Charles County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Charles County, Maryland)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Charles County

Guide to Charles County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: La Plata
Organized: April 13, 1658
Parent County(s): Colonial lands
Neighboring Counties
Calvert  • Prince George's  • St. Mary's  • Fairfax (VA)  • King George (VA)  • Prince William (VA)  • Stafford (VA)  • Westmoreland (VA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MarylandCharlesCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
MD Charles map.png
Adoption
Charles Calvert

County Information

Description

The County was named for Charles Calvert. The County has La Plata as its seat and the County was created April 13, 1658. The County is located in the southwest area of the state. [1]

County Courthouse

Charles County Courthouse
P.O. Box B
200 Baltimore Street
La Plata, MD 20646
Phone: 301-645-0550
Charles County Website

Charles County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1898 1658 1665 1775

Record Loss

Most early papers of the county court have been lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • Created 13 April 1658 from Colonial lands by the order in Council, likely much of remaining portion of old Charles County that was created 1650 and dissolved 1653.
  • County seat: La Plata[2]

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Charles County, Maryland:[3]

Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Charles County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information



LDS Cemetery Records
Vol. 21

  • New Saint Peters Cemetery - page 85
  • Old Saint Peters Cemetery - page 97

Vol. 24

  • Trinity Parish Episcopal Church Cemetery - page 100

Census Records

For tips on accessing Charles County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 20,613
1800 19,172 −7.0%
1810 20,245 5.6%
1820 16,500 −18.5%
1830 17,769 7.7%
1840 16,023 −9.8%
1850 16,162 0.9%
1860 16,517 2.2%
1870 15,738 −4.7%
1880 18,548 17.9%
1890 15,191 −18.1%
1900 17,662 16.3%
1910 16,386 −7.2%
1920 17,705 8.0%
1930 16,166 −8.7%
1940 17,612 8.9%
1950 23,415 32.9%
1960 32,572 39.1%
1970 47,678 46.4%
1980 72,751 52.6%
1990 101,154 39.0%
2000 120,546 19.2%
2010 146,551 21.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Constable's Census of Charles County, 1775-1778 (1800 Persons): Including Durham Parish; Benedict Hundred; Port Tobacco; West Hundred; Upper Hundred; East Hundred, Newport; Port Tobacco, Upper Hundred; Port Tobacco, Town Hundred; Port Tobacco, East Hundred; Pomonkey; Newport, West Hundred; William and Mary, Lower Hundred; Bryan Town Hundred, is available online, see pages 297-312 and index in:

  • Brumbaugh, Gaius Marcus. Maryland Records: Colonial, Revolutionary, County and Church from Original Sources. Vol. 1. Baltimore, Md.: Williams & Wilkins Company, 1915. Digital version at Google Books.

Federal Census reports available 1790-1940 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

Church of England
See the following parishes:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

The New Early Settlers of Maryland database is a great place to start searching for immigrants who had arrived in the colony by the 1680s. The database "comprises 34,326 entries from Gust Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland and Carson Gibb's Supplement to the Early Settlers of Maryland." Available online, courtesy: Maryland State Archives.

Other Charles County immigration resources include:

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [A'Gambra] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
  • [Addison] Kennedy, Mary Selden. Seldens of Virginia and Allied Families. New York: Frank Allaben Genealogical Co., c1911. Digital versions of Vol. 1 at Google Books; Internet Archive | Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online;Internet Archive; FHL Book 929.273 Se48k.
  • [Baptista] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
  • [Boarman] Thomas, C.F. and Emily Emerson Lentz. The Boarmans. Washington, D.C.: C.F. Thomas, 1934. FHL Film 1011838 Item 5.
  • [Boughton] Dorman, John Frederick. Adventurers of Purse and Person Virginia 1607-1624/5. 3 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005. See Volume 2. FHL Book 975.5 H2j v. 2.
  • [Brown] Horner, Frederick. The History of the Blair, Banister and Braxton Families Before and After the Revolution: With a Brief Sketch of Their Descendants. Philadelphia: J.P. Lippincott, 1898. FHL Film 1550788 Item 7; digital versions at Google Books - free and Internet Archive - free.
  • [Brown] Kennedy, Mary Selden. Seldens of Virginia and Allied Families. New York: Frank Allaben Genealogical Co., c1911. Digital versions of Vol. 1 at Google Books; Internet Archive | Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online;Internet Archive; FHL Book 929.273 Se48k.
  • [Brown] Copeland, Pamela C. and Richard K. MacMaster. The Five George Masons: Patriots and Planters of Virginia and Maryland. Lorton, Va.: The Board of Regents of Gunston Hall, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 M381cm.
  • [Burford] Lomax, E.L. Genealogy of the Virginia Family of Lomax. Chicago: Rand McNally and Co., 1913. Digital version at Internet Archive - free.
  • [Chilton] Dorman, John Frederick. "The Chilton Families of Virginia and Maryland," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1967):71-78; Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1967):121-125; Vol. 11, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1967):167-174; Vol. 12, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1968):15-18; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1968):83-86; Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1968):109-113; Vol. 12, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1968):169-175; Vol. 13, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1969):32-36; Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1969):65-71; Vol. 13, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1969):177-180; Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1970):15-22; Vol. 14, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1970):75-82; Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1970):123-128; Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):165-168; Vol. 15, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1971):32-41; Vol. 15, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1971):122-124; Vol. 15, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1971):259-264; Vol. 16, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1972):301-306. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 11 - v. 16.
  • [Compton] King, Larry. Blue Ridge Mountain Kinfolks: A Record of Ancestors, Descendants and Relatives of the Author and Wife, Including Fisher - Gilbert - Hall - Hartley - Hill - King - Kirby - Lawson Families. Manchester, Tenn.: King, 1976. FHL Book 929.273 K58ki.
  • [Covert] King, George Harrison Sanford. "Maryland Coverts Become Virginia Colverts, Colberts and Calverts," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1970):3-10; Vol. 14, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1970):65-70. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 14 (1970).
  • [Doughty] Dorman, John Frederick. Adventurers of Purse and Person Virginia 1607-1624/5. 3 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005. See Volume 2. FHL Book 975.5 H2j v. 2.
  • [Douglass] Thompson, Neil D. "The Douglass Family of Charles County, Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 49, No. 4 (Oct. 1973):193-202; Vol. 50, No. 1 (Jan. 1974):45-51. FHL 973 D25aga v. 49
  • [Douglass] Thompson, Neil D. "The Douglass Family of Charles County, Maryland: Some Further Observations," The American Genealogist, Vol. 53, No. 2 (Apr. 1977):76-78. FHL 973 D25aga v. 53
  • [Eaton] Dorman, John Frederick. Adventurers of Purse and Person Virginia 1607-1624/5. 3 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005. See Volume 2. FHL Book 975.5 H2j v. 2.
  • [Fernando] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; FHL 973 D25aga v. 76 Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 77
  • [Forbes] Gordon, John Steele. "Who Was the Wife of James Forbes, Member of the Continental Congress from Maryland?," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (Jan. 2001):29-35. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
  • [Fowke] Copeland, Pamela C. and Richard K. MacMaster. The Five George Masons: Patriots and Planters of Virginia and Maryland. Lorton, Va.: The Board of Regents of Gunston Hall, 1989. FHL Book 929.273 M381cm.
  • [Gambra] See A'Gambra.
  • [Glaze] Harris, Gale Ion. "John Glaze, Planter, of Charles County, Maryland: With Notes on Other Early Glaze Families in America," The Genealogist, Vol. 17, No. 1 (Spring 2003):37-60.
  • [Hawley] Hawley, Laura. Hawley, Halley, Holley and Families of Similar Surnames Found in Early Records of England, Maryland and Virginia. Bowie, Md.: Willow Bend Books, 2003.
  • [Higdon] Coone, Lucille Barco and Robert S. Higdon. Colonial Higdons and Some of Their Descendants. Rev. ed. Manassas, Va.: L.B. Coone, 1978. FHL Film 1307612 Item 1.
  • [Hoskins] Russell, George Ely. "Colonel Philip Hoskins (c1650-1718) of Port Tobacco, Charles County, Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 51, No. 1 (Mar. 1963):26-31, 248. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 51
  • [Hoskins] "Colonel Philip Hoskins of Charles County, Maryland Addenda," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 51, No. 4 (Dec. 1963):248. FHL Book 973 B2ng v. 51.
  • [Lamar] Lamar, William Harmong, "Thomas Lamar of the Province of Maryland, and a Part of His Descendants," Publications of the Southern History Association, Vol. 1, No. 3 (Jul. 1897):203-210. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  • [Lewis] Cook, Michael L. "Major William Lewis," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1984):243-250. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 28 (1984).
  • [Lomax] Thompson, Neil D. "English Origins of the Lomax Family of Charles County, Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 45, No. 3 (Jul. 1969):153-156. FHL 973 D25aga v. 45
  • [Lumbrozo] Russell, George Ely. "Elizabeth (Wiles) (Lumbrozo) (Browne) Robinson of Charles Co., Maryland, 1662," The American Genealogist, Vol. 55 (1979):174-177. FHL 973 D25aga v. 55
  • [Lumbrozo] Russell, George Ely. "John Lumbroso Jr. (1666-1744) of Pasquotank County, North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 59, No. 1 (Jan. 1983):32. FHL 973 D25aga v. 59
  • [Lumbrozo] Russell, George Ely. "Portuguese and Spanish Colonists in Seventeenth-Century Maryland," The American Genealogist, Vol. 76, No. 1 (January 2001):50-60; Vol. 77, No. 1 (Apr. 2001):138-147. FHL 973 D25aga v. 76
  • [Mills] Hackett, John Davis and Kathryn Dickerson Shannon. "Mills Families of Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 35, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1991):215-228; Vol. 35, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1991):284-296; Vol. 36, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1992):34-48; Vol. 36, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1992):109-119. To locate digital pages use search form at American Ancestors ($); first select Virginia Genealogist, The from the Database list. Then select Volume number. FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 35 (1991)-v. 36 (1992).
  • [Render] Smith, Pearl O. Renders and Their Relatives; Joshua Render of Charles County, Maryland, and Orange County, Virginia, and His Descendants, 1720-1985. Arlington, Va.: P.O. Smith, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 R293s.
  • [Stonestreet] Newman, Harry Wright. Stonestreet Family of Maryland, 1538-1958. Typescript, 1953. FHL Fiche 6019079.
  • [Stonestreet] Skidmore, Warren. Thomas Stonestreet of Birchden, Withyham, East Sussex, and of "Birchden" in Charles County, Maryland, with His Posterity Down to the Sixth Generation. Akron, Ohio: W. Skidmore, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 St72sw.
  • [Story] Thompson, Neil D. "Walter Story of Charles County, Maryland, Father and Son," The American Genealogist, Vol. 51, No. 3 (Jul. 1975):147-150. FHL 973 D25aga v. 51
  • [Swann] Joy, Charles Austin. "Descendants of Jonathan Swann of Charles County, Maryland, and Caroline County, Virginia," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 70 (1982):271-281.
  • [Wheeler] Ball, Walter V. The Wheeler Family of Charles County, Maryland. Chevy Chase, Md.: W.V. Ball, 1966. FHL Book 929.273 W561b.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Charles County Deed Books (1658-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Mdcharles
Charles County Boundary Map

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Maryland, Charles County on page 127.]

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Charles County, p. 145. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Charles served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Charles:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Historical Society of Charles Co., Inc.
    P.O. Box 2806
    La Plata, MD 20646
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Charles," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_County,_Maryland."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Charles County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_County,_Maryland, accessed 16 August 2018.