Chapel Allerton, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Chapel Allerton, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Somerset
Somerset Parishes
Chapel Allerton


Guide to Chapel Allerton, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History

ALLERTON, CHAPEL, a parish, in the union of Axbridge, hundred of Bempstone, E. division of Somerset, 3 miles (S.) from Cross.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Chapel Allerton, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS = FamilySearch - free[7]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[11]
CHAPEL ALLERTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1690-1812 1690-1812 1690-1753 1690-1753 1690-1812 1690-1812
FREG 1598-1908
1598-1908
1598-1908
FS 1598-1668, 1771-1812


MARR
1563-1878

NBI

1608-1894
PALL
1803-1812

SOPC 1598-1908
1598-1908
1609-1908

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/ChapelAllerton/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  7. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  8. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 29 April 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Described as Allerton.
  11. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.