Carroll County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Carroll County, Maryland)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Carroll County

Guide to Carroll County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Westminster
Organized: January 19, 1837
Parent County(s): Baltimore and Frederick [1]
Variant Spellings: Carrol
Neighboring Counties
Baltimore  • Frederick  • Howard  • Adams (PA)  • York (PA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Carroll County Circuit Courthouse Westminster, Maryland.jpeg
Location Map
MD Carroll map.png
Adoption
Charles Carroll

County Information

Description

The County was named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton. The County has Westminster as its seat and the County was created January 19, 1837. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Carroll County Courthouse
225 North Center St.
Westminster, MD 21157
Phone: 410-876-2085
Carroll County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records 1837-1900 (not indexed) and from 1900 (indexed), divorce, court and land records from 1837.[3]

Carroll County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1837 1898 1837 1837 1837 1790
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1898. General compliance by the 1910s.

Record Loss

Most early papers of the county court have been lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1837--Carroll County was created 19 January 1837 from Baltimore and Frederick counties by taking the following hundreds from Baltimore County: North Hundred, Pipe Creek Hundred, Delaware Upper Hundred, Delaware Lower Hundred and from Frederick County: Pipe Creek Hundred, Westminster Hundred, Unity Hundred, Burnt House Hundred, Piney Creek Hundred, and Taneytown Hundred.
  • County seat: Westminster[5]

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Carroll County, Maryland:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Carroll County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Carroll County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 17,242
1850 20,617 19.6%
1860 24,533 19.0%
1870 28,619 16.7%
1880 30,992 8.3%
1890 32,376 4.5%
1900 33,860 4.6%
1910 33,934 0.2%
1920 34,245 0.9%
1930 35,978 5.1%
1940 39,054 8.5%
1950 44,907 15.0%
1960 52,785 17.5%
1970 69,006 30.7%
1980 96,356 39.6%
1990 123,372 28.0%
2000 150,897 22.3%
2010 167,134 10.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census reports available 1840-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

  • 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index
  • Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • [Winchester] Boddie, John Thomas and John Bennett Boddie. Boddie and Allied Families. Chicago: n.p., 1918. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Carroll County Deed Books (1837-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Mdcarroll.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Maryland, Carroll County on page 127.]

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Maryland, Carroll County, pp. 140-142. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Carroll served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Carroll:

- 1st Regiment, Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry, Companies D, E, F and G.
- 6th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Companies A and C.
- 7th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Companies D and F.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

  • 1793 "1793 Tax, Taylorsville Area," Western Maryland Genealogy, Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1989):172-174.
  • 1798 Horvath, George J. The Particular Assessment Lists for Baltimore and Carroll Counties - 1798. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1991.

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Carroll County Genealogical Society
    CCGS P.O. Box 1752
    Westminster, MD 21158
    Email: info@ccgsmd.org
    Website
  • Historical Society of Carroll County
    210 East Main Street
    Westminster, MD 21157
    Phone: 410-848-6494
    Email: Info@HSCCmd.org
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

  • Carroll County Genealogical Society. A Guide to Genealogical Research in Carroll County. Westminster, Md.: Carroll County Genealogical Society, 1991.
  • Souza, Eileen A. “Research in Carroll County.” Maryland Genealogical Society Journal 53, no. 2 (2012): 307-324.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Carroll," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll, Maryland page 317, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, Maryland. Page 317-318 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 308-309.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Carroll County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_Maryland, accessed 7 August 2018.