Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Charlotte County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Charlotte County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Charlotte County Virginia History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Bible Records
- 4.3 Cemeteries
- 4.3.1 Census
- 4.3.2 Church Records
- 4.3.3 Court
- 4.3.4 Genealogy
- 4.3.5 Historic Residences
- 4.3.6 Immigration
- 4.3.7 Land and Property
- 4.3.8 Local Histories
- 4.3.9 Maps
- 4.3.10 Migration
- 4.3.11 Military
- 4.3.12 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.3.13 Naturalization
- 4.3.14 Newspapers
- 4.3.15 Probate Records
- 4.3.16 Research Guides
- 4.3.17 Taxation
- 4.3.18 Vital Records
- 5 Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Charlotte County is located in the South-Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for Queen Charlotte, wife of King George III of Great Britain.
Charlotte County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Charlotte County Courthouse
125 David Bruce Avenue
P.O. Box 38
Charlotte Court House, VA 23923-0038
County Clerk has birth and death records 1853-1870
Marriage, probate court and land records from 1765 and divorce records
General compliance year is unknown.
Charlotte County Virginia History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Charlotte County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1813. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of Charlotte County.
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Williams Family Bible, Charlotte and Mecklenburg Counties, Virginia. By Henry deLeon Southerland. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1974):311-312. FHL, online at: American Ancestors ($).
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
- Bureau of the Census, Heads of Families at the first Census of the United States taken in the Year 1790. Viewable online as a .pdf. Because the 1790 census had been destroyed, the Census Bureau created the Virginia report from census substitutes from similar time periods. This document contains a list for Charlotte County in the year 1782. Begins on page 13.
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.
1890 Union Veterans
- Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. c1994. By Ronald Ray Turner. Online at: Prince William County Virginia, FHL Collection; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Baptisms and Burials, Church of Our Saviour Parish Register, Charlottesville, Virginia. By Sharon B. Hamner. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):83-87; Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):175-177. FHL, online at: American Ancestors ($).
Baptist[edit | edit source]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Ash Camp (1803). Church minutes (1813-1870) have been filmed: FHL Film 30816. Cemetery database at Find A Grave. (487+ graves).
- Cubb Creek aka Cub Creek (1771). A history was published in 1967: Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 6 (1967).
- Midway. Meeting minutes and membership lists (1833-1867) have been filmed: FHL Film 986448.
- Mossingford (1785)
- Sandy Creek (1785)
- Staunton River (1804)
The 10,000 name petition (dated 16 October 1776) has been digitized at the Library of Congress website. It was signed by people from all over Virginia who wanted an end to persecution of Baptists by the Established Church. Baptists and Baptist sympathizers alike signed the petition. To find your ancestor in this record, first check Hall's transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy (Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39), which is available online at Ancestry ($). It is also available in book form at the Family History Library: FHL Book 975.5 B2vs v. 35-39. Then proceed to the Library of Congress website to see the original images.
Charlotte County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association, the Meherrin Association, and the Roanoke Association.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
See also Cornwall Parish
Court[edit | edit source]
Chancery Court[edit | edit source]
- Library of Virginia, Chancery Records Index (and images). Fully indexed. Allows searching by county, plaintiff, defendant, and surname. Search is exact spelling only. The Chancery Court records for Charlotte County have been scanned and are viewable as .pdf files.
County Court[edit | edit source]
- 1786-1809 - Charlotte County Virginia Order Book Extracts Books 7 to 16 (VAGenWeb)
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Compiled Genealogies by Surname
- See Charlotte County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies for a list of 125+ published books and articles, or jump to the surname using the alphabet bar.
Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families
- Bouldin, Powhatan. The Old Trunk, or, Sketch of Colonial Days. 2nd ed. Danville, Va.: Blair & Boatwright, Printers, 1896. FHL Film 30775; digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive.
- Charlotte County Heritage Book Committee. The Heritage of Charlotte County, Virginia 1765-2007. Waynesville, N.C.: County Heritage, 2007. FHL Collection 975.565 H2h
- Priddy, A.S. and Walter M. Priddy. Notes of Some of the Old Families on the Head Waters of Roanoke and Twitty's Creek and the Keysville Section of Charlotte County. Typescript, abt. 1910. Copy: FHL Film 1036740 Item 3; digital version at USGenWeb Archives.
- Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD-ROM. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Free online index, courtesy: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. [Includes a great deal of information about residents of Charlotte County, see discussion of cited sources.] FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 3887. Purchase at Virginians.com.
- Steltzner, Mildred White, Virginia Frances Jordan Bloomfield and Fort Wayne Public Library. Hunting for Ancestors by Mildred W. Steltzner: A Genealogy Column in the Charlotte Gazette, Drakes Branch, Virginia. 3 vols. Fort Wayne, Ind.: Allen County Public Library, 1977-1978. FHL Collection 975.565/D1 B3s
Historic Residences[edit | edit source]
- Distinguished Descendants of Colonel Clement Read and Bushy Forest and Other Charlotte County Homes of the Early Reads: Two Addresses. 1932. By J.D. Eggleston. n.p. : n.p. Collection with index and images at Ancestry ($).
Immigration[edit | edit source]
- List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Brunswick County are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 1 British alien living in Charlotte County.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins. 528 patents dated 1731-1835 in what is now Charlotte County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2010. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Charlotte County, Virginia: Historical, Statistical, and Present Attractions. 1907. By John Cullen Carrington. n.p. : Hermitage Press. Online at: [100137 FamilySearch Digital Library], Google Books.
- Lang Syne. 1972. By Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities - Charlotte County Branch. n.p. : n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Online Books.
- Mulberry Hill and the Family : Presented at the Annual Meeting of the Charlotte County Branch Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Held at Mulberry Hill on October 2, 1976. 1976. By Frances Barksdale Lynn. n.p. : n.p. Online at: Online Books.
- The Old Trunk, or, Sketches of Colonial Days. 1888. By Powhatan Bouldin. Richmond, VA : Andrews, Baptist & Clemmitt, Steam Printers. Online at: Internet Archive, Second Edition 1896 Hathitrust, Google Books.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Detail View of Charlotte County
The Library of Congress, American Memory website contains two beautifully detailed maps of Charlotte County from the 1860's. Both show rivers, creeks, and some landowners names. Viewable online or downloadable in jpeg2000 format.
- Hotchkiss map collection No. 289: Map of Charlotte County, Virginia / by Jed. Hotchkiss, Top. Eng.
- Gilmer map collection: Map of Charlotte County, Va. Made under the direction of Maj. A.H. Campbell Chief Topl. Departm't. by Lieut. C.E. Cassell C.S. Engineers. Sept. 15, 1864.
Migration[edit | edit source]
- Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 1966. By Katherine B. Elliott. South Hill, Virginia : K.B. Elliott. 2 Vols. FHL Collection contains Vol. 1 of original edition, FHL Collection contains 1983 reprint, FHL Collection contains 1990-1992 reprints. This book includes individuals who migrated out of Charlotte County to other parts of the country.
- Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist Vol. 19, No. 3. July - Sept.1975:190-194. Online at: New England Ancestors ($), FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2vg. These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Charlotte County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:31-34; the 1789 Delinquent List appears on 21:118.
Military[edit | edit source]
French and Indian War[edit | edit source]
- Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.
Colonial Militia[edit | edit source]
- Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Charlotte County militia officers 1767-1774; see place name index.
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Charlotte County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Charlotte County supplied soldiers for the:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). See Virginia, Eastern District, Charlotte County on page 129.
- Charlotte County, Virginia : Revolutionary Officers and Soldiers. 1921. The William and Mary Quarterly. Online at: JSTOR.
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. 1852. Washington, D.C. : Clearfield. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Collection with index and images at Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.
- Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. By J. T. McAllister. c1913. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
Charlotte County men served in the 26th Regiment.
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Charlotte County, p. 67.]
- Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. By James L. Douthat. 2007. Signal Mountain, Tenn : Mountain Press. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Charlotte County men most often served in regiments (and companies) from their home county. At times, however, individuals and small groups can be found serving in regiment from neighboring counties. Later in the war, Confederate units often reorganized.
Men from Charlotte County can be found in the following regiments:
- - 1st Regiment, Virginia Infantry Reserves (Confederate). Company B (Home Guard)
- - 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company K (Albemarle Light Horse)
- - 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Charlotte Cavalry).
- - 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Charlotte Rifles).
- - 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Red House Volunteers).
- - 22nd Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- - 23rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Keysville Guards).
- - 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Randolph Guard) - Page 227 of FHL book 975.565 H2a only casually mentions this regiment. Therefore, it is possible that only its commander was from Charlotte County.
- - 56th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies G (Charlotte Defenders) and I (Charlotte Grays).
- - Staunton Hill, Virginia Artillery (Confederate), was formed, equipped and initially commanded by Captain Charles Bruce and later commanded by Captain A. B. Paris. This company is reported as having been composed of three sections, 1st, 2nd, 3rd with the 3rd section serving in North Carolina while the other two served in Savannah, Georgia. Further into the war, possibly became Co. B, 2nd Regiment, Virginia Artillery and much later possibly Company B, 22nd Battalion Virginia Infantry.
- Information about the history of the companies from Charlotte County can be found in:
- -Charlotte County, Rich Indeed, pp. 222-249 and muster rolls on pp. 476-484 FHL book 975.565 H2a
- - Muster roll for Charlotte County on microfilm FHL film 1939964 item 1
- -A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865, FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]
The following Civil War battle was fought in Charlotte County.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
A free index to Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1765-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.
- Digital Images of Charlotte county Wills 1765-1791; 1791-1805. See names of testators. Virginia Pioneers
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Charlotte County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1963):115-117. Available at FHL, online at: American Ancestors ($).
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1782-1813 Charlotte County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1813 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
- 1782-1813 Charlotte County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1813. By Paul Heinegg. Online at: Free African Americans.
- 1782 Charlotte County, Virginia 1782 Tax List; index online at Rays Place.
- 1782 Charlotte County, Virginia 1782 Tax List online at Genealogy Trails.
- 1783 Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website.
- 1790, 1800 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Charlotte County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
- 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). By Roger D. Ward. c1997. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co. FHL 975 E4w. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Charlotte County is included in Vol. 2.
- Charlotte County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):110-116; Vol. 15, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1971):166-173. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
- Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):190-194. FHL 975.5 B2vg; CD available at: New England Ancestors ($). These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Charlotte County's 1787-1788 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:31-34; the 1789 Delinquent List appears on 21:118.
- The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Charlotte County is included in Vol. 1.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Charlotte County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
Beth Fridley has published birth records through the following Ancestry index collections ($):
- 1860-1874 - Charlotte County, Virginia Births, 1860-74
- 1875-1878 - Charlotte County, Virginia Births, 1875-78
- 1879-1882 - Charlotte County, Virginia Births, 1879-82
- 1883-1896 - Charlotte County, Virginia Births, 1883-96
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1800 Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 Ancestry ($).
- 1660-1959 Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast ($).
- 1740-1850 Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 Ancestry ($).
- 1782-1900 Charlotte County Marriage Index 1782-1900. Batch M868736 at FamilySearch.
- 1853-1935 - Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1936-1988 Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Beware of the Charlotte County, Virginia, Marriage Bonds: The Featherston Family. By Margaret T. Macdonald. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1979):3-7. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Charlotte Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Cyndi's List
- Virginia Pioneers Virginia Pioneers ($)
Charlotte County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Charlotte City County, Virginia. Page 712 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Charlotte County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Charlotte_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charlotte_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 8 January 2020.
- Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
- Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272. Digital version at Google Books.
- William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- 1978. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 Richmond, Va. : Virginia State Library, 71. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
- Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 67. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
- James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
- Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
- Thomas M. Rankin, 23rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 14.
- William A. Young Jr. and Patricia C. Young, 56th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 63.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.