Chester, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chester, Cheshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cheshire
Cheshire Parishes
Chester
Chester, Cheshire
Civil Jurisdictions
County [Cheshire]
Poor Law Union Chester
Registration District Great Baughton

Parish History

CHESTER, a city, port, and county of itself, locally in the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, of which it is the capital, 17 miles (S.) from Liverpool, 36 (S. W.) from Manchester, and 197 (N. W.) from London; including those portions of the parishes of St. Mary on the Hill, St. Oswald, and the Holy Trinity, which are without the limits of the city.

The city comprises the parishes of St. Bridget; St. John the Baptist; Little St. John, extra-parochial; St. Martin; St. Michael; St. Olave; and St. Peter; and part of the parishes of St. Mary on the Hill, St. Oswald, and the Holy Trinity, and the precinct of the Cathedral Close.[1]

The livings in the city, or connected with it, are the rectories of St. Bridget, St. Martin, St. Peter, St. Mary-on-the-Hill, and Holy Trinity; the vicarages of St. John the Baptist, St. Oswald, St. Michael, St. Olave, Lache-with-Saltney, and Bruera; and the curacies of Little St. John, Upton, St. Paul, and Christ-Church. St. Martin is annexed to St. Bridget; St. Olave to St. Michael; Upton to St. Mary-on-the-Hill.

The places of worship within the city, in 1851, were 15 of the Church of England; 17 of dissenters; and 3 of other bodies. There is a place of worship for Church of England, Presbyterians, Independents, Baptists, Quakers, Unitarians, Wesleyans, Methodists, Welsh Calvinists, Christians, Brethren, and Roman Catholics. [2]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records

Chester parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chester Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

For more records look at the individual parishes within Chester:

Non Conformist Churches

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Chester, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
  • Chester, St. Werburgh (Roman Catholic), Grosvenor Park Road. Built in 1875, replacing Queens Street Chapel (built c.1800). Registers of baptisms 1794–1956, marriages 1827–1973 and burials 1861–1923 are at the Cheshire Record Office. Indexes to baptisms 1790–1956 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Catholic Church
  • Wesleyan
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Congregational
  • Calvinistic Methodist

Church records for St. Francis of Assissi Catholic Church, Chester, 1859-1943 Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 11/5100/1-7.

Church records: St. Francis of Assissi Catholic Church, Chester Film
Baptisms, 1859-1911
2068140 Items 7-8
Baptisms, 1911-1943 (from Sept. 1911) Marriages, 1865-1921 Burials, 1860-1913
2068141 Items 1-6

Church records for St. Werburgh's Catholic Church, Chester, 1794-1993 Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 3/5066/1-17.

Church records for St. Werburgh's Catholic Church, Chester Film
Baptisms, 1794-1826 (Includes dates of births, and marriages, 1822-1827.) (Title board incorrectly identifies as St. Francis' Church.)
2068141 Item 7
Baptisms, 1826-1905
2068142
Baptisms, 1905-1935
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2068143
Baptisms, 1935-1956 Marriages, 1827-1856
2068144
Marriages, 1857-1973 Burials, 1861-1891
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2068145
Burials, 1891-1993
Granite Mountain Record Vault 2068146

Church records for the Central Hall City Road Wesleyan Methodist chapel, Chester, 1900-1952 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 55/2/34-36.

Church records: Central Hall City Road Wesleyan Methodist chapel, Chester

Film
Marriages, 1900-1926.
2299384 Items 3 - 5
Marriages, 1926-1952.
2299384 Items 8 - 9

Church records for the City Temple, Hunter Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1916-1948 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 270/7-8.

Church records: City Temple, Hunter Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1916-1948.
2299384 Items 14 - 15

Church records for the George Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1917-1955 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 270/1-4.

Church records: George Street Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1917-1955.
2299384 Items 10 - 13

Church records for the Milton Green Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1909-1954 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 270/12, CR 55/2/88.

Church records: Milton Green Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1909-1954
2299384 Item 16
Baptisms, 1916-1954.
2299384 Item 21

Church records for the Northgate Congregational Church, Chester, 1906-1953 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 416/4-7.

Church records:Northgate Congregational Church, Chester Film
Marriages, 1906-1953.
2299551 Items 3 - 6

Church records for the Primitive Methodist chapel, Chester, 1845-1959 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 55/2/134-135.

Church records: Primitive Methodist chapel, Chester Film
Baptisms, 1845-1959.
2299384 Items 6 - 7

Church records for the Queen Street Congregational Chapel, Chester, 1772-1923 Public Record Office call no.: RG-4 series no. 160; Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 151/1, 10, 16-17.

Church records: Queen Street Congregational Chapel, Chester Film
Births and baptisms, 1803-1837.
20046 Item 5
List of members, 1772-1813. Baptisms, 1848-1855, 1861; marriages, 1848-1855; burials, 1848-1854. Roll of church members, 1815-1896; marriages, 1880-1888; births and baptisms, 1862-1888; burials, 1880. Roll of church members, 1835-1836, 1848, 1862-1919; church minutes, 1923; baptisms, 1909-1910.
2299417 Items 1 - 4

Church records for the Queen Street Welsh Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1900-1965 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: CR 286/1-2.

Church records: Queen Street Welsh Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1900-1965
2299384 Items 19 - 20

Church records for the Tarvin Road Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester, 1921-1948 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: ZCR 506/1-2.

Church records:Tarvin Road Primitive Methodist Chapel, Chester Film
Marriages, 1921-1948
2299384 Items 17 - 18

Presbyterian Church records, 1651-1855 RG-4 series nos. 3755, 2090, 161.

Presbyterian Church records Film
Church records
20046 Items 6-8
Another filming of baptisms, 1713-1832, and burials, 1791-1831. London : Public Record Office, 1986. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
1482417 Item 2

Church records Primitive Methodist Chapel, 1825-1837.  Primitive Methodist Church is on Steam Mil.l Street Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London.RG-4 series no. 575.

Church records: Primitive Methodist Chapel Film
Church records
20046 Item 10

Church records Calvinistic Methodis Octogon Chapel 1805-1835 RG-4 series no. 70.

Church records: Calvinistic Methodist Octogon Chapel Film
Church records Births and baptisms, 1805-1835
20046 Item 11

Calvinistic Methodist Mount Zion Chapel Church records, 1805-1837 RG-4 series no. 4417.

Church records: Calvinistic Methodist Mount Zion Chapel Film
Church records Contains births and baptisms, 1805-1837
20046 Item 12
Another filming. London : Public Record Office, 1986. on 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm.
1482442 Item 9

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Chester on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 576-586. Date accessed: 18 March 2019.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 15 February 2013
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk