Cherokee County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cherokee County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Centre
Organized: January 9, 1836
Parent County(s): Cherokee Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Chattooga (GA)  • Cleburne  • DeKalb  • Etowah  • Floyd (GA)  • Polk (GA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Cherokee County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Cherokee County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Cherokee tribe of American Indians.[2] The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cherokee County Courthouse
100 Main Street
Centre, AL 35960
Phone: 256-927-3637
Cherokee County Website

Probate Judge has marriage, probate, land and military discharge records from 1882.[4]

Cherokee County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1899 1882 1908 1882 1882 1882 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Cherokee County had destructive courthouse fires in 1882 and 1895. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide page 25 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1836--Cherokee County was created 9 January 1836 from the Cherokee Cession of 1835.
  • County seat: Centre[7]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Cherokee County:[8]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cherokee, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Cherokee county cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 8,773
1850 13,884 58.3%
1860 18,360 32.2%
1870 11,132 −39.4%
1880 19,108 71.6%
1890 20,459 7.1%
1900 21,096 3.1%
1910 20,226 −4.1%
1920 20,862 3.1%
1930 20,219 −3.1%
1940 19,928 −1.4%
1950 17,634 −11.5%
1960 16,303 −7.5%
1970 15,606 −4.3%
1980 18,760 20.2%
1990 19,543 4.2%
2000 23,988 22.7%
2010 25,989 8.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Cherokee County see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Cherokee County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2007. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.165 E7bg.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Cherokee County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

DekalbEtowahCalhounCleburneChattooga, GeorgiaFloyd, GeorgiaPolk, GeorgiaAL CHEROKEE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Cherokee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cherokee County:

- 4th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry (Russell's), Company B
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D (Jake Curry Guards)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (Cherokee Guards)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F (Davis Guards)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G (Cherokee Mountaineers)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H (Cherokees)
- 19th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I (Cherokee Rangers)
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D
- 31st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and C
- 47th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- 48th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H

Online Records

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Cherokee County has one book.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Cherokee County is in District 3.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

  • Alabama Department of Archives and History
    P.O. Box 300100
    624 Washington Ave.
    Montgomery, AL 36130
    (334) 242-4435
    website


Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Historical Preservation Society of Cherokee County, Alabama
    P O Box 94
    Centre, AL 35960
    Facebook
    Blog
  • Northeast Alabama Genealogical Society
    P O Box 8268
    Gadsden, AL 35902
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Cherokee County, Alabama Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ala/cherokee/ 05/30/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Cherokee, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherokee_County,_Alabama 05/30/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 25. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Cherokee County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cherokee_County,_Alabama, accessed 6 October 2018.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igialabama.pdf.