Channel Islands Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Channel Islands Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Record Types
By Island
Channel Islands Background
Local Research Resources
Channel Islands
Census

Online Records

Channel Islands Census

Census Records for the Channel Islands come under the jurisdiction of the British Government, and as such are held by the National Archives.

They are available on film through the LDS Family History Centres and on line through Ancestry.com or Ancestry.uk , and freecen. The 1881 Census is available on line through familysearch.org and also Societe Jerisiase has some listed.  Priauxl Library in St Peter Port Guernsey has them as well.

Index of Place Names 1841-1891 census records of Channel Islands, England, Wales and Isle of Man, arranged by names of places and showing the parish in which situated, are available on Microfiche at the Salt Lake City Family History Library, and on FHL film 1145968 Item 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, available to all Family History Centres.

Some Islands have been index for specific years. Click here (Channel Islands Surname Index) to see a list of the census surname indexes for local places and parishes in these islands acquired by and available at the Family History Library.

Jersey Archive Transcriptions and Indexes

Members of the Channel Islands Family History Society have transcribed and indexed the local census returns for 1841 to 1911. These are all available at the Jersey Archive, and a visit here can advance your research enormously. C.I.F.H.S always has an experienced volunteer on duty to help.

There are also two earlier census returns from 1806 and 1815, which were completed for military purposes, and again can give some useful information. Jersey Archive
Address:
Clarence Road
St Helier
Jersey JE2 4JY

Tel: +44 (0) 1534 833333
Fax: +44 (0) 1534 833301

Opening Hours: Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday, 9am – 1pm & 2pm – 5pm
(Open until 7pm on the last Thursday of each month)

Free Parking available.