To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cherokee County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cherokee County, Kansas)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cherokee County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Columbus
Organized: August 30, 1855
Parent County(s): unorganized territory [1]
Neighboring Counties
Craig (OK)  • Crawford  • Jasper (MO)  • Labette  • Newton (MO)  • Ottawa (OK)
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasCherokeeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Cherokee County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for the Cherokee Native Americans. It is located in the southeastern area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cherokee County Courthouse
110 W. Maple Street
Columbus, Kansas 66725-0014
Phone: 620.429.3880
Cherokee County Website

Register of Deeds has land records from 1866,
Probate Court has probate records from 1870.
County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records. [1]

Cherokee County, Kansas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1894 1867 1893 1868 1866 1870 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[4]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Cherokee
  • Crawford
  • Garden
  • Lola
  • Lowell
  • Lyon
  • Mineral
  • Neosho
  • Pleasant View
  • Ross
  • Salamanca
  • Shawnee
  • Sheridan
  • Spring Valley
Ghost towns

See also: National Regiser of Historic Places in Cherokee County, Kansas

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cherokee County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 1,501
1870 11,038 635.4%
1880 21,905 98.5%
1890 27,770 26.8%
1900 42,694 53.7%
1910 38,162 −10.6%
1920 33,609 −11.9%
1930 31,457 −6.4%
1940 29,817 −5.2%
1950 25,144 −15.7%
1960 22,279 −11.4%
1970 21,549 −3.3%
1980 22,304 3.5%
1990 21,374 −4.2%
2000 22,605 5.8%
2010 21,603 −4.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[6] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[7] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Cherokee County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Cherokee CountyLabette CountyNeosho CountyCrawford CountyJasper County, MissouriOttawa County, OklahomaCraig County, OklahomaNewton County, MissouriCherokee, Kansas.JPG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Online Collections[edit | edit source]

These collections are unique to Kansas. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Kansas Military Records.

Collections Covering Multiple Wars

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Cherokee County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Kansas
  • Cherokee County was organized after the Civil War.

Men from this County enlisted in 1st Infantry Regiment, Company A.

Spanish-American War (1898)

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see Kansas Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voter Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Cherokee and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Cherokee County Kansas Genealogical-historical Society
100 South Tennessee, Box 33
Telephone Number: 620-429-2992
E-mail:cckghs@columbus-ks.com
Columbus 66725-0033
Website

Baxter Springs Historical Society
Baxter Springs Heritage Center and Museum
740 East Avenue
PO Box 514
Baxter Springs, KS 66713
Telephone Number: 620-856-2385
E-mail:heritagectr@embarqmail.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cherokee County, Kansas. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Cherokee County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherokee_County,_Kansas 8/09/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Chautauqua County, Kansas. Page 249 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 234.
  4. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Cherokee County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherokee_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 9/11/2017.
  6. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  7. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.
  8. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August, 2012)