To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Charlottesville (Independent City), Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Charlottesville, Virginia)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Charlottesville, Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Charlottesville, Virginia
—  Independent City  —
Location in Virginia
Founded 1762
Website www.charlottesville.org/

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The City of Charlottesville is located in the West-Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named in honor of Princess Charlotte, who became queen of England when she married King George III in 1761[1].

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Charlottesville City Courthouse

For additional records, see Albemarle County.

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1762 -- Charlottesville was created in 1762 from Albemarle County.[2]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Charlottesville, Virginia Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in Charlottesville:[3]

  • Maplewood Cemetery
  • Oakwood Cemetery
  • Riverview Cemetery
  • University Cemetery

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes (1889-1939) and images (1889-1926) to Charlottesville, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[4]

Immigration[edit | edit source]

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding one British alien living in Charlottesville.[5]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Albemarle CountyVA CHARLOTTESVILLE IND CITY.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War records for Charlottesville were kept by the city.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • 1855-1880 - Jeffersonian Republican (Charlottesville, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).

Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Charlottesville silversmiths.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Charlottesville (Independent City), Virginia Genealogy deaths are online in the Library of Virginia's Death Index of Virginia, 1853-1896, sponsored by The Virginia Genealogical Society.


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.visitcharlottesville.org/about/history/
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. USGS Map, Topozone.com
  4. "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
  5. Kenneth Scott. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979, 320-333. FHL Collection 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).