To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Chalfont St Giles, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Chalfont St Giles, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Chalfont St Giles, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Burnham
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Amersham
Registration District Amersham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1584
Bishop's Transcripts: 1576
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Burnham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CHALFONT (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Amersham, hundred of Burnham, county of Buckingham, 3¾ miles (S. E.) from Amersham.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Chalfont St Giles parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Buckinghamshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
FS = FamilySearch - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
FREG = FreeREG - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Chalfont St Giles Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1576-1881
1576-1840
1585-1881
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG

1584-1812


IGI 1584-1801, 1800-1879
1584-1812, 1684-1702, 1813-1837


FS Catalog PRs
1584-1881
1584-1881
1584-1881
FS Catalog BTs
1576-1840
1576-1840
1576-1840

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Independent/Congregational,
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Chalfont St Giles on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 pp. 542-545. Date accessed and adapted 28 May 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk