To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Chatteris, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Chatteris, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chatteris, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Witchford
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union North Witchford
Registration District North Witchford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1614
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ely
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Chatteris, is a small town, a parish, and a sub-district, in the district of North Witchford, Cambridge. The town is on the west border of the isle of Ely, near the Cambridge and Wisbeach railway, it is 10½ miles NNE of St. Ives; and has a station on the railway, a post office under March. There are seven chapels for Independents, Baptists, Methodists. and Quakers.[1]

CHATTERIS (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish ,in the union and hundred of North Witchford, Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 8¾ miles (E. by N.) from Ramsey. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists and Wesleyans.[2]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Chatteris parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cam BTs = England, Cambridgeshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1599-1860 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cambridgeshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Banns = Cambridgeshire Banns (FindMyPast) - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chatteris Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
Cam BTs 1599-1860
1599-1860
1599-1860
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1539-1950
1540-1949
1540-1966
FMP 1538-1950
1538-1973
1538-1950
FMP Banns

1653-1981


NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1538-1850


ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI 1556-1731, 1600-1660, 1600-1731, 1662-1763
1732-1821, 1821-1876, 1822-1876, 1832-1842

1600-1754, 1659-1762, 1732-1754, 1754-1770
1770-1876, 1774-1812



FS Catalog PRs
1600-1875
1600-1875
1600-1875
FS Catalog BTs
1600-1857
1600-1857
1600-1857

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Baptist
  • Calvinist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Countess of Huntingdon Methodist
  • General Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Chatteris on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, Adapted. Date accessed: 09 January 2014.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-562. Date accessed and adapted: 18 July 2013.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk