Cass County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cass County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Missouri
Cass County

Guide to Cass County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Harrisonville
Organized: March 3, 1835
Parent County(s): Jackson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bates  • Henry  • Jackson  • Johnson  • Johnson (KS)  • Miami (KS)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriCassCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Cass County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Cass County Courthouse
102 E Wall Street
Harrisonville, Mo 64701
Phone: 816-380-8102
Cass County Website

County Clerk has birth records 1861-1896 and court records from 1843.
Recorder of Deeds has marriage, divorce and land records.
Associate Division has probate records.[2]

Cass County, Missouri Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1836 1837 1835 1830

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1835 Cass County was created 3 March 1835 from Jackson County.
  • County seat: Harrisonville[4]It was originally named Van Buren County. Its name was changed to Cass County in 1848.

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Cass County, Missouri:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Cass County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Cass County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cass County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History and directory of Cass County, Missouri. By A.L. Weber. 1908. Available online at Google Books.
  • Kansas City, Missouri : its history and its people, 1808-1908. Available online at Ancestry ($)
  • A Civic History of Kansas City, Missouri. Available online at Ancestry ($)
  • The History of Cass and Bates counties, Missouri : containing a history of these counties, their cities, towns; biographical sketches of their citizens, general and local statistics, history of Missouri. St. Joseph, Mo. : National Historical Co., 1883. Available online at FamilySearch
  • History and directory of Cass County, Missouri. By Elizabeth Prather Ellsberry. Harrisonville, Mo. : Cass County Leader, 1908. Available online at Family Search
  • History of Cass County, Missouri. By Allen Glenn. Topeka, Kansas : Historical Pub. Co., 1917. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers

{{{county}}}

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Cass County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cass County, Missouri:

- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 1st Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company E
- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company A
- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company C
- 2nd Battery, Missouri State Militia Artillery (Union), Company D
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry State Guard (8th Division) - Confederate, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry State Guard (8th Division) - Confederate, Company B
- 11th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry State Guard (8th Division) - Confederate, Company C
- 1st Battery, Missouri Light Artillery - Confederate, Also known as Henry Guibor's Light artillery Battery
- 14th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cass County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

  • Cass County Family History Guild
    Pearson Hall
    400 E. Mechanic Street
    Harrisonville, MO 64701
    Phone: 816-773-8464
    Website

Societies

  • Cass County Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 406
    400 E. Mechanic Street
    Harrisonville, MO 64701
    Phone: 816-380-4396
    Website
  • Cass County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 406
    400 E Mechanic Street
    Harrisonville, MO 64701-0406
    Phone: 816-887-2393
    Facebook

Websites

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.