Caston, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Caston, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy': parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Wayland|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
CASTON (Holy Cross), a parish, in the union and hundred of Wayland, W. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (S. E.) from Watton. 
Caston Holy Cross is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norfolk.
Caston was the residence of Edward Gilman, a prosperous yeoman of Welsh descent, who died in 1573. Gilman's son Robert, born in 1559, later removed to Hingham, Norfolk, about five miles distant. HIs son Edward Gilman subsequently became caught up in the Puritan movement that swept parts of Norfolk, and moved to Hingham, Massachusetts, arriving in the Massachusetts Bay Colony on August 10, 1638. Puritanism was found elsewhere: Edward Gilman's sister Bridget, married to Edward Lincoln, had a son Thomas Lincoln, who himself left Norfolk for Massachusetts in 1633 accompanied by Mary Gilman Jacob, another of Edward Gilman's sisters. Thomas Lincoln's brother Samuel followed him to Massachusetts in 1637, settling in Hingham alongside his brother. Samuel Lincoln became the great-great-great-great-grandfather of U.S. President Abraham Lincoln.
The Gilman family subsequently moved to Exeter, New Hampshire, where they became noted businessmen, statesmen and American patriots.
The family branch which remained in England subsequently produced two mayors of Norwich: Charles Suckling Gilman and his son, Sir Charles Rackham Gilman, who were both instrumental in the development of the insurance industry of Norwich and became philanthropists. Charles Rackham Gilman served as the first Chairman of Conservators of Mousehold Heath, which was donated to the City Council during Gilman's period of office as mayor. Gilman Road in Norwich is named for the family. Also descended from the Caston Gilmans was the prominent Norfolk barrister Samuel Heyhoe Le Neve Gilman, who resided at Hingham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Wayland 1837-1974
Caston, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Caston, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
Browse Bishop's Transcript Images on FamilySearch
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 158/ 1-8
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
| Baptisms 1602-1608, 1623-1630, 1665-1812 Marriages 1602-1607, 1623-1630, 1666-1812 Burials 1602-1609, 1623-1630, 1665-1812
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
1526739 Item 1
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals
Wyer, Pat. Weavers and Windmills. Family tree of Thomas Wyer asnd Margaret nee Reve, his brother Edward and wife Joan nee Fitt, and brother William Wyer. Article dates from 1575-1917, and surnames of Fitt, Smith, Hardy, Sysely. They appear to be in Norwich, Fakenham, Carbrooke, and Caston. Article in The Norfolk Ancestor, old series, vol.3,pt3. page 30-33, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j vol.3
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Norfolk: Caston on GenUKI
- Parish Info
- for historical description
- links to census returns for the parish
- Caston online
- for history of the Methodist chapel (illustrated)
- for photos of the church
- Windmill Info
- for information and photos of the misericords in All Saints
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 531-534. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
- Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Church of England Bishops' Transcripts Parish Search/Caston', FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 11 April 2016.