina and His Descendants, 1772-1989. Birmingham, Mich.: K.T. Kell, 1990. FHL 929.273 G76k
  • [Hamilton] Hamilton, Joseph Christie. Through Hamilton. Marissa, Ill.: Marissa Historical & Genealogical Society, 1992. FHL Book 929.273 H18hjc.
  • [Harbison] Harbison, Milford W. James Harbison (1739-1825) Genealogy. MSS. Microfilmed 1977. FHL Film 982438 Item 2.
  • [Harper] Reynolds, Troy Harper. Robert Harper, Revolutionary Soldier of Catholic Presbyterian Church, Chester, South Carolina, 1742-1801. 1980. FHL Film 1318194 Item 3
  • [Howton] Surrock, Lester E. Howton Family Documents. 2 vols. Montgomery, Ala.: L.E. Surrock, 1989. FHL Film 1674903 Items 1-2.
  • [Hudson] Hudson, Joshua Hilary. Sketches and Reminiscences. Columbia, S.C.: State Co., 1903. FHL Vault US/CAN Film 1689437 Item 2; digital version at Google Books.
  • [Humphries] Humphries, John D. Georgia Descendants of Nathaniel Pope of Virginia, John Humphries of South Carolina and Allen Gay of North Carolina. Atlanta, Ga.: J.D. Humphries, 1934. FHL Book 929.273 P81h.
  • [Humphries] "Charles Humphries of Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Summer 1979):188-190. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 7
  • [Humphries] Holcomb, Brent H. and Katherine L. Hester. Ancestors and Descendants of Charles Humphries (d. 1837) of Union District, South Carolina, 1677-1984. Including Records from Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Other States. Columbia, S.C.: B.H. Holcomb, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 H889hb.
  • [Humphries] Herreid, Charlene Humphries. "Richard Humphries of Union District and Some of His Descendants," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 36, No. 2 (Spring 2008):71-75. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 36
  • [Humphries] Herreid, Charlene Humphries. "A Tale of Two Charners," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 38, No. 2 (Spring 2010):71-78. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 38
  • [Hussey] Hussey, Ray Walter. Descendants of John Hussey and Barbara Sheffield. Kernville, Calif.: R.W. Hussey, 1986. FHL Book 929.273 H965hu.
  • [Kelsey] Kelsey, Mavis P. and Mary Randolph Wilson Kelsey. Samuel Kelso/Kelsey, 1720-1796, Scotch-Irish Immigrant and Revolutionary Patriot of Chester County, South Carolina, His Origin, Descendants and Related Families Including Newly Published Information on Mills, Gill, Pagan, Wylie, Morrow, Jones, Sealy, Jaggers, Reeves, Mauldin, Moore, Stevenson, McAlexander and Other Families: with Membership Register (1837-1947) and Tombstone Inscriptions of the Wesley Methodist Chapel, Red Banks, Marshall County, Mississippi. Houston, Texas: M.P. Kelsey, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 K299km
  • [Kelsey] Kelsey, Mavis P., Mason Dutton Kelsey, and Samuel Kelsey Descendants. The Earl of Donegal: The Kelsey (Kelso) Family Bulletin, for the Descendants of Samuel Kelsey (Kelso) 1720-1796 and Susannah Mills 1723-1804, with Information for the Descendants of Samuel's Older Brother and Sister, Robert Kelsey Sr. & Mary Kelsey, and Related Families. Petaluma, Calif.: Samuel Kelsey Descendants, 1984. FHL Fiche 6055229.
  • [Kirkpatrick] Kirkpatrick, Melvin E. and David Hudson. A Kirkpatrick Genealogy: Being an Account of the Descendants of the Family of James Kirkpatrick of South Carolina, ca. 1715-1786. Coalville, Iowa: D. Hudson, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 K363k.
  • [Knox] Petersen, Lorene K. and Jennie Jane Belle Lyle. Knox--James Knox, Sr. and Elizabeth Craig Knox and Their Descendants. Pinedale, Ariz.: A.L. & L.K. Petersen, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 K773p. See also FHL CD.
  • [Lacey] Moore, Maurice Augustus. The Life of Gen. Edward Lacey: With a List of Battles and Skirmishes in South Carolina During the Revolutionary War. Spartanburg, S.C.: Douglass, Evins & Co., 1859. FHL Book 1550788 Item 9.
  • [Lacey] Draper, Lyman C. King's Mountain and Its Heroes. Cincinnati: Peter G. Thomson, Publishers, 1881. Pages 463-464. Digital version at Google Books.
  • [Lacey] Owen, Thomas McAdory. A Genealogy of the Lacey Family. Carrollton, Ala.: West Alabamian Printing, 1900. FHL Film 1012620 Item 3; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • [Lacey] Owen, Thomas McAdory. "Colonel Edward Lacey of the Revolution and Some of His Descendants," The Gulf States Historical Magazine, Vol. 1 (July 1902):41-44. FHL Film 185430 Item 26; digital version at Google Books.
  • [Land] Land Family of Louisiana and Its Various Branches, 1765-1935. Typescript, 1935? FHL Fiche 6010273.
  • [Land] Land, William M. and Forest Lee Brashers Bradley. Family History: Land and Edwards Families. MSS. Microfilmed 1986. FHL Film 1435483.
  • [Little] "Death Comes Suddenly to S.W. Little, Coal Operator," Journal News, (Evansville, Ind.), 28 Sep 1907. Willard Library; copy: FHL Film 1481375 Item 25
  • [Love] Love, Joseph William. John Love and His Wife Mary Hurst: Early Williamson County, Texas Pioneer Family, Their Ancestors and Descendants. Galveston, Texas: J.W. Love, 2007. FHL Book 929.273 L941Ljw.
  • [Lynn] Lynn, E. Elizabeth. Descendants of John (Linn) Lynn, County Antrim, Ireland and Chester County, South Carolina, 1738-1830. Montreat, N.C.: E.E. Lynn, 1983. FHL 929.273 L993Le
  • [McAliley] Hook, John H. The Hook/White Notebook: A Family History and Genealogy for the Descendants of Charles and Mabel Hook. St. Petersburg, Fla.: J.H. Hook, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 H763hj.
  • [McClintock] Shelton, A. Louise. Descendants of James (Timothy) McClintock and Some Related Families-Lawrence, Ribble, Streit (Stright). Hanford, Calif.: A.L. Shelton, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 M132s.
  • [McClure] Yates, John S. George Washington Terry: A Collection of His Life, Ancestors and Descendants. Wichita Falls, Texas: J.S. Yates, 1998. FHL Book 921.73 T279y.
  • [McClurken] Myer, Lois C. Craig Families of Ireland: Also Descendants of Robert Houston ... MSS. Microfilmed 1969: FHL Film 547593.
  • [McCoslin] McCoslin, Leon Dwane and Earnest Lynn McCoslin. The McCoslin and Worthy Families, Descendants of Henry Houston McCoslin and Martin Worthy Sr. Brazoria, Texas: L.D. & E.L. McCoslin, 1999. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 M137mde.
  • [McCreary] McCreary, Richard A. The McCrearys of Barnwell County, S.C. Columbia, S.C.: R.A. McCreary, 1991. FHL Book 929.273 M137ma.
  • [McDuff] McDuff, Raymond Milton. The Clan McDuff: Descendants of Captain Daniel McDuff, 1757-1831, and William McDuff, American Revolutionary Patriots. Bastrop, La.: R.M. McDuff, 1984. FHL Film 1321046 Item 9.
  • [McFadden] Skinner, William Thomas. A McFadden Chronology, 1710-1900. Matthews, N.C.: W.T. Skinner, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 M161s.
  • [McFadden] Croom, Emily Anne. Isaac McFadden Descendants. Bellaire, Texas: E.A. Croom, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 M161c.
  • [McFadden] Skinner, William Thomas. Descendants of Ulster: McFadden Settlers of Chester County, South Carolina 1710-2004. Charlotte, N.C.: W.T. Skinner, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 M161sw
  • [McGriff] Patrick McGriff and His Descendants. Genealogical Loose Papers / [South Carolina] Department of Archives and History. 29th Family on Film. Copy: FHL Film 288188.
  • [McGriff] Hill, Joseph Edward. Colonel Patrick McGriff of Chester County, South Carolina, and Montgomery County, Georgia: His Children and Grandchildren and Some Others Named McGriff. Leesburg, Fla.: J.E. Hill, 1973. FHL 929.273 M178h
  • [McGriff] Hill, Joseph Edward. Captain James McGriff (1755-1830) and His Descendants. Leesburg, Fla.: J.E. Hill Sr., 1979. FHL Book 929.273 M137h.
  • [McLure] Butt, Mary McLure, Sarah Porter Carroll, and Jane Catherine Poulton. While the Cotton Blooms: A Pre Civil War History of the Family of John William McLure of Chester and Union Counties, S.C., Including the History of the Church of the Nativity, the Diary of Jane Poulton, Letters from the McLure Family Collection. Greenville, S.C.: A Press Printing Co., 1990. FHL Book 929.273 M132bmm
  • [McMillan] Jones, Donald L. McMillan / MacMillan Family: A Family of Scotch-Irish Ancestors that Came to the United States of America in the 1700s. Marissa, Ill.: Marissa Historical & Genealogical Society, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 M228j.
  • [Magill] Jones, Hazel Parker. Descendants of James Boyd Magill, 1799-1880, Emigrant from Ireland to Chester Co., S.C. in 1823: A Biographical and Historical Genealogy, Including Allied Families. Clinton, S.C.: Jacobs Bros., 1963. FHL Book 929.273 M272j.
  • [Martin] Ahlemann, Hilda Martin. The Martins of Gibson County [and Allied Families]. Typescript. Microfilmed 1986. FHL Film 1435483.
  • [Millen] Shepherd, Thelma Gentry. Millen-Moffatt Genealogy with Notes on the Chestnut Family. Ford Madison, Iowa: n.p., 1972. FHL Film 1016938 Item 10.
  • [Mitchell] Blankenship, Edith Cameron. Ancestors and Descendants of William Milton Mitchell. Alexander City, Ala.: E.C. Blankenship, 2001. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 M696b.
  • [Moffatt] Moffatt, James R. William and Barbara Moffatt. Troy, Tenn.: J.R. Moffatt, [1940?]. FHL Book 929.273 M723mj.
  • [Morrow] Phillips, Ophelia M. Morrow Cousins: This is a History of the Morrow Family Beginning with Samuel Morrow of Maryland, Including One Line of These Connecting Families, Barnett, Cork, Gregory, Jennings, Kimbrough, Leavell, Phillips, Stewart, Storey, Thornton, Turner. Tuscaloosa, Ala.: Drake Printers, 1972. FHL Film 1454554 Item 10.
  • [Nixon] Fay, Mary Smith. "Colonel John Nixon's Irish Relatives," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 14, No. 4 (Fall 1986):183-186. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 14
  • [Orr] Orr, J. Herbert. Daniel and William Orr of Hall Co., Ga. Opelika, Ala.: J. Herbert Orr, 1977. FHL Film 1597743 Item 28.
  • [Patton] White, William Boyce. Genealogy of Two Early Patton Families of York, Chester, and Lancaster Counties, South Carolina. Roanoke, Va.: W.B. White, 1996. FHL 929.273 P278w
  • [Peden] Myer, Lois C. Descendants of John Peden and Peggy McDill of Ireland and Chester Co., South Carolina: Also Lines of James Peden, Morton, and Morrow; Descendants of Samuel Martin and Jane Hightower through Robert Martin and His Wives, Rebecca and Mary. Typescript. Microfilmed 1969. FHL 599429 Item 1
  • [Peebles] Saltzman, Bettie L. Peebles and Linda L. Saltzman McCall. Peebles, 1763-1988. Typescript. 1988 reprint: FHL Book 929.273 P343s; see also: FHL Film 1481380 Item 1.
  • [Plaxco] Mendenhall, Samuel Brooks and William Boyce White. Plaxco-Robinson Being an Account of Two of the Ancient Presbyterian Families of Upper South Carolina (Particularly Situated in York and Chester Counties). Richmond, Va.: Whittet & Shepperson, 1958. FHL 929.273 P698m
  • [Porter] Leigon, William, Faye Leigon, Stewart Porter, and Blake Williams. The Porters of Fishing Creek: A History of the Porter Family Which Lived in Chester County, South Carolina During the Revolutionary War Period with an Account of Some of Their Descendants and Allied Families. Truth or Consequences, N.M.: W. & F. Leigon, 1987. FHL Book 929.273 P833Lw
  • [Powell] Andrea, Leonardo. Powell. Typescript, Polk County Historical Library, Bartow, Fla. FHL Film 978080 Item 2.
  • [Robinson] Mendenhall, Samuel Brooks and William Boyce White. Plaxco-Robinson Being an Account of Two of the Ancient Presbyterian Families of Upper South Carolina (Particularly Situated in York and Chester Counties). Richmond, Va.: Whittet & Shepperson, 1958. FHL 929.273 P698m
  • [Rogers] Andrea, Leonardo. Rodgers--Roger--Rogers. Typescript, Polk County Historical Library, Bartow, Fla. Microfilmed 1975. FHL Film 978080 Item 2.
  • [Service] Ahart, Barbara Joan Allen. John Service, 1727-1807 of Chester County, South Carolina: The Story of "Wee Johnny Service" and His Family. Canon City, Colo.: B. Ahart, 2000. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 Se69a.
  • [Speer] Speer, Rollo Clayton. A Genealogical Account of the Family of John I. Speer and Joseph Lowery Speer, Prominent Brothers in the Early Life of the State of Kansas John I. Speer was the Editor of the First Paper in Lawrence: Joseph Lowery Speer was the First Lieutenant Governor of Kansas. Topeka, Kan.: Kansas State Historical Society, 1967. FHL Film 1688880 Item 1.
  • [Speer] Speer, Rollo Clayton. The Lineage of John I. Speer, Pioneer Editor of Lawrence, Kansas, and His Larger Family Group. Topeka, Kan.: Kansas State Historical Society, 1967. FHL Film 1688880 Item 14.
  • [Stephenson] Mount, Allen Wade. Our Stephenson Family and Allied Lines: A Brief Genealogical and Historical Record. Lee's Summit, Mo.: A.W. Mount, Sr., 1981. FHL Film 1033856 Item 6.
  • [Stephenson] Stephenson, Virginia Bray and Larry E. Stephenson. Stephenson -- Jones and Other Ancestors in Memory of Lorenzo Eugene Stephenson & Phoebe Artimissa Shelton and Strider Mood Jones & Sarah Jane Lyon and All Those Pioneers Who Preceded Them. Wyandotte, Okla.: Gregath, 1999. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 St45sv.
  • [Stewart] Beckman, Ludwig A. Genealogy, John Stewart, Rosherry, Ireland - Descendants Through His Son James. Louisville, Mo.: L.A. Beckman, Jr., 1967. FHL Film 1402777 Item 1.
  • [Stormont] Stormont, Gil R. Stormont Genealogy. Typescript. Microfilmed 1969. FHL Film 599051 Item 2.
  • [Strong] Boyce, Susie B. The Ancestors and Descendants of John Mason Boyce and Margaret Leone Maxwell. Warren, N.J.: S.B. Boyce, 1996. FHL Book 929.273 B692bo.
  • [Terry] Yates, John S. George Washington Terry: A Collection of His Life, Ancestors and Descendants. Wichita Falls, Texas: J.S. Yates, 1998. FHL Book 921.73 T279y.
  • [Thomas] Andrea, Leonardo. "Folder no. 888. Thomas of Union, Chester, and Fairfield," Genealogical Folders in the Leonardo Andrea Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 1974: FHL Film 954596.
  • [Tidwell] Johnson, Charles Owen. "The Tidwell Family," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1973):3-7; Vol. 17, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1973):114-121; Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1973):181-186; Vol. 17, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1973):295-299; Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):35-40; Vol. 18, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1974):129-135; Vol. 18, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1974):175-182; Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):257-264; Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1975):39-45. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 17 (1973) - v. 19 (1975).
  • [Tindall] Tindall, Hal E. Seven Generations of Tindalls. Sacramento, Calif.: H.E. Tindall, [198-]. FHL Book 929.273 T492ti.
  • [Vandegrift] Holcomb, Rowland R. and Erskine Vandegrift. A Vandegrift Family Tree. Jacksonville, Ala.: R.R. Holcomb, 1995. FHL Book 929.273 V281h.
  • [Walker] Hill, Annie Lee Hudson. Walker, Lemont Families. Typescript, 1954. FHL Film 875416 Item 9.
  • [Walker] Russell, Judith F. "Samuel Walker of South Carolina: Three Revolutionary Soldiers," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Winter 2003):17-20. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 31
  • [West] West, Henry Hebard. A West Record for My Children. Typescript, 1933. FHL Film 1698195 Item 13.
  • [Whiteside] Paulus, Maud A. and Kathrin Neely Curtice. Handwritten Family Notes of Rhoda Frances (Shields) Neely, Wife of Isaac Robertson Neely, Primarily of the Whiteside Family These Notes were Found in the Bible of Isaac Robertson Neely, Husband of Rhoda Frances Neely, After Her Death 1 July, 1936. Old Family Bible records from Ann Poage Chapter, Texas, Vol. 2. Copy: FHL Book 976.4 D2cu v. 2.
  • [Whitside] Paulus, Maud A. Shields/McElhannon Families, Neely/Ferguson Families, Faris/Lusk/Whitside Families. Typescript. FHL Book 976.4 D2c.
  • [Wilson] Huttash, Ogreta W. Some of the Descendants of George and Johnanna (Freeman) Wilson. Jacksonville, Texas: O.W. Huttash, 1992. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Book 929.273 W691ho.
  • [Woodburn] Woodburn, James Albert. Woodburn History: Some Generations of a Family. Bloomington, Ind.: J.A. Woodburn, 1936. FHL Films 1638365 Item 2, 1310085 Item 2.


Land and Property

Deeds

Because of South Carolina’s history as an agricultural state many residents owned land. For more information about types of land records see South Carolina Land and Property.

Tracing records through South Carolina county and district changes can be difficult. In general, for earliest records begin by searching the Charleston District, then your ancestor’s residential district, then neighboring districts, then the residential county, then neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records for Chester County:

Tracing Land Currently in Chester County with Parent Counties and Districts [4]
Date Government Office  
1868-present Chester County
1800-1868 Chestesr District
1791-1800 Chester County (old) Records in Pinckney District
1785-1791 Chester County (old) Records in Camden District
1769-1785 Camden District * **
1719-1769 Charleston District *
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  *

*Records before 1772 may be found in North Carolina counties Tryon, Mecklenburg and Anson
**Some early Camden District records may be found in Kershaw County


The original Chester County deed books are kept at the county courthouse. They have been microfilmed for the years 1785 to 1867: FHL Collection 23320 ff. See also Cross Index, A-Z, 1776-1866: FHL Collection 364840. Deed Books A to F have been published:

  • 1785-1799 - Holcomb, Brent H. Chester County, South Carolina, Deed Abstracts - Volume I: Deed Books A-F: 1785-1799 [1768-1799]. Columbia, S.C.: SCMAR, 2005. FHL Collection 975.747 R2h
  • 1786-1793 - Thomas, Elizabeth Wood. Chester County, South Carolina Deed Book C, 1786-1793. Pass Christian, Miss.: Willo Institute of Genealogy, 1966. FHL Collection 975.747 R2t
  • Plats For State Land Grants 1784-1868 For information about the State Land Grants, see State Land Grants

Local Histories

  • Collins, Anne Pickens. A Goodly Heritage : History of Chester County, South Carolina (Columbia, South Carolina : Collins Pub., c1986), 354 pages. History of Chester County from the earlist to about 1986. Book at FHL 975.747 H2c and Other Libraries
  • Editors: Collins, Ann Pickens & Louise Gill Knox.  Heritage History of Chester County, South Carolina   (Chester, South Carolina : [Chester County Heritage Committee], c1982-1995 ), v.1 499 pages; v. 2 288 pages. History of Chester County from early to 1982. Includes many family histories. Books at FHL 975.747 H2h v.1,975.747 H2h v. 2, and Other Libraries

Maps

Military

General
  • "Fishing Creek cemetery, soldiers of past wars," Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin, June 2001, Volume 25, Issue. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • "Soldiers buried in Old Purity graveyard," Chester County Genealogical Society Bulletin, September 1979, Volume 2, Issue 3. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
Revolutionary War
  • "Sarah Jenkins Rev. War pension application, widow of John Jenkins, 1840," Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin, December 2006, Volume 30, Issue 4. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • "John Craig recalls Revolutionary War in York and Chester, from 1839," Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, May 2006, Volume 20, Issue 2. Piedmont Historical Society : Spartansburg, SC 29304.
  • "John Craig recalls partisan warfare, 1776-1781," Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin, June 2005, Volume 29, Issue 2. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • "Battlefield at Fish Dam Ford, 1780," Old Newberry District Quarterly Winter 2005, Volume 14, Issue 4. Old Newberry District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society : Newberry, SC.
  • "Jane Thomas in Revolutionary War history," Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin, March 2004, Volume 28, Issue 1. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • "John Bishop, Revolutionary War vet, d. 1852," Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, May 2003, Volume 17, Issue 2. Piedmont Historical Society : Spartansburg, SC.
  • "Battle of Beckhamville," Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin, September 2002, Volume 26, Issue 3. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • "Battle of Williamson's plantation," York County Genealogical and Historical Society Quarterly, June 2002, Volume 14, Issue 1, March 2002, Volume 13, Issue 4 and December 2001, Volume 13, Issue 3. York County Genealogical and Historical Society : Rock Hill, SC.
  • "David Hopkins ltr., 1780," Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin, June 2001, Volume 25, Issue 2. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. Chester County Genealogical Society:Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • "Fishing Creek cemetery, Revolutionary soldiers," Chester District Genealogical Society Bulletin, June 2001, Volume 25, Issue 2. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • "War Pensions," Branching Out From Saint Clair County, Illinois, May 2000, Volume 27, Issue 3. Marissa Historical and Genealogical Society : Marissa, Illinois.
  • "Revolutionary pensioners, 1818 and 1832," Chester County Genealogical Society Bulletin, June 1983, Volume 6, Issue 1. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • "Revolutionary War pensions," Georgia Genealogical Magazine, Fall 1979, Issue 74. Rev. Silas Emmett Lucas, Jr. :Greenville, NC. FHL Collection Book 975.8 B2go.
  • "Battle of Hucks defeat," Chester County Genealogical Society Bulletin, June 1979, Volume 2, Issue 2. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • "Revolutionary war pensions, 1840," Chester County Genealogical Society Bulletin, Spring 1978, Volume 1, Issue. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b.
  • Collins, Anne Pickens. A goodly heritage : history of Chester County, South Carolina. Columbia, South Carolina : Collins Pub., c 1986. FHL Collection Book 975.747 H2c Fiche 6010905
  • Strange, Mary Wylie and Old Catholic presbyterian Church (Chester County, South Carolina). The revolutionary soldiers of Catholic Presbyterian Church, Chester County, South Carolina. [S.I.: s.n.], 1978. FHL Collection Book 975.747 D2s Film 1036399 item 2.
War of 1812
  • "Soldiers," Branching Out From Saint Clair County, Illinois, May 2000, Volume 27, Issue 3. Marissa Historical and Genealogical Society : Marissa, Illinois.
  • "War of 1812 soldiers," Chester County Genealogical Society Bulletin, March 1979, Volume 2, Issue 1.Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b
  • "Chester in War of 1812," Chester County Genealogical Society Bulletin, December 1978, Volume 1, Issue 4. Chester County Genealogical Society : Richburg, SC. FHL Collection Book 975.74 D25b
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Chester County, p. 183. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Civil War service men from Chester County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Chester County:

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company D
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry,
- Company D (also known as Chester Troop)
- Company K (had been Company D of 1st South Carolina Cavalry Battalion)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company E
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company A and Company L
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company B
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry , Company A, Company B, Company C, and Company D
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves (90 days 1862-63), Company A, Company B, and Company C
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company G and Company H
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company C
- 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
-Before Reorgination the 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry had the following companies: Company C
- 12th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 15th Battalion, South Carolina Heavy Artillery (Lucas'), Company A
- 17th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A and Company D
- 19th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D
- 23rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Hatch's Coast Rangers), Company F
- 24th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company H

Other Resources

  • Editors: Collins, Ann Pickens & Louise Gill Knox.  Heritage History of Chester County, South Carolina   (Chester, South Carolina : Chester County Heritage Committee, c1982-1995 ), v.1 499 pages; v. 2 288 pages. History of Chester County from early to 1982. Includes many family histories. Civil War information is in volume 1, pages 486-495. Includes an alphabetical list of all confederate soldiers from chester county with their Regiment,or Battalin and Company. Books at FHL 975.747 H2h v.1, 975.747 H2h v. 2, and Other Libraries
  • Guevarra, Mark B., Christopher S. Prince. The Chester County Confederate Compendium : of Chester County, South Carolina  (Oviedo, Florida : Artworks Gallery and Studio, c2006), 361 pages. Includes bibliographical references and index. Contents: Enrollment book of confederate veterans 1861-1865 -- Honor roll of confederate veterans of Chester County 1861-1865 -- Pension lists for Chester County 1888-1965 -- Pension applications for confederate veterans and widows 1919-1926 -- Confederate Home inmate records 1909-1957 -- Applications for artificial limbs 1867-1908 -- Cross of Honor ledger 1907-1923, Chester chapter #232, United Daughters of the Confederacy -- Members, Chester chapter, United Daughters of the Confederacy -- Confederate veterans ledger 1904-1905, Walker-Gaston camp 821, United Confederate Veterans - Minutes 1904, Walker-Gaston camp, United Confederate Veterans. Book at FHL 975.747 M2g and Other Libraries.
  • Chester County, Clerk of Court. Enrollment Book Confederate Veterans, 1861-1865. (Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1964) Includes index. Microfilm copy at FHL 363186

Newspapers

Historic

The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Chester County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

Current

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For this county, see:

  • The Broad River Notebook
  • Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History
  • Chester County Genealogical Society Bulletin  (Family History Library book 975.74 D25b .)

Probate

Probate is the “court procedure by which a will is proved to be valid or invalid” and encompasses “all matters and proceedings pertaining to the administration of estates, guardianships, etc.”[5] Various types of records are created throughout the probate process. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina.

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has  microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available.

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Chester County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, relationships, and the year an individual died or left the area. They can be used as substitutes for missing or destroyed land and census records.

Published abstracts
  • 1874 - Delinquent Lands, 1874, Upper South Carolina Genealogy and History, Vol. 19, No. 4 (Nov. 2005).

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records. Substitute records, when available, are used to obtain this information. These substitute records including newspapers, court records have been added to this section, when applicable.

Birth

State-wide birth registration began in 1915.  For a copy of a birth from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health.  The Chester County Health Department also has copies but they provide only an abbreviated form with limited information.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage

In South Carolina, marriage licenses were not required by local governments until 1 July 1911. However, in the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Not all churches recorded these marriages and some have not survived. See South Carolina Vital Records for more information.

The Chester County probate court holds marriage licenses issued from 1 July 1911 to the present. Statewide registration of marriages began in July 1950 and the South Carolina Division of Vital Records has copies of licenses issued after 1 July 1950 through November 2009.

Newspapers are used as a substitute to locate marriage information.  See South Carolina Newspapers.

Marriages and Marriage Substitutes- Indexes and Records

  • 1778-1879 - Chester County Marriages, 1778-1879, Implied in Chester County, S.C. Probate and Equity Records by Barbara R. Langdon [6] FHL Collection WorldCat - index
  • Prior to 1911-1937 - Marriage Register (Chester County, South Carolina), Prior to 1911-1937 [7]  FHL Collection - index and images
  • 1911-1953 - Cross Index Marriage Register, Chester County, South Carolina, 1911-1953 [8] FHL Collection - index
  • 1911-1950 - Chester County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950 [9] FHL Collection - images
  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in  some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.
Death

State-wide death registration began in 1915.  For a copy of the death certificates from 1915 or later, contact the South Carolina Department of Health. The Chester County Health Department only has copies for deaths occurring in the last 5 years.  For more information, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

Archives, Libraries, and Museums

Libraries

  • Chester County Library
    100 Center Street
    Chester, South Carolina 29706
    Telephone: 803-377-8145 
    FAX: 803-377-8146
    Hours of operation: Monday to Thursday 9:00 AM 7:00 PM,  FRI 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, Saturday 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM, Sunday Closed

    The Chester County library systems includes the following libraries: Chester County Library, Great Falls Community Library, Lewisville Community Library and a multi-stop Bookmobile. The Chester County Library provides cultural informational, and educational materials and access.The Chester County Library belongs to a consortium of seven libraries that share resources. Those libraries are Chester, Dillon, Darlington, Georgetown, marion, Marlboro, and Sumpter.

    Their catalog system, Polaris, is shared by a number of libraries.

Museums

  • Chester County Historical Society Museum
    107 McAliley St.
    Chester, South Carolina 29706
    Telephone: (803) 385-2330
    Hours: Open Wednesday 11am-3pm, and by appt.

    In addition to collections of historical artifacts, the museum has an extensive collection of old photos and genealogical materials on many Chester County families.

Societies - Genealogical, Historical, Lineage

Chester County Historical Society
107 McAliley St.P.O. Box 811
Chester, South Carolina 29706
Telephone: (803) 385-2332


Chester District Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 336
Richburg SC 29729
Source: Society Hill

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Chester County, South Carolina

References

  1. Workers of the Writers' Program of the Works Projects Administration in the State of South Carolina, Palmetto Place Names (The Reprint Company: Spartanburg, S.C., 1975) 13. Also, South Carolina State Library, "Chester County".
  2. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  3. Ron Chepesiuk, "Genealogy: Resources of the Winthrop Archives," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Summer 1980):164-168. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 8. Chepesiuk identifies the family collections available in 1980.
  4. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  5. Henry Campbell Black, Black's Law Dictionary, 5th ed. (St. Paul, Minnesota: West Publishing Co., 1979), 1081, "probate."
  6. Langdon, Barbara R., Chester County Marriages, 1778-1879, Implied in Chester County, S.C. Probate and Equity Records, Columbia, SC: Langdon Langdon, c1985.
  7. South Carolina, Probate Court (Chester County), Marriage Register (Chester County, South Carolina), Prior to 1911-1937, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2000.
  8. Cross Index Marriage Register, Chester County, South Carolina, 1911-1953, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2000.
  9. Chester County (South Carolina), Probate Court, Chester County, South Carolina marriage licenses, 1911 - 1950, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2000.

...