Cherokee County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cherokee County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Canton
Organized: December 26, 1831
Parent County(s): Cherokee lands[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bartow  • Cobb  • Dawson  • Forsyth  • Fulton  • Gordon  • Pickens
See County Maps
Courthouse
Cherokee County Justice Center, Canton, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Cherokee County Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Cherokee people. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cherokee County Courthouse
90 N Street
Canton, GA 30114-2794
Phone: 770-479-1953
Cherokee County Website

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1833.
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial and probate records.[3]

Cherokee County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1841 1919 1833 1833 1833 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1864 During the American Civil War the courthouse was destroyed about 30 October. The earliest marriage and probate records were apparently lost at that time. Significant county records including deeds survived.[5]

1927 Fire destroyed the courthouse on 10 March, but county records were carried to safety.[5]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1831 Cherokee County was created 26 December 1831 from Cherokee lands.
  • County seat: Canton[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communities

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cherokee, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Cherokee County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 5,895
1850 12,800 117.1%
1860 11,291 −11.8%
1870 10,399 −7.9%
1880 14,325 37.8%
1890 15,412 7.6%
1900 15,243 −1.1%
1910 16,661 9.3%
1920 18,569 11.5%
1930 20,003 7.7%
1940 20,126 0.6%
1950 20,750 3.1%
1960 23,001 10.8%
1970 31,059 35.0%
1980 51,699 66.5%
1990 90,204 74.5%
2000 141,903 57.3%
2010 214,346 51.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page. List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Scanned land records from 1832 onward can be searched online at the Cherokee County Georgia Index Search. Real Estate Index 1832-1898 and indexes from July 1979 - December 1988 are available for viewing. Years 1899 - 1979 indexes are currently in the process of being preserved and scanned.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Cherokee County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Gordon CountyPickens CountyDawson CountyForsyth CountyFulton CountyCobb CountyBartow CountyGA CHEROKEE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Mexican War

Cherokee County Soldiers in the Mexican War Georgia Pioneers ($).

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Cherokee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cherokee County:

- 2nd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company F
- 14th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company B
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 36th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Broyles') (Confederate) , Company A and E
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- 43rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A and B
  • Index to Georgia's Confederate Pension Supplements. compiled by Ted O. Brook and Linda Woodward Geiger, 1999. 210 pages
  • Cherokee County Heritage Book Committee (Cherokee County, Ga.). 1998. The heritage of Cherokee County, Georgia, 1831-1998. [Cherokee County, Ga.]: Cherokee County Heritage Book Committee. (page 63-64) 975.8253 H2h
  • Marlin, Lloyd G. 1932. The history of Cherokee County. Atlanta: Walter W. Brown Pub. Co. (page 65-83) FHL Collection
  • Cherokee County Heritage Book Committee (Cherokee County, Ga.). 1998. The heritage of Cherokee County, Georgia, 1831-1998. [Cherokee County, Ga.]: Cherokee County Heritage Book Committee. (page 2-24) 975.8253 H2h


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

  • Annotated Obituaries from the Cherokee Advance, Canton, Georgia, 1880-1938. by John Carver, 2003. Over 600 pages.

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Online Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Cherokee County Historical Society
    RR 2, Box 126
    Canton, GA 30114
    Website
  • Ball Ground (Georgia) Historical Society
    Ball Ground City Hall
    215 Valley Street
    Ball Ground, GA
    Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Cherokee County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherokee_County,_Georgia accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cherokee County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. 5.0 5.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 19-20. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Cherokee County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherokee_County%2C_Georgia, accessed 3 Febuary 2019.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.