Chaitén, Palena, Chile Genealogy
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Guide to Commune of Chaitén ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
History[edit | edit source]
- The first land grants occurred on November 4, 1885 when land was awarded to Calbuco.
- In 1905 the colonization of Palencia began when the first inhabitants of the coast of the commune were established.
- Over time, both sectors merged to give shape to Chaitén, which was officially established as a commune on February 24, 1940.
- Chaitén became the capital of the department of Palena in 1959.
- In May 2008, the eruption of the Chaitén volcano caused the evacuation of all the inhabitants of the communal capital. Between 2008 and December 2010, the capital of the province was temporarily moved to the town of Palena first and then to Futaleufú, until it returned to the city of Chaitén.
- The commune of Chaitén has a population of approximately 3,500 people.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- There are no records only for the commune of Chaitén. See the records of neighboring communes.
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
- There are no records for only the commune of Chaitén. See the records of neighboring communes.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Cementerio Municipal de Chaitén
Localities[edit | edit source]
- Chaitén Viejo
- Caleta Buill
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia Collaborators, "Chaitén," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chait%C3%A9n_(comuna). Visited 17 May 2017