Carleton Rode, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Carlton Rode, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Carleton Rode, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Depwade|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
CARLTON-RODE (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Depwade, E. division of Norfolk, 5 miles (S. E. by E.) from Attleborough. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists. 
Carleton Rode All Saints is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
The size of this church and it's neighbour Bunwell, Norfolk indicate the wealth of local landowners. Chancels of this size and age are rare, and were financed by rebuilding towards the end of the Middle Ages, as happened here with the nave. Despite subsequent renovation of the interior several of the consecration crosses from its original opening in the late 13th century remain.The three large panels of the original glass survive and are rare in East Anglia. Two of them depict Evangelistic symbols, the Ox of St Luke and the Eagle of St John,with scrolls declaring Luccas Bos and Johannes Aquila. The third depicts a king playing a harp, and is David from the Old Testament.
The original tower suffered collapse in the 18th century, resulting in the lower tower seen today.
Parish Records[edit | edit source]
Carleton Rode, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Carleton Rode, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records|
Original Records are deposited at the Norfolk Record Office reference PD 254/ 1-11
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
- 1891 Census Surname Index courtesy of Pat Greetham and Norfolk Transcription Archives
- 1891 Census Stray courtesy of Geoff Lowe and Norfolk Transcription Archives
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
- See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Norfolk Poor Law Unions
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Courtesy of Norfolk Transcription Archives:
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Carleton Rode on GenUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 520-523. Date accessed: 19 September 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
- Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.