Chandlings Farm, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Chandlings Farm

Guide to Chandlings Farm, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chandlings Farm, Berkshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hormer
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

CHANDLINGS (also known as Chandlings Farm), an extra-parochial district, in the union of Abingdon, hundred of Hormer, county of Berks, 3 miles (N. by E.) from Abingdon. [1] Search surrounding parishes for records and information. See Genuki.org for additional information on Chandlings and extra-parochial places in Berkshire. This parish was abolished 1 April 1900 and incorporated into the parish of Radley.

Resources

Civil Registration

This area is part of the Abingdon Registration District.

Church Records

Chandlings Farm parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Chandlings Farm is an Extra-Parochial district. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

Genuki has some information on their site regarding  parish records. There are no specific church records in the FamilySearch catalog at this time.  Additionally, there are no registers listed at the Berkshire Record Office.

FMP = FindMyPast - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chandlings Farm Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1917
1538-1931
1538-1966
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1541-1816, 1837-1846
1541-1837
1564-1833
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scorll down in the article to the section 'Court Jurisdictions by Parish'.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Berkshire Family History Society

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 01 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk