To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Chelsea All Saints, Middlesex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Chelsea All Saints

Guide to Chelsea All Saints, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CHELSEA, a London suburb, a parish, and a district in Middlesex. Theparish includes also parts of Little Chelsea, Knightsbridge, and Kensal-Green. It was divided ecclesiastically, in 1832, into the two parishes of St. Luke-Chelsea and Upper Chelsea; one of the chapelries is-Old Church. The old Church, though now ranking as but achapel, was the original parish church; and rebuilt in the early part of the 16th century. There are also chapels for Presbyterians, Baptists, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Church records[edit | edit source]

Chelsea All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Middlesex, Westminster, Parish Registers, 1538-1912 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP = Middlesex Baptisms (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP London = Greater London Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
ANC 1 = London, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812 (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC 2 = London, England, Church of England Records (Ancestry) - ($)
ANC Marr = London and Surrey, England, Marriage Bonds and Allegations, 1597-1921 (Ancestry) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chelsea All Saints Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1912
1538-1912
1538-1912
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP 1543-1876




FMP London

1502-1871
1399-1992
ANC 1 1538-1812
1538-1812
1538-1812
ANC 2 1813-1917
1754-1932
1813-2003
ANC Marr

1597-1921


BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the London Metropolitan Archives.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Cemetery[edit | edit source]

Chelsea All Saints Churchyard database at Find A Grave. (24+ entries)

Websites[edit | edit source]

Chelsea All Saints on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted, dated accessed: 28 October 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk