To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Canelones, Uruguay Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Uruguay Wiki Topics
Flag of Uruguay.svg.pgn.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Uruguay Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Canelones Department ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History[edit | edit source]

  • The department of Canelones was created on January 27, 1816.
  • The department of Canelones has a population of approximately 520,000 people. [1]

Municipalities[edit | edit source]

The map below is of municipality boundaries as of 2009. (As of a law in 2009, the Uruguayan departments have been subdivided into municipalities.) Researching at municipal level before that time may not be relevant to your research.

Aguas Corrientes18 de MayoLa PazLas PiedraProgresoToledoSuárezBarros BlancosColonia NicolichPaso CarrascoCiudad de la CostaPandoSalinasEmpalme OlmosParque del PlataLa FlorestaAtlántidaMontesCanelonesSauceSanta RosaSan AntonioSan BautistaSan RamónSanta LucíaSan JacintoSocaMiguesTalaLos CerrillosCanelones Department Map.png

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

  • See the municipality.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento de Canelones," in Wikipedia: The free encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_de_Canelones. Visited September 3, 2018.