Cherry Burton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Cherry Burton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cherry Burton, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Beverly|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Rural Deanery||Harthill and Hull|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Provost of the Collegiate Church of St John, Beverley; Court of the Peculiar of St Leonard's Hospital, York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BURTON, CHERRY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Beverley, Hunsley-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York, 3 miles (W. N. W.) from Beverley; containing 455 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Cherry Burton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Cherry Burton Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Date accessed: 14 December 2013.