To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Caswell County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Caswell County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Yanceyville
Organized: April 8, 1777
Parent County(s): Orange[1]
Neighboring Counties
Alamance  • Orange  • Person  • Pittsylvania (VA)  • Rockingham
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaCaswellCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-caswell.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Caswell County is located in the north-central portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Virginia. It was named for Richard Caswell, the first Governor of North Carolina.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Caswell County Courthouse
139 East Church Street
Yanceyville, NC 27379
Phone: 336-694-4197
Caswell County Website

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records.[3]

Caswell County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1775 1913 1767 1777 1771 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Some records may have been destroyed during occupation by militia troops during reconstruction.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1777 Caswell was created 8 April 1777 from Orange County. Originally, the county seat was at Leasburg. When Person County was created from the eastern half of Caswell County in 1792, the county seat was moved to what today is Yanceyville.
  • County seat: Yanceyville[5]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Caswell County, North Carolina:

Caswell County comprises nine townships: Anderson, Dan River, Hightowers, Leasburg, Locust Hill, Milton, Pelham, Stoney Creek, and Yanceyville. Major communties are: Leasburg, Milton, and Yanceyville (with Milton and Yanceyville being the only incorporated towns in the county).

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Caswell County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Churches of Caswell County (Rootsweb)
  • Yancy Jr, Barlett. The County of Caswell in 1810 Publ. 1811.
  • Scott, Jean B. In the Beginning the Churches of Caswell County. Not avail at FHL. North Carolina State Library General Collection Call Number: 280.409756 In16. See also World Cat.
  • The North Carolina State Library has vertical file material entitled "Caswell County, N.C. churches".

Baptist

  • Blaylock, J. Burch. History of the Primitive Baptist Church of Historic Caswell County, N.C.
  • Hogan's River. Constituted 1793.[6]
  • Island Ford on Dan River. Constituted 1790.[6]
  • Lick Fork on Hogan's River. Constituted 1792.[6]
  • North Country line. Constituted 1772.[6]
    • [1869-1905, 1905-1917] Baylock, John Burch.Country Line Primitive Baptist Church records in Yanceyville Township, Caswell County, North Carolina. FHL Film 18,446 items 3-4. As of 1946, Minute Book One (to 1868) has not been located.[7]
    • Berry, W. J. Historical Sketch of Country LIne Baptist Church. Publ 1975. Not at FHL. CCHA has a copy---see also World Cat.
  • South Country Line or Waters of Haw River. Constituted 1783.[6] Members from towards Haw River asked to be an arm of Lynches Creek Primitive Baptist Church in 1804 and it was granted.[8]
  • Lynches Creek Church organized July 13, 1799.[9]
    • [1799-1856] Lynches Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Hightowers Township, Caswell County, North Carolina. FHL Film 18,446 item 5. List of African Americans at end.
  • Deep Creek Church. Constituted from Linches Creek Church in 1806.[10]
  • Bush Arbor Primative Baptist Church. ca 1806. From Country Line?
    • [1806-1841] Baylock, John Burch. Bush Arbor Primitive Baptist Church records in Anderson Township, Caswell County, North Carolina. See FamilySearch Catalog. Contains lists of African Americans.
  • Mills Primitive Baptist Church (later Shiloh created). Est 1820. Church on land lying on the waters of Country Line Creek.[11]
  • Beulah Baptist Church org 1834
  • Yanceyville Baptist (Regular) Church. Contstituted 1837 from Country Line Primative Baptist Church. Renamed First Baptist Church of Yanceyville in 1954.[12]
  • Trinity Baptist Church (Old). From Yanceyville Baptist Church in 1840.
  • Milton Baptist Church. Constituted 1844 from Yanceyville Baptist Church. Early minutes lost.[13]
  • Prospect Hill Primitive
    • [1864-1894, 1894-1908, 1908-1945] Baylock, John Burch. Prospect Hill Primitive Baptist Church records, Hightowers Township, Caswell County, North Carolina. See FHL catalog.

Church of Christ

  • Moon Creek Church. Est 1830 in Providence.

Methodist

  • Methodism in Microcosm: Methodist History in Caswell County, North Carolina, 1780-1905
  • New Hope United Methodist Church. Est 1779 (at that time part of Orange county) from the efforts of Francis Asbury (a missionary sent by John Wesley to America) and John B Davis; and located abt 6 mi north of Yanceyville.[14]
  • Harrison's Meeting House, later Purley United Methodist Church. Ca 1781. Orig between "mouth of Rattlesnake Creek and and the mouth of Moon's Creek". Mentioned in Asbury's journal.[15] In the early days part of Caswell Twp; but now Dan River Twp.
  • Camp Springs United Methodist Episcopal. Organized in the 1800s. Located 12 miles east of Reidsville in Caswell County.[16]
  • Bethel United Methodist Church. In Pelham Twp. Started out ca 1812 as a Union Church attended mostly by Primitive Baptists. Located at Blackwell on land donated by Dr. Dabney. [17]
  • Leasburg Methodist Church, also known as Bethany and Old Camp Ground.
  • Connally United Methodist Church. Org by 1815. Near Milton on Virginia/North Carolina border.[18]
  • Union United Methodist Church. Est 1820 on land donated by William Richmond, Sr.[19]
  • Yanceyville United Methodist Church. Est 1841.

Presbyterian
Hanover Presbytery in 1700s had jurisdiction over Upper Hyco, Dan River and Country Line Creek[20]

  • Orange Presbytery minutes
  • Bethesda (formerly Hart's Chapel, Cobb's Chapel and believed to also been known as Hogan's Creek). Located just off Highway 156 . Established about 1765.
    • "No surviving session minutes from Hart's Chapel, but the earliest minutes of Bethesda are dated October 16, 1819."[21]
    • Bethesda Presbyterian Church. Rootweb CCHA.
    • Jacob Doll Diaries, 1848-1876. Southern Historical Commission. Incl marr, deaths (incl Civil War), sermons.[22]
    • Lytch, W. E. History of Bethesda Presbyterian Church, 1765-1965, Caswell County, N.C. Yanceyville, N.C. Caswell Messenger, 1965. North Carolina State Library General Collection Call Number: 285.1756575 L996h.
  • Griers (formerly Upper Hyco). Organized in 1753 [23] by Rev. Hugh McAden and emigrants from Pennsylvania tht had settled on the Hyco. Rev McAden also organized Middle Hyco (now Red House Presbyterian) and Lower Hyco (also called Barnett or Criswell).[24]
  • Red House Presbyterian (Middle Hyco). Founded mid-1700s.[25] Originally in Richmond Twp but close to St. Lawrence Twp. Beginning in 1792 the St. Lawrence Twp area became part of Person county. And the Red House Church eventually came under Milton Twp when it was formed from Richmond Twp.
  • Milton Presbyterian Church. Established 1826. First minister was Rev. James W. Douglas. Photo of inside of church.
  • Yanceyville Presbyterian Church. Org 1838.
    • John Grasty, Minister of Presbyterian Church in Yanceyville in the late 1840-1850s left a diary.

Latter-day Saints
Missionaries arrived in the Anderson community (southeastern) edge of Caswell County in 1905.[27]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Pre-1868 County courts, sometimes called the County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions, handled both civil and criminal cases. Minutes contain such matters as estate, land, illegitimacy, apprenticeships, bonds, certificates granting freedom to slaves, and more.

Superior Courts of Law were established in each county in 1806. Though the superior courts acted concurrently with the Court of Common Pleas, they handled more serious or complex civil and criminal cases. In 1868, the Superior Courts of Law merged with the Superior Court of Equity.

Superior Courts of Equity were also created in 1806. Their purpose was to deal with fairness issues. Most cases related to probate and land matters, and records generally listed heirs. In 1868, they merged with the Superior Court of Law.

  • Civil Action Court Papers, 1712-1970. Browsable images for Caswell provided by FamilySearch. Kendall's Historical Abstract of the Minutes of Caswell County, North Carolina 1777-1877 can be used as a partial and informal index.
  • Kendall, Katherine Kerr. Historical Abstracts of Minutes of Caswell County, North Carolina 1777-1877. Abstracts of minutes of the North Carolina Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions for Caswell County, 1777-1868, and of the Caswell County Board of Commissioners, 1868-1877. North Carolina State LIbrary Genealogy 929.3 N8cas K33c. Also FHL US/CAN Book 975.6575 N2k.
  • Caswell county, North Carolina, Equity Court Clerk. Minutes of Equity Court, 1807-1868. Raleigh, North Carolina North Carolina Department of Archives and History, 1963-1964. FHL US/CAN Film 358,290.
  • Minutes Superior Court, 1807-1931
  • Minutes County Court, 1777-1868
  • Hillsborough District, North Carolina Superior Court minutes, 1768-1798

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Chandler] Miller, Ilene Chandler. Our Joseph Chandler of Caswell County North Carolina. Garden Grove, Calif.: I.C. Miller, 1988. Digital version of Vol. 2 at FamilySearch Books Online
  • [Chandler] Miller, Ilene Chandler. Our Joseph Chandler of Caswell County, North Carolina: Descendants of His Son, James Chandler, 1761-1809. Garden Grove, Calif.: I.C. Miller, 1992. FHL Book 929.273 C361mi.
  • [Donalson] Edwards, Christine Williams and Larry Kittrel Wilson. The Donalson Family of Caswell County, North Carolina and Wilson County, Tennessee. Microfilmed 1972: FHL Film 897212 Item 3.
  • [Glenn] Glenn, Wayne. The Glenn Family of Lancaster County, Pa., Orange County, N.C., Caswell County, N.C., Lincoln County, N.C., White County, Tenn., Marshall County, Tenn., and Christian County, Mo.: Related Families Include Ramsay, Simpson, Reynolds, Wilson, Simmons, Clark, Grigg, Phillips, Beard, Collins. Nixa, Mo.: W. Glenn, 1985. FHL Book 929.273 G487gw.
  • [Halcomb] Giulvezan, Isabel Stebbins. Notes on Hiram H. Halcomb, 1789-1869 of Caswell County, North Carolina, Robertson County, Tennessee, Logan and Simpson counties, Kentucky, and His 16 Children. 1961. FHL Fiche 6018572.
  • [Harrison] Blaylock, J.B. and Eliza Harrison Duckett. Chart of Descendants of Andrew and Eleanor Harrison, Registrar of Deeds, Caswell Co., North Carolina. Microfilmed 1975: FHL Film 908984 Item 5.
  • [Hodge] Hodge, Jeannine Goble. John Hodge and His Descendants of Caswell County, North Carolina. 1999. FHL Book 929.273 H662hj.
  • [Hooper] Johnston, F. Claiborne. The Hoopers of Caswell and Durham County, North Carolina and Allied Families, with Their Virginia Origins: Walker, Henderson, Kimbrough, Kimbro, Jones, Foster, Horton, Wilson, Willson, Strong, Salling and Carter. Richmond, Va.: F.C. Johnston, 2002. FHL Book 929.273 H766j.
  • [Humphrey] Humphrey, Leonard. Humphreys of Prince George, Maryland, Caswell-Rockingham Counties, N.C., Henry County, Tennessee, Greene-Putnam-Sullivan Counties, IND, ... n.d. FHL Book 929.273 H884hL.
  • [Lea] Maloney, Francis Andrew. The Ancestry and Descendants of Jeremiah Alexander Lea and Mary Elizabeth Lindsey of Caswell County, North Carolina. Microfilmed 1973: FHL Film 908648 Item 3.
  • [Lindsey] Maloney, Francis Andrew. The Ancestry and Descendants of Jeremiah Alexander Lea and Mary Elizabeth Lindsey of Caswell County, North Carolina. Microfilmed 1973: FHL Film 908648 Item 3.
  • [McNeil] Rose, Ben L. Thomas McNeil of Caswell County, North Carolina, His Forebears & Descendants. Richmond, Va.: B.L. Rose, 1984. FHL Book 929.273 M233r. 1997 edition: FHL Book 929.273 M233rb.
  • [Moore] Olsen, Nola Rosenbaum. Moore Family Abstracts, Caswell County, North Carolina, Early to 1800. Camarillo, Calif., 1972. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Film 982391 Item 13.
  • [Rice] Mosher, Merrill Hill. Rice Pudding a la Caswell: Research Notes on Rice, Richmond and Allied Families of Caswell Co., N.C. Coos Bay, Ore.: M.H. Mosher, 1978. FHL Book 929.273 R36m.
  • [Stewart] Stone, Martha Jane. The Genealogy and History of the Stewart Family of Halifax County, Virginia, Caswell and Person Counties, North Carolina, Trigg County, Kentucky. 2 vols. Lexington, Ky.: M.J. Stone, 1986-1987. Digital versions at FamilySearch Books Online: Vol. 1 | Vol. 2 - both free.
  • [Taylor] Kilduff, Lydia Taylor and Taylor, Fern W., compilers. Taylor Information Abstracted. Arkansas DAR, 2003. North Carolina State Library Genealogy Call Number: 929.2 T238K.
  • [Walker] Butler, Florence Roberta Walker. The Thomas Jackson Walker, Sr., Family of Caswell County, North Carolina. Rockingham, N.C.: Dorsett Print. Co., 1991. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online; FHL Fiche 6117499.
  • [Williamson] Dixon, Elizabeth Williamson. The Williamson Family of Isle of Wight County, Virginia, Southampton County, Virginia, Northampton County, North Carolina, Caswell County, North Carolina. 1958. FHL Film 879648 Item 3.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • [1777-1817] Kendall, Katharine Kerr. Caswell County North Carolina Deed Books v. 1 1777-1817. (Easley, South Carolina: Historical Press, c 1989). FHL US/CAN Book 975.6575 R28k v. 1.
  • [1817-1840] Kendall, Katharine Kerr. Caswell County North Carolina Deed Books v. 2 1817-1840. (Easley, South Carolina: Historical Press, c 1989). FHL US/CAN Book 975.6575 R28k v. 2.
  • Pruitt, A. B. Abstracts of land entries, Caswell County, North Carolina, 1778-1795, 1841-1863; Person County, North Carolina, 1792-1795. Rocky Mount, North Carolina A.B. Pruitt, c1990. FHL US/CAN Book 975.657 R28p. Also at North Carolina State Library.
  • North Carolina State Library microfilm Caswell Co., 1-345 -- S.108.590. Caswell Co., 346-670 -- S.108.591. Caswell Co., 671-978 -- S.108.592. Caswell Co., 979-1267 -- S.108.593. Caswell Co., 1268-1300, 01-026 -- S.108.594. Contains surveys and warrants.
  • An Index to the Caswell County, North Carolina Land Grants is found in Katharine Kerr Kendall's book Caswell County North Carolina Land Grants, Tax Lists, State Census, Apprentice Bonds, Estate Records. See World Cat or Google Books or FHL US/CAN Book 975.6 A1 no. 125.

To effectively use grants in your research you will need to understand the North Carolina land grant procedure.

The Caswell County Historical Association's Dower Rights blog article will help you determine whether a wife should be releasing her dower in a given deed.

Use Topo Maps in Caswell County to locate land and area features. (Topozone)

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Bibliography
An Inventory of Historic Architecture: Caswell County, North Carolina, Ruth Little-Stokes and Tony P. Wrenn (1979).
Caswell County in the World War, 1917-1918: Service Records of Caswell County Men, George A. Anderson (1921).
From Rabbit Shuffle to Collins Hill: Stories of Southern Caswell County, North Carolina, Millard Quentin Plumblee (1984).
In the Beginning . . . The Churches of Caswell County, Jean B. Scott, Compiler (2000)'
Service Record Book of Men and Women of Yanceyville, N.C., and Community, Sponsored by the V.F.W. Post No. 7316 (1947-1949).
The Heritage of Caswell County, North Carolina, Jeannine D. Whitlow, Editor (1985).
When the Past Refused to Die: A History of Caswell County North Carolina 1777-1977, William S. Powell (1977).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Caswell County

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

  • Cameron Family Papers, 1757-1978. Southern Historical Commission. "Troop returns sent to Duncan Cameron when he was a colonel in the North Carolina Militia in 1812, and after his subsequent promotion to major general in 1813." 6th and 16th brigade which made up the 3rd division of the North Carolina Militia. Incl Caswell County.[28]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Caswell County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Caswell County:

- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company A
- 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company C
- 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company D
- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company G
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company G
- 41st Regiment Volunteers - 3rd Cavalry, Company C
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company B
:- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
- 6th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company H
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Alfred A Mitchell's Company
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain George F Fisher's Company

World War I (1914-1918)

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • 1819 Milton Intelligencer. Scattered issues. North Carolina State Library.
  • 1824, 1827, 1828, 1830,1831 Milton gazette & Roanoke Advertiser. Selected issues. North Carolina State Library.
  • 1840-1868- Broughton, Carrie. "Marriages of Caswell County Reported in Raleigh NC Newspapers 1840-1868".[29]
  • 1841-1881 The Milton Chronicle. Scattered issues. Available at North Carolina State Library.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1777 Tax Lists, Caswell County, 1777 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry $
  • 1777 Tax Lists, Caswell County, 1777 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
  • 1777 Tax Lists, Caswell County, 1777 (images) online at FamilySearch
  • 1777 1777 Tax List (transcript, pp. 25-35) online at FamilySearch
  • 1777, 1780, 1784 - Tax Lists, 1777, 1780 and 1784 (images) online at FamilySearch
  • 1777-1867 List of Taxables (Caswell County, North Carolina), 1777-1867 (images) online at FamilySearch.
  • 1780 Tax Lists, Caswell County, 1780 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
  • 1784 Tax Lists, Caswell County, 1784 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry $
  • 1784 Tax Lists, Caswell County, 1784 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
  • 1800 Alphabetical lists extant for Glouster, Richmond and St. David districts. Non-alphabetical list for Caswell extant.
  • 1802 Alphabetical lists exist for Richmond and Glouster. No list for St. Davids. Possible list for St. David (date ca 1802).
  • 1803 One to three copies copies for each of the four districts Caswell, Glouster, Richmond and St. David) exist. Some lists non-alphabetical.
  • 1803 1803 Tax List (transcript, pp. 41-47) online at FamilySearch
  • 1804 Two copies for each of the four districts (Caswell, Glouster, Richmond and St. David) exist. Both copies arranged alphabetical.
  • 1805 No lists extant for any district.
  • 1806 Alphabetical lists for Caswell, Glouster. Glouster list microfilm difficult to read--imperative you put film on scanner and enhance patches of names or you will miss most of the names. Non alphabetical list for Richmond Dist taken by Andrew Harrison Jr. There is also one other list (alphabetical) appears to be labeled Caswell Dist, but names are clearly Richmond District folks.
  • 1807 No lists extant for any district.
  • 1808 Alphabetical list for St. David's and Caswell districts. Sheets not arranged alphabetically though. Also a non-alphabetical summons list in the middle of St. Davids list.
  • 1809 Alphabetical list for Richmond District and a very poor quality St David's list.
  • 1839 Tax Lists, Caswell County, 1839 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
  • 1842 Insolvents for all four tax districts are listed on page 11 in Kendall's Caswell County North Carolina Will Books 1843-1868. Guardians' accounts 1848-1868. FHL US/CAN Book 975.65575 P28k v. 5. (Will Book P, page 222)
  • 1843 Insolvents for all four tax districts are listed on page 11 in Kendall's Caswell County North Carolina Will Books 1843-1868. Guardians' accounts 1848-1868. FHL US/CAN Book 975.65575 P28k v. 5. (Will Book P, page 223)
  • ca 1845 List of business taxes collected. Will Book P, page 224.[30]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Caswell County Historical Assoc., Inc.
    PO Box 278
    Yanceyville, NC 27379
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Caswell
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caswell County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:562, 566. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  7. John Burch Baylock, Country Line Primitive Baptist Church records in Yanceyville Township, Caswell County, North Carolina.
  8. Lynches Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Hightowers Township, Caswell County, North Carolina. Page 43. FHL Film 18,446 item 5.
  9. Lynches Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Hightowers Township, Caswell County, North Carolina. Page 1. FHL Film 18,446 item 5.
  10. Lynches Creek Primitive Baptist Church, Hightowers Township, Caswell County, North Carolina. Page 43. FHL Film 18,446 item 5
  11. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell County. Page 104.
  12. ]["First Baptist Church of Yanceyville"] Caswell County Historical Associateion, Sep. 16, 2010 blog.
  13. ["Milton Baptist Church (Milton, North Carolina)"] Caswell Historical Association, Aug. 21, 2012 blog.
  14. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell County. Page 65.
  15. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell. Page 82.
  16. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell County. Page 17.
  17. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell County.Page 8.
  18. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell County. Page 23.
  19. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell County. Page 11.
  20. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell County." Page 32.
  21. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell. Page 11.
  22. Southernhistoricalcollection.pdf.Page 4. Online. Caswell County Historical Association <http://www.ncccha.org/pdf/>
  23. "Griers Presbyterian Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  24. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell County. Page 32.
  25. "Red House Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
  26. James M. Long, "Ceremony Commemorating Listing of National Register for Red House Presbyterian Church". PDF file entitled redhousechurch.pdf.
  27. In the Beginning...The Churches of Caswell County. Page 107.
  28. Southernhistoricalcolleciton.pdf. Online. Caswell County Historical Association 29 Oct 2008 compilation of Southern Historical Collection catalog entries pertaining to Caswell County.
  29. Kendall, Katherine Kerr. Caswell County, North Carolina Will Books 1843-1868. Guardians' Accounts 1848-1868. Page 177. FHL US/CAN Book 975.6575 P28k v 5
  30. Katherine Kerr Kendall, Caswell County North Carolina Will Books 1843-1868. Guardians' accounts 1848-1868. FHL US/CAN Book 975.65575 P28k v. 5
  31. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.