Castlethorpe, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Buckinghamshire
Buckinghamshire Parishes
Castlethorpe


Guide to Castlethorpe, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Castlethorpe, Buckinghamshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newport
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Newport Pagnell
Registration District Newport Pagnell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562; For more records see Hanslope
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newport
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

CASTLE-THORPE (St. Simon and St. Jude), a parish, in the union of Newport-Pagnell, hundred of Newport, county of Buckingham, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Stony-Stratford.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Castlethorpe, Buckinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[2]
Castlethorpe, Buckinghamshire Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
JOIN

1754-1837


Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Castlethorpe on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) pp. 526-531. Date Accessed and adapted 28 May 2013.
  2. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 January 2014.