To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Chelsea St Luke, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Chelsea St Luke, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chelsea St Luke, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Kensington Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Chelsea
Registration District Chelsea
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1745-56; 1803
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CHELSEA,is a small village on the Thames. It is one of the smaller inner London parishes, lying in the Kensington Division of Ossulstone Hundred.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Chelsea St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chelsea St Luke Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census and Inhabitants Lists[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


1600 Lay Subsidy[edit | edit source]
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

A 1921 survey of (1) monuments in the chancel, (2) monuments in the Lawrence chapel, (3) monuments in the More chapel, (4) monuments in the nave, (5) monuments in the tower, (5) floor slabs in the church, and (6) monuments in the churchyard is available online.[3]

Poor Law records[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

'CHELSEA, (1559) comprised the parishes of St. Luke and the more modern one of Holy Trinity, Sloane Street, Upper Chelsea (1830), both of which in 1851 were in the Kensington division of the hundred of Ossulstone, county of Middlesex. In addition to these two churches, Chelsea was comprised of a considerable number of additional chapels subdividing the parish boundary.

'Within this civil parish boundary lay the large Chelsea Royal Hospital for veteran (army) soldiers, "a handsome structure" erected by Sir Christophen Wren, with an operating chapel. The hospital held about 500 in-pensioners (in-house pensioners). In addition, another hospital, for soldiers awaiting admittance into Chelsea Royal Hospital, called York Hospital also lay within the parish.The parish included the Royal Military Asylum, built and founded in 1801. It was specifically built for the support of those children whose fathers were serving in foreign stations and for the education of orphaned children of soldiers, with a chapel.

'In the parish, there were places of worship forBaptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.'[4]

View a List of District Churches and Chapels Within the Parish of St Luke Chelsea.

The Victoria County History of Chelsea (2004) is available online. Includes chapters on landownership, economic history, social history, local government, religious history (Church of England, Roman Catholicism, Protestant nonconformity, foreign churches, and non-Christian faiths).[5]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Chelsea St Luke on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis,Samuel A. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 12: Chelsea (2004), pp. 1-2. http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=28684 Adapeted. Date accessed: 08 August 2014.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk
  3. 'Chelsea Old Church: Monuments in the chancel', Survey of London: volume 7: Chelsea, part III: The Old Church (1921), pp. 14-28. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=99957 Date accessed: 15 March 2012.
  4. Samuel Lewis, ed. " Chedgrave - Cheltenham," In A Topographical Dictionary of England 562-569 . (London: S. Lewis and Co., 1848), Online here.Date accessed: 13 November 2013.
  5. A History of the County of Middlesex: Volume 12: Chelsea (2004). URL: http://british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=182 Date accessed: 25 March 2012.