Charlynch, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Charlynch, Somersetshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Somerset
Somerset Parishes
Mackrell
Charlynch


Guide to Charlynch, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charlynch, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cannington
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bridgwater
Registration District Bridgwater
Records begin
Parish registers: 1744
Bishop's Transcripts: 1594
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridgwater
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

CHARLINCH or CHARLYNCH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bridgwater, hundred of Cannington, W. division of Somerset, 4 miles (W. by N.) from Bridgwater.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Charlynch, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[9]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[10]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[11]
WCGEN = West Country Genealogy - free[12]
WEST = West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions - free[13]
CHARLYNCH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1744-1812 1744-1812 1744-1753 1744-1753 1744-1812 1744-1812
BOYD
1754-1779

FREG 1607-1663, 1744-1861
1607-1860
1607-1663, 1744-1861
JOIN
1608-1834

MARR
1596-1834

NBI

1593-1893
SOPC 1607-1664
1607-1621
1607-1664
WCGEN
1608-1779

WEST 1744-1861
1745-1860
1744-1861

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Charlinch/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 15 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  7. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  8. 'Somerset Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 October 2013.
  9. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  10. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  11. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  12. West Country Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  13. West Somerset Parish Register Transcriptions, accessed 21 October 2013.