Cedar County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Cedar County
 

Guide to Cedar County, Nebraska ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hartington
Organized: February 12, 1857
Parent County(s): Dixon, Pierce[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clay (SD)  • Dixon  • Knox  • Pierce  • Wayne  • Yankton (SD)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NebraskaCedarCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Nebraska highlighting Cedar County svg.bmp
Adoption


County Information

Description

Cedar County is located in the northeast corner of the State. It is bounded on the north by the Missouri River, on the east by Dixon County, on the south by Wayne and Pierce and on the west by Pierce and Knox Counties.[2]

County Courthouse

Cedar County Courthouse
101 S. Broadway Ave.
Hartington, NE 68739
Phone: 402.254.7411
Cedar County Website

County Clerk has marriage and land records.
County Judge has probate and court records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records. [1]

Cedar County, Nebraska Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1857 1857 1857 1860

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Cedar County, Nebraska:[4]

  • Belden
  • Bow Valley
  • Coleridge
  • Fordyce
  • Hartington
  • Laurel
  • Magnet
  • Obert
  • Randolph
  • St. Helena
  • St. James
  • Wynot
  • South Yankton

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Cedar County, Nebraska online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 246
1870 1,032 319.5%
1880 2,899 180.9%
1890 7,028 142.4%
1900 12,467 77.4%
1910 15,191 21.8%
1920 16,225 6.8%
1930 16,427 1.2%
1940 15,126 −7.9%
1950 13,843 −8.5%
1960 13,368 −3.4%
1970 12,192 −8.8%
1980 11,375 −6.7%
1990 10,131 −10.9%
2000 9,615 −5.1%
2010 8,852 −7.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Cedar County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

State Census Records

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cedar County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Necedar.png

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Cedar - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Hartington Public Library
    106 S. Broadway
    Box 458
    Hartington, Ne 68739
    Phone: (402) 254-6245
    Email: citylibrary@hartel.net
    Library Director: Tami Anderson
  • Randolph Public Library
    111 N. Douglas
    P.O. Box 307
    Randolph, NE 68771
    Phone: 402-337-0046
    Email: librarian@rlibrary.org
    Director: Peggy Leiting

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • NEGenWeb
  • USGenWeb
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nebraska. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/cedar/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Cedar County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cedar_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.