Canyon County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Canyon County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Canyon County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||March 7, 1891|
|Address||1115 Albany Street|
Caldwell, ID 83605
Phone: (208) 454-7337
Fax: (208) 454-6689
|Named for: Snake River Canyon|
- 1 County Information
- 2 Quick Facts
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 5 Family History Centers
- 6 Archives and Libraries
- 7 Cemeteries
- 8 Census
- 9 Church History and Records
- 10 County Commissioners' Records
- 11 Court Records
- 12 Directories
- 13 History
- 14 Land and Property
- 15 Maps
- 16 Migration
- 17 Military History and Records
- 18 Miscellaneous Series
- 19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 20 Newspapers
- 21 Obituaries
- 22 Probate Records
- 23 Taxation
- 24 Vital Records
- 25 Societies, Libraries and Museums
- 26 Websites
- 27 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the canyon of the Boise River near Caldwell. The County Seat is Caldwell and was founded March 7, 1891. It is located in the west central area of the state.
Canyon County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Named for the Snake River canyon forming the natural boundary with Owyhee County.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
15 March 1915: Gem County created from parts of Boise and Canyon Counties
28 February 1917: Payette County created from part of Canyon County
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Canyon County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Canyon County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Canyon County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Caldwell.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center. Nampa Idaho Family History Center
Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Caldwell Public Library
1010 Dearborn St
Caldwell, ID 83605
Phone: (208) 459-3242
- Middleton Public Library
307 E Main St
Middleton, ID 83644
Phone: (208) 585-3931
- Nampa Public Library
101 11th Ave S
Nampa, ID 83651
Phone: (208) 468-5800
- Notus Public Library
387 First St
Notus, ID 83656
Phone: (208) 459-8247
- Patricia Romanko Public Library
121 N 3rd St
Parma, ID 83660
Phone: (208) 722-6605
- Wilder District Library
207 A Ave E
Wilder, ID 83676
Phone: (208) 482-7880
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Idaho Cemeteries for more information.|
There are many cemeteries in Canyon County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Canyon County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
- List of Canyon County stakes and wards to about 1948.
- The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Canyon County, Idaho prior to 1950.
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Canyon County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library'sFamily History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Canyon County courthouse in Caldwell, Idaho, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Canyon County that have been microfilmed include:
- Power of attorney, 1865-1948; index, 1865-1976
Directories[edit | edit source]
The Gem State Rural's 1916-17 Farm Directory of Canyon County, Idaho is available at the Idaho State Archives, the Nampa Public Library, and at the University of Idaho in Moscow. It lists landowners by town, including those owning land in these two counties, but residing elsewhere. The size of the family, amount of acreage owned, the location of the land, and a list of crops and livestock raised on each farm is also included.
History[edit | edit source]
The book Canyon County : A Treasure of Land and Its People is available at various libraries nationwide.
The Canyon County IDGenWeb has posted a brief history online.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are usually found in the county in which the transactions took place. In Canyon county you can visit the county courthouse located in Caldwell, Idaho to access these records.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed some of the earlier Canyon County records, and these can be viewed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed the following land and property records found in the Canyon County courthouse which can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of itsFamily History Centers:
- Declaration of homesteads, 1868-1919; index, 1868-1977
- Deeds, 1865-1902; index, ca. 1865-1902
Maps[edit | edit source]
In 1895 George Ogle published the "Standard Atlas of Canyon County, Idaho, Including a Plat Book of the Villages, Cities and Townships of the County; Map of the State, United States and World, Patrons Directory.”
Links to online maps include:
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Canyon County, Idaho Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Canyon County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452112) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Soldiers Discharge Records, 1919-1945, for Canyon County have been microfilmed and are available at both the Idaho State Archives in Boise and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City or at any of the Library's Family History Centers.
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Canyon County. The originals are held in the Canyon County courthouse in Caldwell, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Records of the naturalization of people born outside of the United States were often kept in the county courthouses of the respective counties of Idaho. One volume of Canyon County naturalization records are included in a Naturalization Index at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, available online.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Current[edit | edit source]
- Idaho Press - Tribune, based in Nampa.
Historical[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed the following Canyon County newspapers:
Blab: 1910:10:17, 1912:8:5, 11:11
Boise Valley Herald: 1928:6:14-1968:9:26
Boise Valley Herald: 1968:09:12
Caldwell Daily News: 1907:10:5-1923:4:30
Caldwell Daily News: 1920:10:29
Caldwell Daily News: 1922:06:26
Caldwell News: 1904:12:3, 1905:12:6, 1906:11:21
Caldwell News: 1918:10:03
Caldwell News: 1926:1:7-1928: 4:5
Caldwell News-Tribune: 1928:4:12-1975:12:31
Caldwell Progress Bulletin: 1959:10:14-1959:12:2
Caldwell Record: 1897:3:3, 1901:2:27
Caldwell Record: 1897:2:17, 1898:5:11, 8:17, 1900:2:7, 2:14
Caldwell Times, 1983: 1983:1: 13-1985: 4:17
Caldwell Tribune: 1883: 12:22-1926:12:31
Caldwell Tribune: 1895:6:8, 1898:5:21, 1906:11:24
Canyon County Weekly: 1969:5:1-1971:2:25
Canyon County Weekly Herald: 1971:5:4-1975:2:27
Canyon Herald: 1975:5:6-1982:8:25
County-Wide Sunday Limelight: 1951:11:18-1952:7:13
Daily Nampa Leader-Herald: 1930:10:23-1937:8:28
Daily Nampa Leader-Herald: 1926:2:16-1936:6:11
Gateway Journal: 1995:3:9-1995:11:9
Gem State Rural: 1895:9:15-1916:9:
Idaho Conservative: 1968:05:00
Idaho Free Press: 1919:4:9-1980:6:30
Idaho Granger: 1931:5:-1946:1:
Idaho Leader, 1899: 1899:10:28-1904:12:20
Idaho Leader, 1918: 1918:8:17-24, 1920:10:2-9
Idaho Leader, 1919: 1919:1:4-1919:12:20
Idaho Leader, 1920: 1920:1:3-1920:12:18
Idaho Press-Tribune: 1980:7:1-9999
Idaho Woman: 1897:04:15
Idaho's Lamplighter: 1950:1-1954:
Middleton Gazette: 1986:5:16-1995:12:7
Middleton Herald: 1907:6:28-1928:6:7
Nampa Evening Leader: 1907:4:1-1907:8:31
Nampa Leader: 1898:05:06
Nampa Leader: 1898:5:6-1904:11:8
Nampa Leader-Herald: 1904:12:27-1930:10:21
Nampa Progress: 1889:9:14-1895:1:18
Nampa Times: 1902:8:30, 1904:5:20
Parma Herald: 1903:10:17-1917:10:11
Parma Review: 1909:12:3-1993:6:29
Shovel: Vol. 1/1 No Date
Western Canyon Chronicle: 2002:12:12-2004:6:24
Wilder Herald: 1918:6:7-1969:4:25
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
The original probate records are maintained at the Canyon County courthouse in Caldwell, Idaho. Some of the earlier records of probate cases have been microfilmed and copies are available at the Idaho State Archives and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. These include:
- Wills, 1893-1939
- General index to probate records, 1885-1959
- Probate records, vols. 1-5, 1895-1926
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Existing tax assessment rolls for Canyon County should be in the county courthouse in Caldwell or in the Idaho State Archives in Boise.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Births[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1861-1911 - Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
The Birth Registers for Canyon County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Canyon County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Some Idaho births and christenings(1856-1965) are online.
Marriages[edit | edit source]
- 1864-1976 - Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 - Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 - Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Idaho marriages 1878-1898, 1903-1942 are online. The Marriage License and Certificates, books 1-13, 1892-1938 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. A Marriage Register, vol. 1-2, 1907-1930 and a book of Marriage Certificates, 1895-1900 are also available on microfilm the both the State Archives and the Family History Library.
Also use the Western States Marriage Index(website) to find your Canyon County marriages. There are 7,212 marriages dating from Jun 1880 to Jun 1942 in their collection.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1938-1961 - Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Death registers from 1907 to 1912 have been microfilmed by the Family History Library and are available through their loan system and at the Idaho State Archives Online are Idaho deaths and burials 1907-1965.
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
- Canyon County Historical Society
1122 Main Street, Caldwell, ID 83605-3844
Maintains Nampa Train Depot and Indian Creek Museum
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to Family History Centers
- Caldwell Idaho Family History Center
- Nampa Idaho Family History Center
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Canyon County Idaho GenWeb Project, part of The IDGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Canyon County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Canyon County, Idaho Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ida/canyon/
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Canyon County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at (accessed 18 July 2011).