Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Chattooga County

Guide to Chattooga County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Summerville
Organized: December 28, 1838
Parent County(s): Floyd, Walker[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cherokee (AL)  • De Kalb (AL)  • Floyd  • Gordon  • Walker
See County Maps
Courthouse
Chattooga County Courthouse; Summerville, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Chattooga County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the Chattooga River. The County is located in the northwestern area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Chattooga County Courthouse
PO Box 211
Summerville, GA 30747-0211
Phone: 706-857-0700
Chatooga County Website

Clerk Court has divorce records from early 1900s and court records.
Clerk Office has birth, marriage death, burial and probate records.[3]

Chattooga County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1839 1839 1839 1840

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[4]

Boundary Changes

  • 1838 Chattooga County was created 28 December 1838 from Floyd and Walker Counties.
  • County seat: Summerville[5]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Chattooga County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Chattooga, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Chattooga County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Presbyterian

Beersheba Presbyterian Church, Summerville

  • 1853-1885 Beersheba Presbyterian Church, Summerville, Baptism Index 1853-1885. Batch C712461 at FamilySearch.
  • 1853-1895 Beersheba Presbyterian Church, Summerville, Marriage Index 1853-1895. Batch M712461 at FamilySearch.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Chattooga County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Gachattooga.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Chattooga County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Chattooga County:

- 9th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) ,Company B
- 21st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company D
- 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company I
- 39th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
  • Griffith, Jessie June Brandon. 1985. 1870 census and mortality schedules of Chattooga County, GA.: plus Confederate soldier information, where they enlisted, fought and where they died. Rossville, Ga: J.B. Griffith. (page 69) FHL 455108
  • Chattooga County (Georgia). Superior Court Clerk. 1963. Veterans of Civil and European wars, 1861-1960. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 337228


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Chattooga County Historical Society
    200 S. Commerce St
    Summerville, GA 30747
    Facebook

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Chattooga County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chattooga_County,_Georgia" accessed 31 Oct 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 19. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.