Cascade County, Montana Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cascade County, Montana)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Montana
Cascade County

Guide to Cascade County, Montana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

County Facts
County seat: Great Falls
Organized: September 12, 1887
Parent County(s): Chouteau, Meagher, and Lewis and Clark [1]
Neighboring Counties
Chouteau  • Judith Basin  • Lewis and Clark  • Meagher  • Teton
See County Maps
Courthouse
Cascade.jpg
Location Map
Map of Montana highlighting Cascade County.svg.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

Cascade County's Seat is Great Falls. The year it was organized was 1887. [2] It is located in the west central area of the state. The county was named for the falls on the Missouri River.[3]

County Courthouse

Cascade County Courthouse
425 2nd Ave N
Great Falls, MT 59401
Phone: 406–454–6800
Cascade County Website

Cascade County, Montana Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1897* 1888* 1897* 1887 1897 1887 1860
*State birth and death records began in 1907.
Compliance for recording births was 1922 and 1915 for deaths.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes


Populated Places

The following are locations in the county from Wikipedia: [7]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places

Some small towns have vanished. Montana is a newer State so land offices have a record of the populated or once populated towns. Many people homesteaded farms and did not live in towns records. Homestead records are part of the BLM or Bureau of Land Management and may not listed by county but by plot numbers. The County courthouse land records have several types of records, one type is plot.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Cascade County, Montana online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Montana Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 8,755
1900 25,777 194.4%
1910 28,833 11.9%
1920 38,836 34.7%
1930 41,146 5.9%
1940 41,199 0.1%
1950 53,027 28.7%
1960 73,418 38.5%
1970 81,804 11.4%
1980 80,696 −1.4%
1990 77,691 −3.7%
2000 80,357 3.4%
2010 81,327 1.2%
Source: [1]

Before Montana was a state in 1889, the western portion of Montana was included in the 1860 Washington Territory and the eastern was in the unorganized parts of 1860 Nebraska Territory. The 1870 and 1880 Federal Censuses included Montana Territory. No state censuses have been taken.[8] See links listed below.

Territory and State Censuses

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Montana starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Montana Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Montana denominations, view the Montana Church Records wiki page.

Online Church Records
Lutheran Church

Presbyterian Church

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Montana Land and Property for additional information about early Montana land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cascade County, Montana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Montana Local Histories.

On September 12, 1887, "An Act Creating Cascade County, its Boundaries, provisions for its organization and the officers to fill the various positions until the first election," was passed by the Territorial Legislative Assembly. Cascade County had been formed from parts of Meagher, Choteau and Lewis and Clarke* Counties. Great Falls was designated as the County Seat until otherwise determined by law.

Many communities have published histories of the area. Example: Great Falls Memories, A Photo album - 1884 to 1939. A compilation of photo histories of the city, transportation, people, commerce, industry, education, community, disasters, recreation and celebrations, business profiles. This a typical type of project that cities and communities undertake to commemorate the subject.

Most Cascade County local histories have been indexed by the Great Falls Genealogy Society and are available to the the public on their web site: Great Falls Genealogical Society

  • Mountains and Meadows: A Pioneer History of Cascade, Chestnut Valley, Hardy, St. Peter's Mission and Castner Falls 1805 to 1925. c190-?. By Mrs. Clarence J Conrad Rowe. Great Falls, Montana : Blue Print & Letter Co. At various libraries(WorldCat).

Maps and Gazetteers

Teton CountyCascade CountyLewis and Clark CountyChouteau CountyJudith Basin CountyMeagher CountyMT Cascade.png
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Montana. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Montana Military Records.
Civil War

World War I

World War II

For further information see Montana Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Records

Naturalization records are located at the History Museum. The complete index to the records is located at the Great Falls Genealogy Society Library.

Newspapers

For more information, see Montana Newspapers.


Montana Newspapers Online

Montana Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

See also United States Obituaries for more about finding United States obituaries.

Other Records

Voter Records


Public Records

County Clerk has birth, death and land records from 1917.
Clerk of the Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records.[9]

Cascade County Courthouse is located at 425 Second Ave North, old stone structure. The Clerk and Recorder office is located on the main floor in the east end of building. Local US Census film readers are available. The deeds and land records office is also on the main floor.


Pension Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Montana, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Montana, Cascade - Probate records.

School Records

Tax Records

Montana tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most birth and death original records can be purchased from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. For information about marriages, divorces, and requirements for obtaining any vital records, see the CDC Where to Write website.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Family History Center is located 1401 Ninth Ave Northwest. The FHC is in the LDS Stake Center in an area on the West of the Missouri River and North of Central Ave West. The church building is blocks away from the CMR High School but may not be on any public transportation route. Call to make sure they are open, the phone number can be found on www.familysearch.org All FHC records vary from Library to Library and each Library has a different selection of books. No fee to use FHC for research.

Libraries

The Great Falls Public Library is located at 301 Second Ave North on a one way street going west. This the main Cascade County Library. Historical books and records are located in the Montana Room. City directories, county histories, school annuals, and historic book collections are of local interest. The Montana Room is only open to the public Monday thru Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

The Great Falls Genealogy Society Library is located at 301 Second Avenue North, on the third floor of the Public Library. The library is open to the public, Monday thru Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Over 10,000 resources are available covering local, national and international locations and volunteers are on hand to assist patrons with their family research. The Society holds monthly meetings featuring programs related to family research and conducts workshops and classes on a regular basis, also open to the public. Website: Great Falls Genealogy Society

Museums

Cascade County Historical Society Museum and Archive is located at 422 Second Street South, Great Falls, Montana
Relocated in the early 2000's to a larger restored warehouse. They have a large archives to research and holdings of artifacts. There is a fee. No website as of 2009. They stock community history books and local biographies to view and for purchase.

Societies

Gallatin Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 1783
Bozeman 59771-1783

Great Falls Genealogical Society
1400 1st Ave. N.
Great Falls 59401

Cascade County Historical Society
1400 1st Ave N
Great Falls 59401-3205

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/mon/cascade/ 11/15/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cascade_County,_Montana accessed 11/15/2016
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cascade County, Montana. Page 415 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 106.
  5. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 439.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Cascade County, Montana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cascade_County,_Montana, accessed 5 December 2016.
  8. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 409. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 415.