Cheatham County, Tennessee Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cheatham County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Facts
County seat: Ashland City
Organized: February 28, 1856
Parent County(s): Davidson, Dickson, Montgomery, Robertson [1]
Neighboring Counties
Davidson  • Dickson  • Montgomery  • Robertson  • Williamson
See County Maps
Courthouse
Cheatham County, Tennessee Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Location of Cheatham County, Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Edward Saunders Cheatham, a state legislator.[2] The County is located in the north-central area of the state. [3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Cheatham County Courthouse
100 Public Square, Suite 225
Ashland City, TN 37015
Cheatham County Website Phone: 615-792-3272

Cheatham County Clerk
354 Frey Street
Ashland City, TN 37015
Cheatham County Clerk Phone: 615-792-5179
Cheatham Register of Deeds Phone: 615-792-4317

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1865
Register of Deeds has land records. [4]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[5] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[6] (male)

Cheatham County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[7]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1881 1856 1881 1856 1856 1856 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[10]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1837 - Cumberland (old) County, the ancestor of Cheatham County, started to get organized from parts of Davidson, Robertson, Montgomery, and Dickson counties, but failed.
  • 1844 - Another attempt at a county was made, but failed.
  • 1856 - Successful creation of Cumberland (old) County.[11] But this act of creation was repealed. The northern part of what is now Cheatham County belonged to the pioneer Cumberland Settlements.[12]
  • 1857 - The boudaries were changed and the reconstituted entity was renamed Cheatham County because the Cumberland County name had been claimed later in 1856 by a new county on the Cumberland Plateau with its seat at Crossville.[11]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Cheatham County.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Cheatham County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1860 7,258
1870 6,678 −8.0%
1880 7,956 19.1%
1890 8,845 11.2%
1900 10,112 14.3%
1910 10,540 4.2%
1920 10,039 −4.8%
1930 9,025 −10.1%
1940 9,928 10.0%
1950 9,167 −7.7%
1960 9,428 2.8%
1970 13,199 40.0%
1980 21,616 63.8%
1990 27,140 25.6%
2000 35,912 32.3%
2010 39,105 8.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Cheatham County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Cheatham County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®

Free lookups available for the 1860,1870, 1880 Cheatham County census. Also, available for lookups are the 1820, 1850 and 1880 Montgomery County census; the 1880 Davidson county census; and the 1850 and 1880 Robertson county census.

1810-1891

1860

  • Dalton, Robert E. and Lynnette Hamilton Dalton 1860 Census, Cheatham County, Tennessee.Memphis, Tennessee: Dalton and Dalton, 1896. FHL 976.8462 X2d

1870

  • Bishop, Brenda C.1870 Census Tennessee, Transcription for Cheatham County. Tallahassee, Florida: B.C. Bishop, 1883. FHL 976.8462 X2b

1880

1890 Lost

  • Lost, but substitutes are available:
  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 8 1891. Cheatham County is included in Vol. 8.
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

1920

  • Bush, Marisa, ed.. Cheatham County, Tennessee Census, 1920 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: The Generations Network, Inc., 1999. Available at Ancestry ($)

Male Voters

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records include baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as information about family members and clues about family migration. For additional information about church records, religions, and religious archives in Tennessee, see Tennessee Church Records.

  • If the records you need are not through the Family History Library, contact the church(es) in the area where your ancestor lived. Two sites that give information about churches in Cheatham County are:
- List of Cheatham County churches with addresses and phone numbers (Yellowbook)
- List of Cheatham County churches (TN HomeTownLocator)
  • In 1936, a helpful guide to early Cheatham County church records was published by the Works Project Administration.[13] Use this guide to locate which church records exist and where they were housed in 1936. The Tennessee State Library and Archives has filmed some of these records. To locate which records are available at the TSLA, go to the appropriate "county fact sheet" on the TSLA Web site and scroll down to "selected manuscript material". All filmed church records at the TSLA for Cheatham county are listed.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

General

As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Cheatham, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 10,000 entries.

  • Masters, Jack and Bill Puryear. Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804: Showing Who Came, How They Came, and Where They Put Down Roots. Gallatin, Tenn.: Warioto Press, 2009. FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 976.8 E7d. Supplements: FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 E7d supp. 1 ff. Purchase at Cumberland Pioneer Settlers.
  • von Verdo, Mary Ann Harris. The Pioneers of 'Possum Trot, Tennessee: Family Genealogies and Land Histories from 1787. n.p.: M.A.H. von Verdo, 1996. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8462 D2v.

Bibliography

  • Anderson - Caldwell, Janice. The Lost Branch of the Anderson Family: Ancestors and Descendants of Thomas Allen Howard Anderson and His Wife Martha Ann Stanley Including Allied Families. Helotes, Texas: J. Caldwell, 1995. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 An23ca.
  • Curfman, Kurfman, Corfman, Korffmann - Curfman, Robert Joseph. The Curfman-Kurfman-Corfman-Korffmann Genealogy. Denver: Priv. print., 1971. Digital versions available at Ancestry ($); and Heritage Quest Online ($).
  • Demonbreun - DeMunbrun, Weldon The Descendants of John Baptiste Demonbreun: 1788-1872 Weldon DeMunbrun, 1995. Free Lookups Available!
  • Head - Dennison, Jean Nunley. Our Head/Holmes Family: Including Allied Families: Bradley, Harris, Williams, Winters and Loose Connections: Frey, Hyde, Justice, Morris, York. Nashville, Tenn.: J.N. Dennison, 1986. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H34d.
  • Hooper - Anne Goodwin's Family Source Compass (online)
  • Hunt - The Hunt Archives (online) Includes surnames: Hunt, Tucker, Barbera, Tompkins, Sheridan, Baker, Adams, Bradley, Brown, Freeman, Jenkins, Mack, Pace, Page, Wilson, Teasley, Thornton and more.
  • Hunter - Descendants of Jacob, Dempsey, Allen, David and Thomas Hunter (online)
  • Moore - Monroe, Ruby Moore. The Moore Family. Typescript, microfilmed 1996. FHL US/CAN Film 2055141 Item 3.
  • Morton - Burt, Aline Morton. A Pioneer Portrait. Rancho Bernardo, Calif.: A.M. Burt, 1971. FHL US/CAN Film 962205 Item 6.
  • Pack - Soyars, Crystine Yates. The Thomas M. Pack Clan, 1836-1977. Nashville, Tenn.: C.Y. Soyars, 1978. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 P12a.
  • Shearin - Cantrell, Charles Thomas. The 20th Century Shearin Genealogy. C.T. Cantrell, 1996. The book contains references to hundreds of those from Cheatham county. Free Lookups Available!
  • Stroud - Dennison, Jean Nunley. Our Dennison, Stroud Family: Including Allied Families Vanderville, McLaughlin, White, Allen, Williams, Hiland, McFerrin. Nashville, Tenn.: J.N. Dennison, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 D424dj.
  • Whitfield - Whitfield, Vallie Jo Fox. Whitfield History and Genealogy of Tennessee. [Walnut Creek, CA: Unknown,, 1964. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 879642 Item 1; digital version available at Heritage Quest Online ($).

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land Grants

  • Free index to 1500+ Pioneer Cumberland Settlements Land Grants, available online, courtesy: Cumberland Pioneer Settlers. The Cumberland Settlements region covered what is now this county. To view the land grants platted on maps, purchase the books described on this site, or access those available at the Family History Library FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 976.8 E7d.
  • The Family History Library has mictofilm copies of deeds and mortgages 1856-1960 with indexes 1856-1876 and 1891-1969; land entries 1856-1915; Ranger books 1857-1877; and release books or undetermined years.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Deserted Sycamore Village by Lois Barnes focuses on the early families and history of Sycamore, Cheatham, Tennessee.  Many historical photographs are included.  Some readers caution that family genealogies are not all correct and need more research.  Free lookups available.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Robertson CountyDavidson CountyWilliamson CountyDickson CountyMontgomery CountyTN CHEATHAM.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War of 1812

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Cheatham County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cheatham County:

Confederate Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Cheatham County:

World War I

  • Soldiers and Seamen from Cheatham County, Tennessee, during World Wars I and II. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed 1961. FHL US/CAN Film 227224.

World War II

  • Soldiers and Seamen from Cheatham County, Tennessee, during World Wars I and II. Typescript, TSLA. Microfilmed 1961. FHL US/CAN Film 227224.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Cheatham County click on the following cities:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The Cheatham County Court has responsibility for the probate records.

Online Records


Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1856-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN nbsp;976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records.
  • 1856-1871 - Works Progress Administration. Cheatham County, Tennessee Wills & Inventories. 1936. Reprint, Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, 2001?. Indexed. Contains volume A. (FHL book 976.8462 P2c.)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1789 Cumberland Settlements, Tax List, 1789, The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 4, No. 2 (Fall 1990). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Cheatham.
  • 1856 Cheatham County Tax List with Land Descendants and Map, 1856, The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Winter 1991); Vol. 4, No. 4 (Spring 1991); Vol. 5, No. 1 (Summer 1991). For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Cheatham.
  • 1856 County Tax List, 1856, CCHGA Bytes. Ashland City TN: Apr 2006; May 2006; Jun 2006; Jul 2006...
  • 1858 Cheatham County Tax List, 1858 (annotated), CCHGA Bytes. Ashland City TN: Mar 2004; Apr 2004; Jan 2005; Feb 2005; Mar 2005; Apr 2005.
  • 1868 Tax List Claims, 1868, CCHGA Bytes. Ashland City TN: Oct 2002.
  • 1873 Tax Releases, 1873, CCHGA Bytes. Ashland City TN: Sep 2002.
  • 1873 Delinquent Tax List, 1873, CCHGA Bytes. Ashland City TN: Oct 2002.
  • 1881 Locations for Payment of Taxes, List, 1881, CCHGA Bytes. Ashland City TN: Oct 2006.
  • 1892 Property Tax List, District 1, 1892, CCHGA Bytes. Ashland City TN: Jun 2005.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

Book Abstracts and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

For deaths of Methodists in Cheatham County (or what later became Cheatham County) between the 1830s and the 1920s, try:

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • 1800-1965 - Tennessee. Tennessee Divorce and Other Records, 1800-1965. Nashville, Tennessee: Tennessee State Library and Archives. Available at Ancestry ($)
  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online; FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 A3gp - Inventory stating where divorce records are housed.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Cheatham County Public Library
188 County Services Drive Suite 200
Ashland City, TN 37015
Phone: 1-615-792-4828 Website

The Ira T. Sanders Genealogy Room has Microfilm and Reference Records

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Cheatham County Historical and Genealogical Association
P. O. Box 703
Ashland City, TN 37015
Phone: 615-792-3623
WebsiteFacebook
E-mail: cchga007@bellsouth.net

The Cheatham County Historical and Genealogical Society was created in the early 1990s and includes a a number of chapters. CCHGA Quarterly Newsletters 2001–2010 online.

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, 37203-7507
Website

The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Cheatham County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy & History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Cheatham, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheatham_County,_Tennessee accessed 17 Dec 2018
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Voice of Louise Lynch, Archivist, Williamson County, Tennessee Archives (2010).
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. "Tennessee County" in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tennessee_County (accessed 25 May 2010), and Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004) [[FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004 ]], 639.
  9. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  10. Wikipedia contributors, "Cheatham County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheatham_County,_Tennessee, accessed 10 November 2019.
  11. 11.0 11.1 Robert M. McBride, "Lost Counties of Tennessee," East Tennessee Historical Society's Publications 38 (1966): 6-7.
  12. Founding of the Cumberland Settlements: The First Atlas 1779-1804.
  13. WPA. Guide to Church Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville: Tennessee State Planning Commission, 1942. FHL 976.8 K23w
  14. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.
  15. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/6/60/Igitennesseea.pdf.