Carroll County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Carroll County, Mississippi)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Carroll County

Guide to Carroll County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Carrollton, Vaiden
Organized: 23 December 1833
Parent County(s): Choctaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Attala  • Grenada  • Holmes  • Leflore  • Montgomery
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiCarrollCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Carroll County.svg.png
Adoption
Charles Carroll
Carroll Courthouse (Second District)

County Information

Description

This county was named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, a signer of the Declaration of Independence. Carroll County has Carrollton (Northern District) and Vaiden (Southern District) as its seats. The County is located in the north center area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Carroll County Courthouse First District
Lexington Street
Carrollton, MS 38917
Phone: 662-237-9274

Carroll County Courthouse Second District
Durward Stanton
P.O. Box 60
Carrollton, MS 38917
Phone: 662-237-9274
Fax: 662-237-9642

Carroll County Website

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1870.[3]

Carroll County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1834 1834 1834 1840

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1833 Carroll County was created 23 December 1833 from the Choctaw Cession.
  • County seat: Carrollton, Vaiden[4]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Carroll County, Mississippi:

History Timeline

  • Carroll County, Mississippi, history and families Includes index. The county history information contained in the front of the book consists of very basic facts, along with church, school and community histories submitted by individuals. The main focus of our book is to present the family histories (approximately 850) all of which were also submitted by individuals.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Carroll County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Carroll County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Grace Church, Carrollton

  • 1861-1885 Grace Church, Carrollton, Baptism Index 1861-1885. Batch C714091 at FamilySearch

Methodist Episcopal
Methodist Episcopal Church, Carrollton

  • 1870-1885 Methodist Episcopal Church, Carrollton, Baptism Index 1870-1885. Batch C714081 at FamilySearch

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Carroll County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Grenada CountyMontgomery CountyAttala CountyHolmes CountyLeflore CountyMS CARROLL.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Carroll County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Carroll County:

- 1st Battalion, Mississippi Cavalry (Miller's)
Company C - Carroll Rangers
- 1st Battalion, Mississippi Sharpshooters
Company A - Coms Avengers
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
Company E - Carroll Light Artillery
Company L - Vaiden Artillery
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company A - Carroll Rangers
- 1st Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry Reserves
Company F - Shipp’s Company
Company G - Coyle’s Company
- 2nd Regiment, Mississippi Partisans (Also known as 2nd Partisan Rangers Cavalry/Ballentine’s)
Company A - Ford’s Company
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company C - Red Invincibles
Company E - Stephens Guards
Company H - Carroll County Rebels
- 5th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company A - Mississippi Rangers
Company B - Trotter’s Company
Company C - Curtis’ Company
Company D - Scales’ Company
- 11th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company K - Carroll County Rifles

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Carroll County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Carroll County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Carroll, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.