To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Capenhurst, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Capenhurst, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Capenhurst, Cheshire
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Great Boughton & Chester
Registration District Cheshire West & Chester
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Parish Shotwick

Parish History[edit | edit source]

CAPENHURST, a township, in the parish of Shotwick, union of Great Boughton, Higher division of the hundred of Wirral, S. division of the county of Chester, 5¾ miles NNW from Chester.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Capenhurst Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Capenhurst Holy Trinity Parish (1859) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1752-1909
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
  NONE   NONE
FS BT'S 1859-1893
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1860-1894
  NONE

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Capenhurst, 1859-1990 Cheshire Record Office: P181/4449/1-2. Formerly a chapelry in Shotwick parish. Includes Ledsham (in Neston parish). Called St. Michael's Church.

Parish Registers: Capenhurst
Film
Baptisms, 1859-1990. Banns of marriages, 1860-1976.
2149187 Items 4 - 5

Bishop's transcripts for Capenhurst, 1859-1894 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 43

Bishops Transcripts: Capenhurst Film
Baptisms, 1859-1868, burials, 1860-1868, baptisms, 1867-1874, burials, 1868-1874, baptisms, 1874-1878, burials, 1874-1878, baptisms, 1892-1894, 1891-1892, burials, 1891-1894.
1647366 Item 7
Another filming, 1990.
1656840 Item 7

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Not Known

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]

  • Great Boughton (1837-69)
  • Chester (1870-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937-74)
  • Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
  • Cheshire West (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Great Boughton (1837-71)
  • Chester (1871-1930)

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 501-511. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

FamilySearch