Charborough, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Charborough, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Dorset
Dorset Parishes
Charborough

Guide to Charborough, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Charborough, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loosebarrow
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wareham and Purbeck
Registration District Wareham
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Morden
Bishop's Transcripts: None; For records see Morden
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

CHARBOROUGH, a hamlet in Morden parish, Dorset; on an affluent of the river Stour, 6 miles W of Wimborne-Minster. It was formerly a separate parish; and it still ranks as a rectory, in the diocese of Salisbury.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 04 July 2103.