Caroline County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Caroline County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Caroline County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
|County Seat||Bowling Green|
- 1 County Information
- 2 Caroline County Virginia History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Caroline County Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 Getting Started
- 4.2 Research Guides
- 4.3 African American
- 4.4 Bible Records
- 4.5 Cemeteries
- 4.6 Census
- 4.7 Church Records
- 4.8 Court Records
- 4.9 Genealogy
- 4.10 Immigration
- 4.11 Land and Property
- 4.12 Local Histories
- 4.13 Maps
- 4.14 Migration
- 4.15 Military
- 4.16 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.17 Naturalization
- 4.18 Newspapers
- 4.19 Occupations
- 4.20 Officials
- 4.21 Probate Records
- 4.22 Taxation
- 4.23 Vital Records
- 5 Caroline County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Caroline County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 Caroline County Virginia Genealogy References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Caroline County is located in the Eastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named in honor of Caroline of Ansbach, wife of the then reigning King, George II of Great Britain.
Caroline County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Caroline County Courthouse
P O Box 309
Bowling Green, Virginia 22427
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records 1787-1853,
land records from 1836
General compliance year is unknown.
Caroline County Virginia History[edit | edit source]
This county was named after Queen Caroline of Brandenburg-Ansbach, also known as simply Caroline of Ansbach (1683-1737), consort of King George II of Great Britain. The reason for this choice as to the county's name was because the county was organized in 1728 on the basis of a legislative act of 1727, the year that George assumed the throne.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
After the county's formation, additional land was added to Caroline County in 1742 and 1762 from King and Queen County.
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]American Civil War, 1861-1865 and, of those that are extant, many of those are scattered among the Virginia State Archives, the Caroline County Circuit Court, and the Circuit Court for the City of Fredericksburg. Postbellum land and probate records can be presumed to be housed at the Caroline County Courthouse. For a general assessment of the status of Caroline County's early records, see the following:
- Historical Connections to Caroline County (see bottom of page; RootsWeb)
Other record losses:
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
Weisiger abstracted a valuable source that includes deed, will, and marriage information about Caroline County, Virginia Genealogy residents:
- Burned County Data 1809-1848 As Found in the Virginia Contested Election Files. 1986. By Benjamin B. Weisiger. Richmond, Va. FHL Book 975.5 P2w.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill. Online at: Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle. Online at: Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Caroline County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Caroline County, Virginia Genealogy.
If you are researching families who lived in Caroline County, Virginia between the 1760s and 1790s, the Sparacios' books are a great time saver. They comprehensively index several publications covering that period:
- Surname Index of Antient Press Publications. 1993. By Ruth Trickey Sparacio and Sam Sparacio. McLean, VA : R. S. Sparacio, Antient Press. 14+ vols. FHL Collection 975.5 P22s v. 1-2; publisher's website: Antient Press.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties. By Virginia Lee Hutcheson Davis. Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t. For Caroline County, see p. 55.
- Research Opportunities in Caroline County. By Virginia Lee Hutcheson Davis. The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 18, No. 3 (May-June 1992):1-3. FHL Collection. Online at: Virginia Genealogical Society ($).
- A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Caroline County. By John Frederick Dorman. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1963):30-33. FHL Collection. Online at: American Ancestors ($).
African American[edit | edit source]
From 1790 to 1860, Caroline County had one of the largest slave populations in the state (10,292 in 1790; 10,672 in 1860).
Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans in Caroline County.
Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Caroline County, Virginia Genealogy cohabitation records are available online.
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Bibles at USGenWeb Archives - free.
- [Campbell] Major, Mrs. Nettie Leitch. "Campbell Family Bible, Caroline County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 24, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):117-118. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
For a list with provision for eventual inclusion of addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Caroline County, Virginia Cemeteries.
- Collins, Herbert Ridgeway.Cemeteries of Caroline County, Vol. 3: Private Cemeteries. Heritage Books, 2007 (covers about 170 cemeteries). Google Books page
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Caroline County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
Census (transcriptions and indices) (Caroline County U.S. GenWeb Archives)
1890 Veterans[edit | edit source]
- Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. c1994. By Ronald Ray Turner. Online at: Prince William County Virginia, FHL Collection; At various libraries (WorldCat).
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist[edit | edit source]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Bethel (1800)
- Bethesda Church, Port Royal, Va. (1847; RootsWeb)
- Burrus's (1773)
- County Line (1782)
- Liberty Baptist Church, Port Royal, Va. (1796; RootsWeb)
- Reeds (1773)
- Salem (1802)
- Tuckahoe (1774), Port Royal, Va. Later known as Upper Zion Baptist Church (RootsWeb).
- Zoar Church, Port Royal, Va. (1902; RootsWeb)
Caroline County fell within the bounds of the Goshen Association and the Dover Association.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Quaker[edit | edit source]
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Caroline Monthly Meeting (1739-1844)
Court Records[edit | edit source]
County Court[edit | edit source]
- 1772-1774 Order Book Abstracts of Caroline County, Virginia 1772-1774. 1993. By Ruth Sparacio and Sam Sparacio. McLean, VA : The Antient Press. 2 vols.
- Court transcriptions and abstracts Caroline County U.S. GenWeb Archives
Chancery Court[edit | edit source]
- Indexed images of Caroline County, Virginia Chancery Records 1787-1849 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. Additional records are available at the Caroline County Courthouse. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
- In addition to the index listed above, unindexed chancery court records pre-1913 records are also available in the Caroline County Circuit Court Clerk's Office.
- Suit -- Brown vs. Brown: Chancery Court Records in Caroline County, Virginia. 1950. By Anne Waller Reddy. MSS. Available at FHL. Rene (René, Rainey, or Renney) Parsons Brown of Caroline County was sued by John Brown of Franklin County.
District Court of Fredericksburg[edit | edit source]
The District Court of Fredericksburg and later the Superior Court of Chancery had jurisdiction over certain Caroline County court cases. An index has been compiled:
- Indexes of Court Records in the Clerk's Office, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1782-1904. Original records, Fredericksburg City Courthouse, Fredericksburg, Va., microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [Indexes the following records: District Court law book v. 8, 1782-1792; District Court law books 1790-1793, v. A-F 1789-1811; Superior Court of Law law order books v. G-H 1812-1831; Superior Court of Chancery chancery order books 1814-1831; Hustings Court orders v. A-O 1782-1871; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery law order books v. A-E 1831-1875; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery chancery order books v. A-D 1831-1872; Circuit Court chancery order books v. A2, B-C 1875-1904; Fredericksburg District Court (1789-1808) had jurisdiction over the following counties: Spotsylvania (including Fredericksburg), Caroline, King George, Stafford, Orange, and Culpeper; Superior Court of Chancery (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over the following localities: city of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fairfax, Lancaster, Northumberland, Madison, King George, Orange, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Essex, and Westmoreland.]
See also Historic Court Records for indexes of Apprentice Records, Clerk's Order Books, Court Records, Free Negro / Slave records, Inquests, Marriage Records, Mayor's Court, Military Records & Wills.
Superior Court of Chancery[edit | edit source]
See District Court of Fredericksburg
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
Compiled Genealogies by Surname
- See Caroline County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies for a list of 300+ Published books and articles, or jump to surnames using the alphabet bar.
Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Familes
- The Suttons of Caroline County, Virginia. 1941. By T. Dix Sutton. Richmond, VA : Richmond Press, Inc. Online at: Ancestry ($).
Immigration[edit | edit source]
Port Royal, on the Rappahannock River, was established as a port in 1652. It was incorporated as a town in 1744. Many ships carrying settlers landed there during the colonial period. No official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries, but a general chronology of shipping activities for that period has been prepared.
- List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Brunswick County are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
General[edit | edit source]
- Deeds (transcriptions and indices) (Caroline County U.S. GenWeb Archives)
Surveys[edit | edit source]
- Sparacio, Ruth Trickey and Sam Sparacio. Caroline County, Virginia County Surveys, 1729-1762, and Proceedings of Committee of Safety, 1774-1776. McLean, Virginia: Antient Press, 1997. Available at FHL.
Grants and Patents[edit | edit source]
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants 1694-1742. 1987. By Gertrude E. Gray. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Vol.1. Available at .
- Hudgins. 371 patents dated 1650-1752 in what is now Caroline County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- A History of Caroline County, Virginia From its Formation in 1727 to 1924. By Marshall Wingfield. Baltimore, Maryland : Regional Pub. Co. Printed 1969, 1975. Online at: Ancestry ($). Available at FHL.
- Caroline County In Howe's History Of Virginia 1845. 2008. By Alice Warner. Online at: Caroline County Virginia USGenWeb Archives
- Every Name Index to a History of Caroline County, Virginia. c2012. By Cathy L. O'Connor. Online at: Every Name Index.
- Historical Collections of Virginia : Containing a Collection of the Most Interesting Facts, Tradition, Biographical Sketches, Anecdotes, etc. Relating to its History and Antiquitites, Together with Geographical and Statistical Description, to Which is Appended an Historical and Descriptive Sketch of the District of Columbia. 1847. By Henry Howe. Charleston, South Carolina : Babcock. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Letters and Journal Written by Reuben Ellis McDaniel to His Wife (Delia Marie Richerson). 1842. Online at: RootsWeb.
- Skeletons in the Closet: 200 Years of Murders in Old Virginia; a Genealogical and Historical Resource. 2001. By Therese Fisher. Bowie, Maryland : Heritage Books. Available at FHL. Identifies Caroline County's sheriffs 1729-1780.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Caroline County, Virginia Creeks & Rivers (1751). Online at: VAGenWeb.
Migration[edit | edit source]
- Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1976):29-34. CD available at: American Ancestors ($), FHL.
Military[edit | edit source]
French and Indian War[edit | edit source]
- Caroline Men in the French and Indian War (RootsWeb)
- Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. By William F. Boogher. 2007. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Caroline County, see p. 69.
- Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL. Identifies some Caroline County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Caroline County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Caroline County supplied soldiers for the:
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Washington : Blair and Rives. Online at: Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat). See Virginia, Eastern District, Caroline County on page 129.
- Caroline County, Virginia County Surveys, 1729-1762, and Proceedings of Committee of Safety, 1774-1776. 1997. By Ruth Trickey Sparacio and Sam Sparacio. McLean, Virginia : Antient Press. FHL Collection
- Proceedings of the Committees of Safety of Caroline and Southampton Counties, Virginia, 1774-1776. Richmond, Virginia: Division of Purchase and Printing, 1929. FHL Collection
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. 1852. Washington, D.C. : Clearfield. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Collection with index and images at Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.
- Revolutionary War Pension Affidavits. Online at: Caroline County U.S. GenWeb Archives.
- Revolutionary War Soldiers from Caroline County. Online at: RootsWeb.
- Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data. c1913. By J. T. McAllister. Hot Springs, Virginia : McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Google Books; At various libraries (WorldCat).
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
Caroline County men served in the 6th and 30th Regiments.
- Guardian of the Star-Spangled Banner : Lt. Colonel George Armistead and the Fort McHenry Flag. 1999. By Scott Sumpter Sheads. Baltimore, Maryland : Toomey Press. FHL Book 921.73 Ar55.
- George Armistead, son of John Armistead and Lucinda Baylor, was born in 1780 at Bowling Green, Caroline County, Virginia. George married Louisa Hughes, daughter of Christopher Hughes Sr., on 26 Oct 1810 in Baltimore. They had 3 children. He was the commanding officer of Fort McHenry in Baltimore, Maryland on 13-14 Sep 1814. He kept the flag that was flying over the fort and passed it along to his descendants. In 1912, it was given as a gift to the Smithsonian National Museum. George died 25 Apr 1818 in Baltimore, Maryland.
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Caroline County, p. 66.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Caroline County men most often served in regiments (and companies) from their home county. At times, however, individuals and small groups can be found serving in a regiment of a neighboring county. Later in the war, Confederate units often reorganized. Men from Caroline County can be found in the following regiments:
- - 9th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Caroline Light Dragoons).
- - 9th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Caroline Light Dragoons).
- - 24th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company F.
- - 30th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Caroline Grays), Company F (Bowling Green Guards), Company G (Childsburg Light Infantry), and Company H (Sparta Grays).
- - 47th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Port Royal Guards).
- - Lightfoot's Battalion, "Caroline Light Artillery," (Confederate)
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry ($)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry ($)
- A Guide to Virginia Military organizations 1861-1865. 1986. By Lee A. Wallace. Lynchburg, VA : H. E. Howard, Inc. Available at: FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29
- A History of Caroline County, Virginia. 1975. By Marshall Wingfield. Baltimore, MD : Regional Publishing Co. Available at: FHL book 975.5362 H2w. Pages 235-251 contains muster lists for the companies that served in these regiments from this county.
- Caroline County Confederate Pension Rolls, Veterans and Widows. Online at: Caroline County U.S. GenWeb Archives.
- Confederate Pensioners List for Caroline County 1909. Online at: RootsWeb.
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]
The following Civil War battle was fought in Caroline County.
- May 23-26, 1864 North Anna, also known as Telegraph Road Bridge, Jericho Mill (May 23), Ox Ford, Quarles Mill, or Hanover Junction (May 24)
World War I[edit | edit source]
- Caroline County Men Who Served in World War I. RootsWeb.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
- 1607-2007 - Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Caroline County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
- The Caroline Progress, Bowling Green, VA (current newspaper).
- Virginia Gazette: Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
Occupations[edit | edit source]
- The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. 1952. By George Barton Cutten. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 U23c. Includes a section on Port Royal silversmiths.
Officials[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
A free index to Caroline County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1742-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.
- Digital Images of Caroline County Wills 1742, 1762-1830. See names of testators. Virginia Pioneers ($)
- Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. 1987. By William Lindsay Hopkins. Richmond, Virginia : W. L. Hopkins. Available at FHL.
- Wills transcriptions and indices. Online at: [http://usgwarchives.net/va/caroline.htm Caroline County U.S. GenWeb Archives
Online Probate Records
- 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850. Online at: Ancestry ($) — index to transcribed records, incomplete.
- 1742; 1762-1830 Images of Wills and Estates Virginia Pioneers ($).
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1783 Caroline County Personal Property List, 1783. William and Mary College Quarterly, 1st Series, Vol. 27 (1919):154-163. Online at: JSTOR ($), Caroline County U.S. GenWeb Archives. Available at FHL. Reprint in Virginia Tax Records. 1983. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. available at FHL.
- 1783 Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940. By Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, FHL 975.5 R4f 1978. 1783 personal property tax list of Caroline County.
- 1783-1799 Caroline County Personal Property Tax Lists 1783-1799. Online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
- 1787 The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. By Netti Schreiner-Yantis and Florene Speakman Love. c1987. Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print. At various libraries (WorldCat). The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Caroline County is included in Vol. 1.
- 1787-1789 Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790. By Robert Y. Clay. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1976):29-34; Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):113-118. FHL, American Ancestors ($). These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Some of Caroline County's 1789 Delinquent Lists appear on 20:29; 1787-1789 Delinquent Lists appear on 21:116-117.
- 1789-1797 Caroline County Land Tax Lists 1789-1797. Online at: Binns Genealogy ($).
- 1789, 1799 Land Tax Lists of Caroline County, Virginia. Online at: Binns Genealogy.
- 1789, 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Caroline County, Virginia. Online at: Binns Genealogy.
- 1800 Caroline County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1970):82-87; Vol. 14, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1970):112-116; Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):155-159. Online at: American Ancestors ($). FHL.
- 1815 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 1997-2000. By Roger D. Ward. Athens, Georgia : Iberian Pub. Co. 6 vols. FHL 975 E4w v. 2. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Caroline County is included in Vol. 3.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Caroline County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1866 - Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1864-1867 - Caroline County Birth Index 1864-1867.
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913
Beth Fridley has published the following indexes online at Ancestry:
- 1859-1868 - Caroline County, Virginia Births, 1859-68 (Except 1863). Online at: Ancestry ($).
- 1870-1880 - Caroline County, Virginia Births, 1870-1880. Online at: Ancestry ($).
- 1881-1896 - Caroline County, Virginia Births, 1881-96. Online at: Ancestry ($).
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1800 Virginia Marriages 1660-1800. Online at: Ancestry ($).
- 1660-1959 Virginia, United States Marriages. Online at: FindMyPast ($).
- 1740-1850 Virginia Marriages 1740-1850. Online at: Ancestry ($).
- 1777-1853 Marriages of Caroline County, Virginia, 1777-1853. 1998. By Therese A. Fisher. Heritage Books.
- 1787-1851 Caroline County Marriage Index 1787-1851. Online at: FamilySearch
- 1787-1852 Marriages Virginia Pioneers ($)
- 1824-1857 Caroline County Marriage Index 1824-1857. Batch M868741
- 1853-1935 - Virginia, Bureau of Vital Statistics, County Marriage Registers, 1853-1935 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1864-1899 Caroline County Marriage Index 1864-1899. FamilySearch.
- 1936-1988 Virginia, Marriage Certificates, 1936-1988
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1918-1988 - Virginia, Divorce Records, 1918-1988
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1896 Caroline County, Virginia: Bureau of Vital Statistics Death Records, 1853-1896. 1999. By Herbert Ridgeway Collins. Heritage Books.
- 1865-1867 Caroline County Death Index 1865-1867. Online at: FamilySearch.
- 1912-1987 Virginia Death Certificates, 1912-1987. Online at: FamilySearch
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Caroline County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Caroline County Genealogical Society, P.O. Box 9, Bowling Green, VA 22427
- Caroline Historical Society, P.O. 324, Bowling Green, VA 22427
- Caroline Library, 17202 Richmond Turnpike, Bowling Green, VA 22427
- Historic Port Royal (historical society)
- Tidewater Genealogical Society
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Caroline County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Caroline County (Geography of Virginia)
- Caroline County Genealogy (Yahoo Group)
- Caroline County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Caroline County Genealogy Queries (Cousin Connect)
- Caroline County Information (Home Town Locator)
- Caroline County, Virginia GenWeb (VA GenWeb)
- Caroline County, Virginia U.S. GenWeb Archives Project (different from Caroline County GenWeb, above)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- National Register of Historic Places Listings in Caroline County, Virginia (Wikipedia)
- Welcome to Caroline County, Virginia (official county site)
- Fredericksburg Family History Center
- Cyndi's List
- North Carolina Pioneers ($)
Caroline County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caroline County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Caroline County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- Wikipedia Contributors, "Caroline of Ansbach," in Wikipedia: The Free Online Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caroline_of_Ansbach, accessed 13 January 2012.
- Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 2, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
- Susan Chiarello, "George Harrison Sanford King's Card File," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 45, No. 1 (Feb. 2007):5. FHL Book 975.5 B2vs. Explanation by Barbara Vines Little.
- John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Burned County Data 1809-1848," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1987):60-61.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Caroline_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caroline_County,_Virginia accessed 19 Decamber 2019.
- Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
- Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 118-119, 186. Digital version at Google Books.
- Ralph Emmett Fall, Hidden Village, Port Royal, Virginia, 1744-1981 (Port Royal, Va.: R.E. Fall, 1982), 281. FHL Book 975.5362/P1 H2f.
- Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- Mary Marshall Brewer, Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 (Lewes, De.: Colonial Roots, 2002), Introduction. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b.
- "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Port Royal, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Port_Royal,_Virginia, accessed 30 May 2012.
- Ralph Emmett Fall, Hidden Village: Port Royal, Virginia, 1744-1981 (Verona, Va.: McClure Printing Company, Inc., 1982), 195-219.
- Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 64, 79. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- Robert K. Krick, 9th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 2.
- Darryl Holland, 24th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 128.
- Robert K. Krick, 30th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 4.
- Homer D. Musselman, 47th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 73.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.