Carroll County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Carroll County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Carroll County, Georgia|
Location in the state of Georgia
|Founded||December 11, 1826|
|Address|| Carroll County Courthouse|
423 College Street
PO Box 338
Carrollton, GA 30117
Carroll County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Genealogy Resources
- 5.1 Research Guides
- 5.2 African Americans
- 5.3 Bible Records
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church Records
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Genealogy
- 5.9 Land and Property
- 5.10 Local Histories
- 5.11 Maps
- 5.12 Military
- 5.13 Naturalization
- 5.14 Newspapers
- 5.15 Occupations
- 5.16 Probate Records
- 5.17 Taxation
- 5.18 Vital Records
- 5.19 Voter Records
- 6 Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for the Charles Carroll of Carrollton people. The County has Carrollton as its seat and the County was created June 9, 1826. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.
Carroll County, Georgia Record Dates
Carroll County Courthouse
423 College Street
PO Box 338
Carrollton, GA 30117
Clerk superior Court has divorce records from 1900, land and court records from 1828; Probate Court has marriage and probate records from 1827; County Health Department has birth and death records.
Clerk of Superior Court
323 Newnan St.
P.O. BOX 1620
Carrollton, GA 30117
Telephone: (770) 830-5830
Fax: (770) 214-3584
Deputy Clerk, Probate Court
P.O. Box 1620
Carrollton, GA 30112
1826--Carroll County was created 11 December 1826 from Creek Indian Lands. County seat: Carrollton 
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1928. The courthouse at Carrollton burned early 4 February 1928. Very few records were lost thanks to a fire-proof vault.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
- Arlene Eakle, When the Records are Gone in the Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Michael John Neill, Burned Counties in Family History Circle.
Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.
- 1892-1895 - Carroll County Colored Marriage Book A Index 1892-1895. Batch M712364 at FamilySearch - free.
The following web site may have additional information on Carroll County cemeteries.
- Interment.net Georgia cemetery records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Index to Carroll County Deed Book A 1852-1896 Georgia Pioneers
Index to Carroll County Deed Book 1858-1863 Georgia Pioneers
Carroll County Superior Court Index to Deeds 1801-2012 Real Estate Index
Local histories are available for Carroll County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- Military - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
Regiments. Service men in Carroll County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Carroll County, Georgia Genealogy:
- 1st Regiment, Georgia Reserves (Fannin's) (Confederate), Companies A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, and K
- 7th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 19th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies F and I
- 34th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 37th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 41st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and H
- 56th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, C, H and I
- Military - Civil War- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Holcombe, G. M. 2000. Reminiscences of an Old Man: a collection of articles on Georgia, 40th Regiment Georgia Volunteers. Cullman, Alabama: Cullman County Public Library System Press. (last 5 Page, CoG, 40thReg.) 975.839 H2h
- Carroll County, Georgia. 1988. Carrollton, Georgia: Carroll County Genealogical Society (Georgia). (page 120) 975.839 H2cc
Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Carroll County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- FamilySearch Catalog. Do a Place search for Carroll County, Georgia Genealogy to find these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Place-name Search).
Online Probate Records
- 1742 – 1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1742 – 1990 Georgia Probate Records 1742-1990 at FamilySearch.org images
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- 1852-1894 - Index of Carroll Co., GA, Will Book A - 1852 - 1894 at GAGenWeb - free.
- 1852-1900 Carroll County Wills (digital images) Georgia Pioneers $
- 1854-1857 - Index to Inventories, Appraisements, Annual Returns 1854-1857 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1852-1896 - Index to Carroll County Will Book A 1852-1896 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1896-1922 - Index to Carroll County Will Book B 1896-1922 Georgia Pioneers $
- 1831-1885 - General Index to Carroll County Annual Returns and Vouchers 1831-1885 Georgia Pioneers $
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
- 1560 - 1993 - Georgia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1699 - 1944 - Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $
- 1754 - 1960 - Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785 - 1950 - Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1787 - 1962 - Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808 - 1967 - Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1828 - 1978 - Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1829 - 1860 - Carroll County Marriages Georgia Pioneers $
- 1885 - 1886 - Carroll County Marriages from newspapers Georgia Pioneers $
- 1827 - 1887 - Carroll County Marriage Books C and D Index 1827-1887. Batch M712361 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1877 - 1887 - Carroll County Marriage Books E and F Index 1877-1887. Batch M712362 at FamilySearch - free.</ref>
- 1887 - 1897 - Carroll County Marriage Book G Index 1887-1897. Batch M712363 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Carroll County, Georgia Genealogy Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
- 1914 - 1927 - Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1919 - 1998 - Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1928 - 1942 - Georgia Deaths 1928-1939 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1933 - 1998 - Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch.org — index
Vital Record Substitutes
- 1867-1868 - Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Carroll County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 576
Carrollton, Georgia, 30117
Carroll County Historical Society
P.O. Box 1308
Carrollton, Georgia, 30117
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Carroll County, GA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Georgia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb Carroll County, Georgia project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Carroll County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Carroll, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carroll_County,_Georgia."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Carroll County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 18-19. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.