Catoosa County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Catoosa County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Catoosa County

Guide to Catoosa County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Catoosa County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Catoosa County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 5, 1853
County Seat Ringgold
Courthouse
Address Catoosa County Courthouse
7694 Nashville Street
Ringgold, GA 30736-1799
Phone: 706.965.2500
Catoosa County Website


County Information

Catoosa County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Catoosa County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1853

1860
1853
1853


County Courthouse

Catoosa County Georgia Courthouse.jpg
Catoosa County Courthouse
7694 Nashville Street
Ringgold, GA 30736-1799
Phone: 706.965.2500

Clerk Superior Court has court and divorce records from 1853 and land records; Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1853.[1]


Clerk of Superior Court
875 Lafayette St.
Ringgold, GA 30736
Telephone: (706) 935-4202

Probate Court of Catoosa County
875 LaFayette Street
Ringgold, GA 30736
Telephone: 706 -935- 3511
Fax: 706-935-3519

History

Parent County

1853--Catoosa County was created 5 December 1853 from Walker and Whitfield Counties.
County seat:  Ringgold [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bradley County  • Hamilton County  • Walker County  • Whitfield County

Catoosa CountyDade CountyWalker CountyWhitfield CountyChattooga CountyMurray CountyGordon CountyFloyd CountyBartow CountyCherokee CountyPike CountyGilmer CountyFannin CountyMarshall CountyCherokee CountyDeKalb CountyJackson CountyFranklin CountyMarion CountyHamilton CountyBradley CountyPolk CountySequatchie CountyGrundy CountyCoffee CountyGACatoosa.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Catoosa, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Catoosa County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Catoosa County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Military

  • Military - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Catoosa County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Catoosa County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and C; 2nd Companies D and I
- 11th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company G
- 13th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Company C
- 39th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Catoosa County, Georgia Heritage Book Committee, and Catoosa County Historical Society (Catoosa County, Ga.). 1998. Catoosa County, Georgia heritage 1853-1998. [Marietta, Ga.]: Walsworth Pub. Co. (page 5-6) 975.8325 H2cc
  • Clark, William Henry Harrison. 1972. History in Catoosa County. S.l: s.n.]. (page 284-302 Co.B 1st Regiment) 975.8326 H2c
  • Crawley, Laura. 1986. Civil War medicine at Chickamauga Battlefield. Rossville, Georgia: Delta Genealogical Society.(Catoosa County Docors and other in the Civil War) 975.83 M2cL ; Film 1421647
  • Sons of Confederate Veterans. La Fayette McLaws Camp, no. 596, (Savannah, Georgia). 1990. Applications for membership in LaFayette McLaws Camp, Sons of Confederate Veterans. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 1642794 item1
  • Sons of Confederate Veterans. Francis Bartow Camp, No. 93 (Savannah, Georgia). 1990. Index to applications for membership to Francis S. Bartow Camp Chapter, Sons of Confederate Veterans. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. 4 Film see Catalog
  • Georgia. 1959. Confederate widows and orphans' records [Chatham County, Georgia]. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 183844
  • Roster of Civil War and Spanish-American War veterans of Chatham County, Georgia. 1959. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 206327
  • Georgia. 1959. Confederate soldiers pension roll, 1890-1925. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 206327
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Catoosa County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Catoosa County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Catoosa County Historical Society
P.O. Box 113
Ringgold, Georgia, 30736

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Catoosa County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 18-19. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.