Cheshire County, New Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Cheshire County, New Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history books, military records and other useful sources.
|Cheshire County, New Hampshire|
Location in the state of New Hampshire
|Founded||March 19, 1771|
|Address||Cheshire County Courthouse|
33 W Street
Keene, NH 03431-3355
Cheshire County Website
- 1 Cheshire County, New Hampshire Record Dates
- 2 County Information
- 3 Resources
- 3.1 Biography
- 3.2 Cemeteries
- 3.3 Census
- 3.4 Church
- 3.5 Court
- 3.6 Maps and Gazetteers
- 3.7 Genealogy - How to get started?
- 3.8 Genealogy - Town Histories often have Genealogical Sections
- 3.9 Genealogy books (family histories), and manuscripts
- 3.10 Land
- 3.11 Local Histories
- 3.12 Maps
- 3.13 Military
- 3.14 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 3.15 Newspapers
- 3.16 Periodicals
- 3.17 Probate
- 3.18 Taxation
- 3.19 Town Records
- 3.20 Vital Records
- 4 Societies and Libraries
- 5 Family History Centers
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Cheshire County, New Hampshire Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Information[edit | edit source]
Town or City Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial.
The County Clerk has divorce and court records.
The Register of Probate has probate records.
The Register of Deeds has land records.
History[edit | edit source]
- The county was named for Cheshire County in England. See the SEARCHROOTS site for a brief history of Cheshire County, and histories of the towns in Cheshire County.
- 1771- Cheshire County was established on 19 March 1771 from the Colonial lands. 
Description[edit | edit source]
Cheshire County is located in the southwest region of the state. The County was named for Cheshire County, England.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- 1827- On 5 July 1827, the northern half of Cheshire County was established as Sullivan county. 
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
There are many town history books with biographical and genealogical information published about the towns in Cheshire County. The Family History Library, the Historical Society of Cheshire County in Keene, New Hampshire, the New Hampshire Historical Society in Concord, New Hampshire, and other major family history libraries should have most of those books. For a list of the towns for which there are these town history books see the Places - Towns section above.
The Historical Society of Cheshire County (see address in Church section) has collected information from all of the towns in Cheshire County. They have town histories, family histories, biographical manuscripts, photographs, city directories, newspapers, business records, and other biographical information. The New Hampshire Historical Society in Concord, New Hampshire is a good source for similar materials.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|NHGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See New Hampshire Cemeteries for more information.|
The New Hampshire Old Graveyard Association has the most complete list of cemeteries. This list is available at the New Hampshire Old Graveyard Association website. See also:
- Cheshire County, New Hampshire Cemetery Records hosted by Access Genealogy, (accessed 22 August 2011). (This lists just three cemeteries in Alstead as of Feb. 2012.)
- Conway Public Library
The findagrave organization is an excellent way tor find tombstones. It also provides a way for you to request that a volunteer will take a photograph of a gravestone. Often a volunteer will respond and will e-mail you the photo and add it to the web site.
If the above internet sources do not list your ancestor's name, you may wish to contact the cemetery sexton, town clerk, town library, town historical society, or the Historical Society of Cheshire County (see Church records section for their address). Also check the FamilySearch Catalog at [www.familysearch.org Family Search], since the records may have been microfilmed.
Census[edit | edit source]
There is a 1776 census substitute available on ancestry.com. See the census section of the main New Hampshire wiki article for the link to this census substitute.
Censuses for 1790 through 1940, except for the 1890 population schedules, are available on several internet sites. The site www.familysearch.org is free. The ancestry.com and heritagequest.com sites are availabe free at Family History Centers.
The 1890 census, except for the list of Civil War veterans or their widows, was destroyed by a fire in Washington, D. C. in 1921. One help for 1890 is the Town and City Atlas of the State of New Hampshire, published in 1892 in Boston by the D. H. Hurd Company. The atlas has maps for almost every city, town, and village in New Hampshire. The maps show the locations of homes, and the map gives the name of the person living in the home. The above web site is from the University of New Hampshire Library. Not all of the website map images have legible home owner names.
Note: the 1890 census veterans' schedules for New Hampshire were preserved. They are available at United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 at familysearch.org - How to Use this Collection, and ancestry.com, also on microfilms from the Family History Library. You can search for veterans' names or their widows' names.
Church[edit | edit source]
If you know the name of the town or city, and the denomination, you may wish to contact the Historical Society of Cheshire County, P. O. Box 803, 246 Main St., Keene, NH 03431, tel. 603-352-1895, email: email@example.com. They have volunteers who may be able to send you the names and addresses of churches of that denomination for the town.
Or, if you know the town of residence and the ancestor's denomination, see the Church Records section in the wiki for New Hampshire. That section lists archives and other record keepers for the various religious denominations.
If you do not know the denomination, search for a marriage record. This may give the name of the minister. Then you can contact a historical society and learn at which church he was the minister. Also search for an obituary, which may mention the church the person attended. The death certificate may list the name of the cemetery. You can then write to the cemetery and ask if it is affiliated with a local church. The death certificate may mention the funeral home. Their file may have the name of the church, cemetery, or a copy of the obituary. Also, relatives might know the denomination.
Different churches contain a variety of types of records. Many churches keep baptism, marriage, and burial records. Sometimes birth and death information is included. The church records of brothers and sisters, etc. may give clues.
Mariages du comté de Cheshire, N.H., 1875-1978
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
On 1 July 2011, the New Hampshire legislature merged the District Court, Probate Court and Family Division Court into one Circuit Court system to improve the court system and to improve services. Jurisdictions for the Circuit Court are the same as their prior jurisdictions. There are now ten (10) circuit courts, one for each of the states counties. Some of the largest counties have more than one circuit court clerk assigned to manage divisions in more than one city or town. The locations of the district, family, and probate divisions are listed by county and/or town at: New Hampshire Judicial Branch.
The Family History Library has microfilms of the following records:
1771-1859 - Court of Common Pleas.
1772-1812 and 1817-1855 - Superior Court. Indexes are at the front of most volumes.
1813-1816 - Supreme Court, (replaced the Superior Court for those years), 1865-1902. Indexes are found at the beginning of most volumes.
The records from 1771 to 1899 were recently sent to the New Hampshire State Archives. Records since 1899 are still at the Cheshire County courthouse at 12 Court St., Keene, NH 03431, tel. 603-352-6902 (Superior Court). These include civil and criminal court records. The offices are open from 8:00 AM to 4:00 p.m. Mondays through Fridays.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
A useful book with information about towns, plus a great deal of family history inforrmation is Hamilton Child's Gazetteer of Cheshire County, N.H., 1736-1885; (Syracuse, N.Y., printed at the Journal Office, 1885). This is an online book available through Internet Archive. You can search for family names. A database with searches for surnames and given names is also provided by ancestry.com, Ancestry.com is available free at FamilySearch Centers.
Genealogy - How to get started?[edit | edit source]
1. Check familysearch.org and see if your ancestor's information is listed there.
2. Check familysearch.org and see if your family's vital records of births, marriages, and deaths are listed.
3. Check familysearch.org and see if your family is listed on the U. S. census records of 1850-1940. You can also see those censuses at the Family History Center using Heritage Quest, and ancestry.com. (The censuses for 1850-1940 list each person in the household. The censues for 1790-1840 list the name of the head of the household).
4. If you know the county where your ancestor lived, take a look at the free internet site USGenWeb Project. A volunteer helper gathers information about ancestors who lived in that county. You might find biographies, cemetery records, deeds, obituaries, queries, vital records, etc. You can leave a query.
5. If you know the town where they lived, look for a town history with a genealogical section. See the section below for how to find out if there is a town history.
6. Read the wiki articles on Cheshire County, and read the New Hampshire wiki articles for ideas of sources. Study the Records Selection Table in the New Hampshire wiki article. This can help you think of new sources to try.
7. Enter your ancestor's information on familysearch.org., genforum.com, or ancestry.com. You can also share your quest with the local historical society, genealogical socieety, or town library and ask for help. Send them a family group form and a pedigree chart.
Genealogy - Town Histories often have Genealogical Sections[edit | edit source]
Following is a list of the Cheshire County towns for which the Family History Library has town history books with a section of genealogies of families of that town:
Chesterfield, Dublin, Fitzwilliam, Gilsum, Jaffrey, Keene, Marlborough, Nelson, Richmond, Rindge, Stoddard, Sullivan, Surry, Swanzey, Troy, Walpole, and Westmoreland.
Those towns are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under the town, and then History, or, Genealogy. Major libraries may also have these books. For example, the Historical Society of Cheshire County, 246 Main St., Keene, NH 03431, has those books, and may be able to seach the book of the town history for your family's information.
There is a helpful way to see if your ancestor was mentioned in a town history. See William Copeley's Index to Genealogies in New Hampshire Town Histories. Concord, New Hampshire: New Hampshire Historical Society, 1988. (FHL book 974.2 D22c, fiche 6010808.) Look under your ancestor's surname and it will tell you which town history books have genealogy information for that surname.
Genealogy books (family histories), and manuscripts[edit | edit source]
There are large-scale genealogical dictionaries and similar publications listing many New Hampshire residents. See the Genealogy section in the main New Hampshire wiki article for lists of these.
Town historical societies often have genealogy books, or files, on families that lived or now live in their region. A good way to find out if there is an historical society in a town is go to the internet site of that particular town.
Many local historical societies, local public libraries, and large genealogical libraries have family genealogy books and mauscripts. For example the Historical Society of Cheshire County, in Keene, NH has genealogy books and manuscripts. The New Hampshire Historical Society, New Hampshire State Library, and the New England Historic Genealogical Society all have family genealogies, and you can search their catalogs on the internet. You can also search the Surname Catalog of the Family History Library.
Land[edit | edit source]
Cheshire County land records are available from 1771 to the present. The Cheshire County Registry of Deeds is at 33 West St., P. O. Box 584, Keene, NH 03431, tel. 603-352-0403, fax 603-352-7678. The office is open Mondays through Fridays, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. The office has grantor (seller) and grantee (buyer) indexes, 1771-present, and deeds for the same time period. The following internet site may be helpful:
Cheshire County Registry of Deeds, (accessed 22 August 2011). As of May 2012, at that internet site you can view deed indexes and deeds from about the 1950s to 2012.
Using the internet you might be able to view the indexes, and, digital images of the Cheshire County deeds. You will need to have an updated computer, and updated programs. See the internet site www.nhdeeds.com.
At the Family History Center, you can view films of the deed indexes for 1771- 1900, and deeds for 1771 to 1900. For the film numbers, see the FamilySearch Catalog, New Hampshire - Cheshire County - Land and Property.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
An excellent way to gain information about family history and local history is to contact the local town historical society. There are helpful historical societies or groups in Alstead, Chesterfield, Dublin, Fitzwilliam, Gilsum, Hinsdale, Harrisville, Jaffrey, Keene (Historical Society of Cheshre County in Keene), Marlborough, Marlow, Nelson, Richmond, Rindge, Stoddard, Sullivan, Surry, Swanzey, Troy, Walpole, Westmoreland, and Winchester.
The Historical Society of Cheshire County, in Keene, New Hampshire is an excellent source for local history information. See the Church section above for how to contact them, They have a large collection of town and county histories, records collections, photographs, and manuscripts. See also:
- Cheshire County New Hampshire Genealogy and History, (accessed 22 August 2011). This web site is a resource for researchers of family tree (genealogy) and history in Cheshire County, New Hampshire. There is a brief history and genealogical links to the towns and cities of Cheshire County.
- Hurd, D. Hamilton, History of Cheshire and Sullivan Counties, New Hampshire, (Philadelphia : J. W. Lewis; 1886, (accessed 22 August 2011). Hosted by Internet Archive. You can also read the book online at familysearch.org - see the Books tab there. The book includes histories for many of the Cheshire County towns. The digitizing was completed by the University of New Hampshire Library.
- The New Hampshire State Library in Concord, New Hampshire has a vast collection of books about New Hampshire towns and counties. Check their internet catalog for a town of interest.
- The New Hampshire Historical Society also in Concord has a very large collection of local history books and other publications.
See the heading Biography under Cheshire County for additional suggestions.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1877 Historic Maps of Cheshire County - 1877, (accessed 22 August 2011). These maps are for sale, but can be viewed online.
- 1892 Town and City Atlas of the State of New Hampshire, 1892, (Accessed 10 March 2012). This has maps for almost every city, town, and village in New Hampshire, and gives the name of the person who lived in the home in 1892. This book is also available at the Family History Library (FHL folio book 974.2 E3).
- 1895 Cheshire County, New Hampshire, (accessed 22 August 2011).
- Color coded map of Cheshire County, (accessed 22 August 2011). This site has links to photos taken in the towns, and links to official town internet sites.
Military[edit | edit source]
American Revolution[edit | edit source]
The most complete listing of New Hampshire Revolutionary War soldiers is found in volumes 14-17 of the New Hamsphire State Papers. You can go to rootsweb.com. There you will find an every-name index to volumes 14-17, then you can go to the needed volume and page for information on the soldier. Often the place of residence is given.
For a military history of New Hampshire, see:
Potter, Chandler Eastman, The Military History of the State of New Hampshire. Concord, N.H.: McFarland and Jenks, 1866. (Family History Library film 1033664; fiche 6046858.) You can search this book on-line by going to google.com. Look for ancestry.com as the internet way to search this book. This history comprises events from the first settlements in New Hampshire to the rebellion in 1861. It includes biographical notices of many of the officers and explanatory notes.
- 1675 - 1835 - New Hampshire Revolutionary War Records 1675-1835 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1866 - New Hampshire Civil War Service and Pension Records 1861-1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Regiments. Civil War service men from Cheshire County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Cheshire County:
- - 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Cavalry, Troops A, B, E, G, H, and K.
- - 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company G.
- - 2nd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company A.
- - 3rd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company I.
- - 5th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company F.
- - 6th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies E, F, H, and K.
- - 9th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company G.
- - 14th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, B, C, F, and G.
- - 15th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company H.
- - 16th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies F and I.
- - 18th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company A.
- - New Hampshire Sharpshooters, 2nd Company F.
Additional Resources for soldiers from Cheshire County
The National Park Service, with help from the Family History Library and others, prepared an index to Civil War soldiers.
Familysearch.org is a free source for locating names of Civil War soldiers and sailors. Ancestry.com is available free at FamilySearch Centers and is also valuable for finding names of soldiers and sailors.
You can go to ancestry.com and search for names in The Revised Register of the Soldiers and Sailors of New Hampshire in the War of the Rebellion, 1861-1866, by Augustus D. Ayling. This book gives the age, residence, and service information about approximately 32,000 New Hampshire Civil War veterans. The book is also available on microfilm or microfiche from the Family History Library.
Town history books are available through the Family History Library, and other large libraries, for most of the towns in Cheshire County. They often contain extensive information concerning the war and the soldiers. For example:
- History of Chesterfield, Cheshire County, New Hampshire, by Oran E. Randall. See pages 116-124,Record of the Citizens of Chesterfield Who Enlisted in the Military Service of the United States During the War of the Rebellion 1861-65 - Alphabetical listing.
- Civil War Vets Buried in New Hampshire - Cheshire County - Towns A-J are listed, and at the end there is a place to lead you to the rest of the Cheshire County towns.
World War I[edit | edit source]
A very helpful source for World War I is an index at www.ancestry.com of World War I draft registration records, 1917-1918. All men between ages eighteen and forty-five were required to register. Their birth date and place, address, and sometimes the name of nearest kin, are listed on the card. Many of these men served in the war.
World War II[edit | edit source]
There is an index on www.ancestry.com of the 1942 World War II draft registrations for New Hampshire, of men forty-five to sixty-five. Some of these men served in that war. The records contain name, address, birth date and place, name of kin or friend, name and address of employer, and signature. (See www.ancestry.com for further information.)
If the soldier died in World War II, see this internet site:
- Chesire County, New Hampshire World War II Casualties Army and Air Force hosted by Access Genealogy, (accessed 22 August 2011).
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Cheshire County naturalization records are kept at the county courthouse at 12 Court St., Keene, NH 03431. The records for 1831-1859 are included in the county volumes titled "Roads and Session Records." For the film numbers go to the FamilySearch Catalog --- New Hampshire, Cheshire County, Public Records.
You can search Family History Library microfilms of naturalization records for 1860-1945 kept by the Supreme Judicial Court. They include records of the Circuit Court, 1874-1876, and the Superior Court, 1901-1904. See the Library Catalog, New Hampshire, Cheshire County, Naturalization and Citizenship.
Volunteers, in recent years, arranged most of the naturalization records in alphabetical order. The Historical Society of Cheshire County, in Keene, has photocopies through the early 1900s.
- 1906-1993 - New Hampshire, United States Naturalization Records, 1906-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The main newspaper for Cheshire County is the Keene Sentinel, published since 1799. The offices are at 60 West St., Keene, NH 03431, tel. 603-352-1234, e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org. The web site is sentinelsource.com.
- 1799-1891 At www.genealogybank.com (accessed 11 November 2011) you can search for names in the Keene Sentinel for years 1799-1891.
- 1868-1977 Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Fitchburg, MA newspapers (1868-1977) covering local news that included Cheshire County residents.
- 1998-2008 Obituary Index Cheshire County, New Hampshire, (accessed 24 January 2019). This has obituaries primarily from 1998 to 2008 as of November 2011.
- 1799-1890 and 1985-present The Historical Society of Cheshire County (see address in Church section above) has obituaries taken from the Keene Sentinel newspaper for 1799-1890 and 1985- present.
Finding More New Hampshire Newspapers[edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cheshire County, New Hampshire Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
A vast number of articles are written each year about families and their history. There is an index to family history periodicals called PERSI (Periodical Source Index). This index is available on the internet through several libraries or companies.
For example you can go to a Family History Center and search ancestry.com which has PERSI as one of its searches. Go to their Card Catalog, and type in Periodical Source Index. In the PERSI search box type the full name of the ancestor, with their birth date and place, and death date and place if known. You can also access heritagequestonline.com which also has PERSI. This is free at the FamilySearch Centers and many public libraries.
Probate[edit | edit source]
The Registry of Probate office is at 12 Court St., Keene, NH 03431, tel. 603-357-7786. The probate records for 1771-1885 are at the New Hampshire Division of Records Management, 71 S. Fruit St., Concord, NH 03301. You can request and search those records there. They are on microfilms also - see below.
The probate estate files for Cheshire County, and an index to them, are available as browse digital images. Go to the Probate Records section for Cheshire County in the Family History Library Catalog. Look for the probate estate files. You will see there a place to click so that you can browse the index, and then the probate estate files. The files appear to be arranged by first letter of the person's surname.
Probate records for 1886 to the present are still at the court house in Keene. The Registry of Probate office has an index to those persons for whom probate records were filed. There is an index on Family History Library film 2316239 item 3 for 1771-1885.
The Family History Library has microfilms of probate records for wills, 1769-1885; administrations, 1823-1869; and alphabetical probate estate files, 1769-1885. There is an index on film for 1769-1885. See the FamilySearch Catalog, New Hampshire - Cheshire County - Probate Recorde. The Historical Society of Cheshire County, in Keene also has films of the records for 1771-1885,
Online Probate Records
- 1635 – 1753 New Hampshire Probate Records 1635-1753 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1643 - 1982 New Hampshire Wills and Probate Records 1643-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Many town tax records have been preserved by town clerks and town tax officials. Town tax records were generally taken each year. The Family History Library has many town records on microfilms. For film numbers see the FamilySearch Catalog under New Hampshire - Cheshire County - [name of town] - Town Records.
There is an index to the town records (which include many tax records) from the early settlement of the town to about 1850. This is the Index to Early Town Records of New Hampshire, Early to 1850 (FHL Family Search Catalog). The index cards list volume and page numbers for the town records, many of which are on Family History Library microfilms. The records are listed in the catalog in the manner mentioned in the paragraph above.
Ancestry.com has online images of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) tax lists for New Hampshire and many other states for 1862-1866. Only persons who owned businesses, or valuable items such as carriages, were listed. You may wish to check ancestry.com to see if your ancestor was listed. The record gives the person's name, town of residence, business or valuable item, and amount of tax.
Town Records[edit | edit source]
Town records are an important source of family history information from the 1600s to about the 1940s. The early New Hampshire town records to about 1850 have an every-name index, Index to Early Town Records of New Hampshire, Early to 1850 (FHL Family Search Catalog). Many town records are still in the town offices.
To see the types of family history information you might find in town records please go to the heading Town Records in our New Hampshire wiki article.
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Keene 1753 - This is the county seat.
The main courthouse is located at 12 Court St., Keene, NH 03431, tel. 603-352-6902 (Superior Court). The offices are open from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Mondays through Fridays.
There is an annex at 33 West St. in Keene where the county deeds and some other records are kept (tel. 603-352-0403, fax 603-352-7678.) The office is open Mondays through Fridays, 8:30 am to 4:30 p.m.
- Keene - a city of approximatley 24,000 residents, in the central portion of Cheshire County.
An excellent way to gain information is to contact the local town historical society.
Birth, marriage, and death records of many New Hampshire towns and villages are available on-line at www.familysearch.org, That site has birth records early to 1900, and marriage and death records, early to about 1948. Many of the town birth, marriage, and death records were microfilmed and are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog.
Fortunately, authors have prepared books about most of the towns in Cheshire County. These books generally contain a genealogical section in the last part of the book. Following is a list of the towns for which these types of books are available at the Family History Library and at many other libraries and historical societies: Chesterfield, Dublin, Fitzwilliam, Gilsum, Jaffrey, Keene, Marlborough, Nelson, Richmond, Rindge, Stoddard, Sullivan, Surry, Swanzey, Troy, Walpole, and Westmoreland. They are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog under the town, and then History, or, Genealogy.
If you want to seek clues about an ancestor who lived before 1850 you can look at the microfilm of the master index to New Hampshire town records. This is the Index to Early Town Records of New Hamspshire, Early to 1850 (FHL films 14942-15052). The cards are in alphabetiocal order by the name of the person. The cards list the volume and page number for original town records. Many of the town records are available on microfilms through the Family History Library.
Many town vital records are indexed now on familysearch.org. If you want to study microfilms of the town vital records, following is a list of New Hampshire towns with the dates of the birth, marriage, and death records on Family History Library microfillms. See the Library Catalog for the microfilm numbers.
Villages: No birth, marriage and death records are listed in the FamilySearch Catalog for the following villages, however, the records may be kept in another town's records. For example, information about persons in the the towns of East Swanzey, West Swanzey, and North Swanzey might be included in the records of Swanzey.
- 1636-1947 - New Hampshire, Town Clerk, Vital and Town Records, 1636-1947 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Below are links to online images of New Hampshire birth, marriage, and death records that are included at FamilySearch.org.
Certified copies of of birth, marriage, and death records are available from the State Division of Vital Records Administration or from the local city and town clerk where the event took place. Original records are kept by the city or town clerk and copies are sent to the state.
In 1905, when the state created the Bureau of Vital Records and Health, printed cards were distributed to the local clerks and earlier vital records were transcribed onto the cards and submitted to the state.
- 1656 - 1938 New Hampshire, Vital and Town Records Index, 1656-1938 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Births[edit | edit source]
- New Hampshire Birth Records, Early to 1900 are available online from FamilySearch -How to Use this Collection.
- 1901-1915 New Hampshire, Birth Certificates, 1901-1915 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection
Marriages[edit | edit source]
- 1637-1964 - New Hampshire, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1637-1947 - New Hampshire Marriage Records, 1637-1947 areavailable online at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection.
- 1762-1855, 1887-1941 - Marriages in Keene - from the Keene Public Library
- 1875-1978 - Mariages du comté de Cheshire, N.H.
- 1948–1959 - New Hampshire Marriage Certificates, 1948-1959 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1654-1947 - New Hampshire Death Records are available online at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection.
- The internet site of the Keene Public Library has vital records information on-line for Keene:
- 1742-1941 - Death Records
- 1753-1910 - Birth Records
- 1762-1855 and 1886-1941 - Marriage Records
- 1887-1938 - The marriage and death entries from 1887 through 1938 often give birth place, parents' names, parents' birthplaces, age, and other useful information.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
As of May 2103 there were Family History Centers in New Hampshire at: Concord, Derry Public Library, Exeter, Lebanon, Nashua, North Hampton Public Library, Randolph, and Wolfeboro. By going to the site above you can find the address, directions, hours open, and telephone number for Family History Centers in New Hampshire and neighboring states.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Historical Society of Cheshire County 's internet site.
- The Cheshire County NHGenWeb Project, a member of The NHGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Cheshire County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Cheshire County (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Cheshire County
- Cheshire County, New Hampshire Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cheshire County, New Hampshire. Page 452-453. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 436.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cheshire County, New Hampshire page 452, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- Wikipedia contributors, "Cheshire County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheshire_County,_New Hampshire accessed 25 September 2018.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- Wikipedia contributors, "Cheshire County, New Hampshire," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheshire_County%2C_New_Hampshire, accessed 14 November 2018.