Caroline County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Caroline County, Maryland)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Caroline County

Guide to Caroline County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Denton
Organized: June 15, 1773
Parent County(s): Dorchester and Queen Anne's [1]
Neighboring Counties
Dorchester  • Queen Anne's  • Talbot  • Kent (DE)  • Sussex (DE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Caroline County, Maryland courthouse.JPG
Location Map
MD Caroline map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Caroline Eden. The County has Denton as its seat and the County was created 1774. The County is located in the east central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Caroline County Courthouse
P O Box 207
109 Market Street, Room 123
Denton, MD 21629
Phone: 410-479-1811
Caroline County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, court and land records from 1774.
Register of Wills has death and probate records. [3]

Caroline County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1774 1898 1774 1688 1800

Record Loss

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1890

Boundary Changes

  • 1773 Caroline County was created 15 June 1773 from Dorchester and Queen Anne's Counties.
  • County seat: Denton. Pig Point was the original name of the county seat, until it was renamed as Denton. [4]

For animated maps illustrating Maryland county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Maryland County Boundary Maps" (1637-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Caroline County, Maryland:[5]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Caroline County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Caroline County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 9,506
1800 9,226 −2.9%
1810 9,453 2.5%
1820 10,108 6.9%
1830 9,070 −10.3%
1840 7,806 −13.9%
1850 9,692 24.2%
1860 11,129 14.8%
1870 12,101 8.7%
1880 13,766 13.8%
1890 13,903 1.0%
1900 16,248 16.9%
1910 19,216 18.3%
1920 18,652 −2.9%
1930 17,387 −6.8%
1940 17,549 0.9%
1950 18,234 3.9%
1960 19,462 6.7%
1970 19,781 1.6%
1980 23,143 17.0%
1990 27,035 16.8%
2000 29,772 10.1%
2010 33,066 11.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census reports available 1800-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

  • 1668-1995 Maryland, Church Records, 1668-1995 at FamilySearch — index
  • Guide to Maryland Religious Institutions is not intended to be a complete listing of all Religious institutions in Maryland. It was originally based upon the churches recorded by the Federal Works Progress Administration during a records survey conducted from 1935 to 1941. It has been expanded by later acquisitions from religious organizations to the Maryland State Archives.

Church of England

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Barnes, Robert W., F. Edward Wright, Vernon L. Skinner and Henry C. Peden. Colonial Families of the Eastern Shore of Maryland. 23 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line, 1996-2003; Lewes, Del.: Delmarva Roots and Colonial Roots, 2007. FHL US/CAN Book 975.21 D2b v. 1 ff. [Caroline County families appear in Vols. 7 and 11.]
  • [Genn] Hillman, Ralph E. "James Genn of Northumberland County, Virginia, and Some of His Descendants," The American Genealogist, Vol. 72, No. 1 (Jan. 1997):32-38; Vol. 72, No. 2 (Apr. 1997):101-108.
  • [Wright] Wright, Charles W. The Wright Ancestry of Caroline, Dorchester, Somerset and Wicomico Counties Maryland. Baltimore: Baltimore City Printing and Binding Co., 1907. Available at FHL

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Maryland State Archives has uploaded free images and indexes to the complete series of Caroline County Deed Books (1774-present). Visit their site to find the land records that interest you: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Free registration is required.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Mdcaroline.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Caroline County men served in the 5th Maryland Regiment.[6]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Caroline County on page 127.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Caroline County, pp. 139-140. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.
  • Wright, F. Edward Caroline County (Maryland) militia in the War of 1812, (1977) pages 65.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Caroline served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Caroline:

- 1st Regiment, Maryland Eastern Shore Infantry, Company D, E, F, and G:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

  • 1783 Caroline County Tax List of 1783: This is an alphabetical index to names to all property owners assessed. The index cards at the Maryland State Archives include county, hundred, names of tracts of land and whether individuals were paupers or single males as provided in the law.

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Caroline Historical Society
    The Museum of Rural Life
    Ridgely Historical Society
    16 N. Second St.
    Denton, MD 21629
    Phone: 410-479-2730
    Email: info@carolinehistory.org
    Website
  • Greensboro Historical Society
    111 South Main Street
    Greensboro, MD 21639
    Phone: 410-482-2100
    Email: gpnash1@gmail.com
    Website
    Facebook
  • Old Methodist Church Cemetery
    Greensboro Historical Society
    209 N. Main Street
    Greensboro, MD 21639
  • Preston Historical Society
    P. O. Box 661
    167 Main Street
    Preston, MD 21655
    Phone: 410-200-6547
    Email: prestonhistorical@gmail.com
    Website
    Facebook

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Caroline," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caroline_County,_Maryland."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Caroline County, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caroline_County,_Maryland, accessed 7 August 2018.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "5th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Caroline_County,_Maryland_Genealogy&oldid=3294871"