Carlton Miniott, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Carlton Miniott, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Carlton Miniott, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Thirsk|
|Parish registers: 1754|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1835|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
The church of ST. LAWRENCE at Carlton Miniott, which was rebuilt in 1896, replaces an older building. It consists of a chancel, nave and north vestry, and is of brick and stone in the style of the 15th century. The roof is gabled and tiled. Over the east gable of the nave is a timber bell-turret with a slated spire, containing one bell.
The plate consists of a silver chalice, paten and flagon, all of which have the London hall-marks for the year 1876.
The registers begin in 1706.
From A History of the County of York North Riding: Volume 2 (1923), pp. 58-70. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=64612 Date accessed: 13 May 2011.
CARLTON ISLEBECK or MINIOTT, a chapelry,in the parish and union of Thirsk, wapentake of Birdforth, N. riding of York, 2½ miles (W. by S.) fromThirsk; containing 313 inhabitants. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Carlton Miniott parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Carlton Miniott Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the North Yorkshire County Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.