Chester Christ Church, Cheshire Genealogy
|Chester Christ Church, Cheshire|
Christ Church Chester
|Type||Ecclesiastical Parish (England)|
|Hundred||Broxton; Eddisbury; Wirrall|
|County||Cheshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Chester Incorporation|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: 1838|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1855|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Chester Christ Church, Somerset Street, Chester is an ecclesiastical parish created in 1843 a former chapel of Chester St Oswald, Cheshire Genealogy It is a Grade II listed building, and continues to be an active Anglican church in the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Chester. Its benefice is combined with that of St Michael, Plas Newton.
The present church was built to replace an earlier church dated 1838 on the site which has been designed by Thomas Jones. It was built in separate stages between 1876 and 1900 to designs by John Douglas. A southwest steeple was planned but was never built.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Chester Christ Church chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Chester Christ Church Chapelry (1838) Online Records|
|FS BT'S||1855-1876|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Parish registers for Christ Church, Chester, 1838-1949 Cheshire Record Office reference: P17/1/1-7, P17/2/1-5, P17/3.
An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records
|Parish Register Christ Church
|Baptisms, 1838-1903||BRITISH 1999760 Items 3 - 8|
|Baptisms, 1903-1906. Marriages, 1871-1917. Burials, 1839-1854||BRITISH 1999761 Items 1 - 4|
|Baptisms, 1906-1942. Marriages, 1917-1949||VAULT BRITISH 2262789 Items 4 - 7|
Bishop's transcripts for Christ Church, Chester, 1855-1876
Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 51
An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records
|Bishop’s Transcripts Christ Church
|Baptisms, 1855, 1857-1876.||BRITISH 1647368 Item 3|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1671-1900 England, Cheshire Non-conformist Records, 1671-1900 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Great Boughton (1837–69)
- Chester (1870–1998)
- Cheshire West (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Chester Christ Church on GENUKI
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
Hubbard, Edward (1991). The Work of John Douglas. London: The Victorian Society. p. 131. ISBN 0 901657 16 6. Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 150–151, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013