Carroll County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Carroll County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Carroll County
 

Guide to Carroll County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Berryville and Eureka Springs
Organized: 1 November, 1833
Parent County(s): Izard [1]
Neighboring Counties
Barry (MO)  • Benton  • Boone  • Madison  • Newton  • Stone (MO)  • Taney (MO)
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasCarrollWestSideCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-carroll.png
Adoption

Scenic overlook in the heart of the Ozarks, Carroll County, Arkansas

County Information

Description

Carroll County, Arkansas was created from Izard County by a legislative act passed 1 Nov 1833. That act took effect on 25 Dec 1833, making the county Arkansas's 26th county. Prior to that, part of what is currently Northwest Arkansas and Northeast Oklahoma became Lovely County. Lovely County, which was intended as a residence for Native Americans, was in operation from 1827 to 1828. The Lovely County Citizen, published today in Carroll County's Eureka Springs, is named for the earlier county. Lovely County derived its name from William and Persis Lovely, a white couple who lived among the Cherokee. In Jan 1834, Carrollton became the county seat and remained so until 1875 or 1880 (sources differ), when Berryville took its place. Currently, the county has dual county seats, Berryville and Eureka Springs. King's River serves as the jurisdictional line between these two county seats, with Berryville serving as the primary seat. The White River flows through Carroll County. The area contains some of the most mountainous portions of the Ozark Mountains. The county has been noted for its oak and hickory forests and, currently, for poultry and beef production. Tourism is also a significant industry in Carroll County. This is largely because of Eureka Springs, known as "Little Switzerland." Eureka Springs is characterized by Victorian buildings clustered on steep mountain streets. The county's other county seat, Berryville, is home to the Saunders Museum.  The county is named after Charles Carroll (1737-1832) of Maryland. He was the last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence.[2] Carroll had died just the year before Carroll County was founded.

County Courthouse

There are two county seats in Carroll County, with the Berryville being the main courthouse:
Carroll County Courthouse
Carroll County website

Berryville:
210 W Church Street
Berryville, AR 72616-4233
Phone: 870.423.2022
Eureka Springs:
44 S. Main Street
Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Phone: 870-423-2422

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1870 and is in the courthouse in Berryville.
Clerk Circuit Court has land, divorce records from 1870 and has records located in both Berryville and Eureka Springs courthouses.[3]

Carroll County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1870 1914* 1870 1870 1870
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

  • 1869 - A courthouse fire in December 1869 destroyed all courthouse records dated up to that time.
  • 1870 - Fire burned the courthouse in 1870.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1833--Caroll County was created 1 November 1833 from Izard County.
  • County seat: Berryville[5]
  • Carroll County originally comprised most of what is today Boone, Newton, and Carroll Counties, along with a small area that is now in northeastern Pope County. 
  • Part of Carroll County became Madison County in 1836.
  • Part of Carroll County became Newton County in 1842.
  • The northern part of Madison County was added to Carroll County in 1867.
  • The eastern part of Carroll County became Boone County in 1869. 
  • Other minor boundary changes occurred in 1838, 1843, 1846, 1854, 1857, and 1869.

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Carroll County, Arkansas:

See also: Carroll County, Arkansas - Populated Place Names (Carroll County Historical Society)

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Arkansas County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [6]

Charles Carroll
  • 1808 - The Osage ceded their rights to northwest Arkansas to the government of the USA.
  • 1818 - The United States government established a reservation for the Western Cherokee.
  • 1828 - The reservation was given up, and the land became the property of the federal government once more.
  • 1833 - November 1, Carroll County was created
  • 1840s - William and Charles Sneed were the area’s first settlers.
  • 1840s - In the county’s early years, lumber mills appeared, farmers grew sustenance crops, and an abundance of game made for good hunting.
  • 1879 - The use of mineral springs in the western part of the county brought a rapid population increase in the area.
  • 1883 - The railroad reached Eureka Springs.
  • 1901 - Additional rail travel came to Carroll County with the completion of the St. Louis and North Arkansas line from Harrison (Boone County) to Green Forest, Berryville, and Eureka Springs
  • 1920s-1930s - Due to an economy based on agriculture, many residents had to seek employment elsewhere. Some headed to the oil fields in Oklahoma, others to California. Thus began a population decline that lasted until 1960.

See also:

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Biographies from The History of Carroll County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Carroll, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

1830

1840

  • 1840 Census Index (S-K Publications via GenWebArchives)
  • 1840 Census Index (Peggy Seidler via GenWeb Archives): Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4
  • 1840 U.S. Census, Carroll County, Arkansas. Wichita, KS: S-K Publications, [1987?]. WorldCat page
  • Worley, Ted R. United States Census (Index) Carroll County, Arkansas 1840; U.S. Census, Carroll County, Arkansas, 1850. Little Rock, AR: Arkansas History Commission, 1957. WorldCat page

1850

  • 1850 Census (Peggy Seidler via GenWeb Archives): Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4
  • 1850 Census Index (S-K Publications via GenWeb Archives)
  • 1850 Census Index (Peggy Seidler via GenWeb Archives): Part 1 | Part 2
  • 1850 Slave Schedule (Carroll County Historical Society)
  • Crisp, Robert M. Index to Heads of Households, Carroll Co., Arkansas 1850 Census. Fayetteville, AR: University of Arkansas College of Engineering, 1991. WorldCat page
  • Melson, James E. Arkansas, Carroll County, 1850 Census. Muskogee, OK: Self-published, 1995. WorldCat page
  • Presley, Mrs. Leister E. Carroll County, Arkansas, 1850. Searcy, AR: Self-published, 1970. WorldCat page
  • Schunk, John F. 1850 U.S. Census, Carroll County, Arkansas. Wichita, KS: S-K Publications, 1987. WorldCat page
  • Snow, Joy L. 1850 Carroll County, Arkansas. Marshfield, MO: J.L. Snow, n.d. Family History Library
  • Worley, Ted R. U.S. Census, Carroll County Arkansas, 1850. [1959?]. WorldCat page

1860

  • 1860 census index (Carroll County Historical Society)
  • Buckley, Sandra Johns. 1860 Federal Census Carroll County, Arkansas. Fair Play, MO: Self-published, 1991. WorldCat page

1870

1880

  • 1880 Census Images (GenWeb Archives)
  • 1880 Census Surname Index (Carroll County Historical Society)
  • Fayetteville Public Library Genealogy Dept. Partial Index to the 1880 Carroll County Arkansas Federal Census. Fayetteville, AR: Fayetteville Public Library, 1990. WorldCat page

1920

1930

  • "Census Work" (article about preparations for collecting the 1930 census), Green Forest Tribune, 22 Mar 1900 (Carroll County Historical Society)

Church Records

  • Flower Pentecostal Heritage Center, Springfield, MO: Eureka Springs figures prominently in the early 20th century pre-denominational history of Pentecostalism. The Flower Center houses a number of periodicals, photographs, and other archival materials pertaining to pre-World War I Pentecostalism in Eureka Springs, Carroll Co., AR.
  • Hicks, Freda Biggerstaff. Church Records of Union United Baptist Church, Carroll County, Arkansas. [AR?]: Self-published, 1989. WorldCat page

Court Records

The Clerk of the Circuit Court for Carroll County, at 210 West Church Street in Berryville, has court records dating from 1870.

  • Agee, Peg. Eureka Springs Feud Ends Deadly: Based on Actual Events - Court Transcripts Included. Bloomington, IN: Anchor House, 2008. Google Books preview

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Biographies: Extensive menu, primarily from Goodspeed's history (GenWeb Archives)
  • History and Families, Carroll County, Arkansas. Paducah, KY: Turner Publishing Co., 2003. WorldCat page
  • Russell, Jesse Lewis. Behind These Ozark Hills (manuscript). Family History Library
  • York, Courtney. Arkansas Carroll County Biographies, 1889. San Jose, CA: House of York, 1971. WorldCat page
  • Biographies from The History of Carroll County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Specific families:

  • [Bunch]: Bradley Bunch (Carroll County Historical Society)
  • [Chaney]: Chaney Log House (Historic American Building Surveys at Library of Congress)
  • [Gaskins]: Gaskins, John. Life and Adventures of John Gaskins in the Early History of Northwest Arkansas: True Tales by an Old Hunter. Eureka Springs, AR: Eureka Springs Historical Museum, [1980?]. WorldCat page
  • [Usrey]: Rob & Janie (Phillips) Usrey (Carroll County Historical Society)

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

The Clerk of the Circuit Court for Carroll County, at 210 West Church Street in Berryville, has land records dating from 1870.

  • Allen, Desmond Walls. Arkansas State Donation and Swamp Lands: Baxter, Boone, Carroll, Fulton, Izard, Madison, Marion, Newton, Searcy, and Stone Counties, 1855-2001. Conway, AR: Arkansas Research, 2003. WorldCat page
  • Allen, Desmond Walls, and Bobbie Jones McLane. Arkansas Land Patents, Carroll County: Granted Through 30 Jun 1908. Conway, AR: Arkansas Research, 1991. WorldCat page
  • Bureau of Land Management, General Land Office: Land patents for Carroll County can be searched and viewed online, with scans of the original documents accessible. Searching for Carroll County patents with no particular individual's name yields 205 pages of hits.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Bunch, Bradley. History of Carroll County Arkansas, 1876. (Carroll County Historical Society)
  • City of Eureka Springs: City History
  • Cragon, Harvey G. The Eureka Springs Railway: An Automobile Tour into the Past. Dallas, TX: Cragon Books, 2007.
  • Danielson, Kay Marnon. Eureka Springs, Arkansas (Images of America series). Chicago: Arcadia Publishing, 2001. Google Books preview
  • Eureka Springs History
  • Griffith, Rue. History of Rule Community, 1955. (Carroll County Historical Society)
  • Hanley, Ray, and Diane Hanley. Carroll and Boone Counties, Arkansas. Charleston, SC: Arcadia, 1999. WorldCat page
  • History and Families, Carroll County, Arkansas. Paducah, KY: Turner Publishing Co., 2003. Family History LibraryWorldCat page
  • History of Carroll County, Arkansas. Berryville, AR: Carroll County Historical Society, 2005 (reprint of Goodspeed's 19th century history with extra material added). WorldCat page
  • Keefe, James F., and Lynn Morrow, eds. The White River Chronicles of S.C. Turnbo: Man and Wildlife on the Ozarks Frontier. University of Arkansas Press, 1994. Google Books preview | publisher's page
  • Lair, Jim, ed. Carroll County Families: These Were the First. Berryville, AR: Carroll County Historical and Genealogical Society, 1991. Family History Library
  • Lair, Jim, and O. Klute Braswell. An Outlander's History of Carroll County, Arkansas, 1830-1983. Marceline, MO: Walsworth Publishing Co., 1983. Family History LibraryWorldCat page
  • A Pictorial Heritage of Carroll County, Arkansas. Paducah, KY: Turner Publishing Co., 2003. WorldCat page
  • History of Benton, Washington, Carroll, Madison, Crawford, Franklin, and Sebastian Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Ancestry.com ($)
  • Pioneer tales of Eureka Springs and Carroll County. Eureka Springs, Ark.: unknown,c1930. Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Carroll CountyBoone CountyNewton CountyMadison CountyWashington CountyBenton CountyMarion CountySearcy CountyTaney CountyStone CountyBarry CountyMcDonald CountyNewton CountyAdair CountyARCarroll.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Carroll County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Battalion, Arkansas Cavalry (Stirman's) (Confederate), Companies A, B and C
- 14th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Powers') (Confederate)
- 16th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies D and E
- 27th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and C (old), Company D

Online Records

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Carroll County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Miscellaneous

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

The County Clerk, at 210 West Church Street in Berryville, has probate records dating as early as 1870.

School Records

Tax Records

Tax records are housed at the county courthouse and at the Arkansas History Commission.

  • The Arkansas History Commission has two microfilms of Carroll County Tax records to be viewed in their research room. 1834-1838, 1840, 1841, 1844-1847, 1850-1853, 1855-1861, 1865-1868. These records are both poll and property taxes.
  • 1834 Tax List (Carroll County Historical Society)
  • Pyron, Shirley Hamby, and Juanita Norris Buell. 1890 Reconstructed Census of Carroll County, Arkansas, from 1890 Personal Property Tax Records. AR: Carroll County Historical and Genealogical Society, [1986?]. WorldCat page

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

The County Clerk, at 210 West Church Street in Berryville, has marriage records dating as early as 1870.

Death

  • Allen, Desmond Walls. Northwestern Arkansas Death Record Index: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Marion, Newton, Searcy, and Washington Counties. Conway, AR: Arkansas Research, 1996. WorldCat page
  • Parton, Reta DeShields, Tonya Parton Williams, and Vineta Wingate. Carroll County, Arkansas Burial Association, Member Deaths, 1941-1962. AR: R.D. Parton, [2002?]. WorldCat

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Charles Carroll of Carrollton, Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Carroll_of_Carrollton.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. C. J. Miller, The Encyclopedia of Carroll History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=752&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 11, 2016), “Carroll County.”
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.