Chardstock All Saints, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Chardstock, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
For more information and records see Chardstock All Saints, Dorset.
|Chardstock All Saints, Devon|
|Hundred||Axminster; Beaminster Forum and Redhone|
|Poor Law Union||Axminster|
|Parish registers: 1840|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1847|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Chardstock|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CHARDSTOCK-ALL SAINTS, a chapelry in Chardstock and Axminster parishes, Dorset and Devon; adjacent to the Yeovil and Exeter railway, 2 miles NNE of Axminster. The chapelry was constituted in 1840.
Chapel History[edit | edit source]
Chardstock All Saints was originally created as a chapel of ease for St Andrews, the ancient parish. It was created from Chardstock St Andrews, ancient parish in Dorset and Axminster ancient parish in Devon. Most of the parish is in Dorset.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Chardstock parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|CHARDSTOCK PARISH Online Records|
Chardstock St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Chardstock St Andrew Parish Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Chardstock All Saints (see Chardstock in Dorset) on GENUKI
Axminster on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 25 October 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.