Carson City (Independent City), Nevada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Carson City, Nevada)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nevada
Carson City (Independent City)


Guide to Carson City (Independent City), Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Independent City Information

Description

Independent City Courthouse

Carson City Courthouse
885 E. Musser Street, Suite 1025
Carson City, Nevada
Phone: 775-887-2084
Carson City Recorder's Website

Carson City (Independent City), Nevada Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887*
1887*
1887*
1864
1855
1864
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

Boundary Changes

Populated Places


{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Carson City (Independent City)
Organized: November 25, 1861
Parent County(s): Ormsby [1]
Neighboring Counties
Douglas  • Lyon  • Storey  • Washoe  • El Dorado (CA)  • Placer (CA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NevadaCarsonCityCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nv-carson-city.png
Adoption


History Timeline

Additional Information

  • Independent City

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Carson City (Independent City), Nevada online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nevada Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories. [2] A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875. [3] See links listed below.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 714
1860 714 0.0%
1870 3,042 326.1%
1880 4,229 39.0%
1890 3,950 −6.6%
1900 2,100 −46.8%
1910 2,466 17.4%
1920 1,685 −31.7%
1930 1,596 −5.3%
1940 2,478 55.3%
1950 3,082 24.4%
1960 5,163 67.5%
1970 15,468 199.6%
1980 32,022 107.0%
1990 40,443 26.3%
2000 52,547 29.9%
2010 55,274 5.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Court Records

Directories

Online Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

  • Scotland Forever
    2533 N. Carson St., Ste 848
    Carson City, Nevada 89706

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Carson City (Independent City) – LAND AND PROPERTY

Online Land Records


For more information see Nevada Land and Property

Local Histories

County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.

Maps and Gazetteers


Nvcarsoncity.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Carson City (Independent City), Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:

Military Records

Online Collections

These collections are unique to Nevada. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and Nevada Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korea War

Vietnam War

Other Conflicts

For further information see Nevada Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Online Naturalization Records

Newspapers

For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.


  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno newspapers going back to 1870. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Nevada Newspapers Online

Nevada Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

Obituaries

Other Records

Orphan's Home Records

Public Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

School Records

Tax Records

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers

Libraries

Carson City Library
900 N Roop St
Carson City, NV 89701
775-887-2244

Museums

Societies

Carson City Historical Society
1207 N Carson St
Carson City, NV 89701
Telephone: 775-887-2174

Carson City Genealogical Society
1509 Sharon Dr.
Carson City, NV 89701

Scotland Forever
2533 N. Carson St., Ste 848
Carson City, Nevada 89706

Tri-State Genealogical Society
ARIZONA, CALIFORNIA, NEVADA
PO Box 21902
Bullhead City, AZ 86439
Website

Nevada State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
Website

Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
PO Box 1929
Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
Website

Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
Telephone: 775-688-1 190
Fax: 775-688-2917
Website


Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness (RAOGK) Nevada Genealogy Network

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
  3. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
  4. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).