To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cheadle St Mary, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Cheadle St Mary, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cheadle St Mary, Cheshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Handforth St Chad beginning 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Cheadle St Mary is an Ancient parish in Cheshire and included Bosden, Cheadle Bulkeley, Handforth, Handforth cum Bosden, Handforth St Chad, and Cheadle Moseley.

A church has been on this site since at least 1200, but the present church was built mainly between 1520 and 1550.The south chapel was completed in 1530, the nave in 1541, and the tower was built between 1520 and 1540. The chancel was built between 1556 and 1558 for Lady Katheryn Bulkeley, who had formerly been the Abbess of Godstow. The south porch is dated 1634, but this was the date it was repaired rather than the date of its building. There was a major restoration between 1875 and 1882 during which time a vestry was added in 1877.

For more information see Cheadle.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Registers of Baptisms 1558–1987, Marriages 1558–1981 and Burials 1558–1982 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers Cheadle, St. Mary, baptisms, [1813-1871]

Parish Registers: St Mary Cheadle
Film
Baptisms, 1814-1834. (3 fiches)
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6200556
Baptisms, 1834-1835. (1 fiche)
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6200557
Baptisms, 1836-1841. (1 fiche)
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6200558
Baptisms, 1841-1871. (3 fiches)
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6200559

Parish of St. Mary Cheadle burials 4 Jan. 1871 to 16 Jul. 1982

Parish Registers: St Mary Cheadle
Film
Parish of St. Mary, Cheadle, burials 4 Jan. 1871 to 16 Jul. 1982
Granite Mountain Record Vault British B2 Access Services 6395259
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Stockport (1837-1930)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Cheadle St Mary on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]


Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, pp. 28–29, ISBN 1871731232
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 91–93

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 127, ISBN 0 300 09588 0