To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Campbell County, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Campbell County, Virginia
Map
Map of Virginia highlighting Campbell County
Location in the state of Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1781
County Seat Rustburg
Courthouse
VirginiaCampbellCourthouse.jpg


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Campbell County is located in the Piedmont area of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for General William Campbell, the Revolutionary War hero famous for his leadership in defeating the Tories and Loyalists at the Battle of King’s Mountain in the Carolinas[1].

Campbell County Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Campbell County Courts
P.O. Box 7
732 Village Highway
Rustburg, VA 24588-0007
Phone: (434) 592-9517 Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1912-1918
marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1782[2]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1912 1782 1912 1782 1782 1782 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Campbell County Virginia History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1781--Campbell County was created 5 November 1781 from Bedford County.
County seat: Rustburg [2]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Campbell County Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Campbell County Virginia Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Campbell County. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1962):176-179. CD available at: American Ancestors ($). Available at FHL.

African American[edit | edit source]

In 1860, Campbell County had one of the largest slave populations in the state (11,580 slaves). Ten years later in 1870, it had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia (14,343) - the town of Lynchburg in particular.[4]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:


Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
VAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
VAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Virginia Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Campbell County, Virginia Cemeteries.

The following is a list of cemeteries in Campbell County:[5]

  • Altavista Memorial Park
  • Arch Creek Cemetery
  • Beulah Cemetery
  • Burford Cemetery
  • Candler Cemetery
  • Carson Cemetery
  • Dodson Cemetery
  • Drinkard Cemetery
  • Feagans Cemetery
  • Franklin Cemetery
  • Gilliam Cemetery
  • Grace Cemetery
  • Green Hill Cemetery
  • Merryman Cemetery
  • Mount Hermon Cemetery
  • Mount Moriah Cemetery
  • Mount Olivet Cemetery
  • Old Bethany Cemetery
  • Perrow Cemetery
  • Prebble Cemetery
  • Reynolds Cemetery
  • Rosser Cemetery
  • Silver Grove Cemetery
  • Torrence Cemetery
  • Tweedy Cemetery
  • Vaughn Cemetery
  • Wickliff-Rush Cemetery

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.


Historical populations
Census Pop.
17907,685
18009,86628.4%
181011,00111.5%
182016,56950.6%
183020,35022.8%
184021,0303.3%
185023,24510.5%
186026,19712.7%
187028,3848.3%
188036,25027.7%
189041,08713.3%
190023,256−43.4%
191023,043−0.9%
192026,71615.9%
193022,885−14.3%
194026,04813.8%
195028,87710.9%
196032,95814.1%
197043,31931.4%
198045,4244.9%
199047,5724.7%
200051,0787.4%

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Burton's Creek (1806)[6]
  2. Ebenezer[6]
  3. Lower Falling (1792)[6]
  4. New Chapel[6]
  5. Seneca[6]

Campbell County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association, the Roanoke Association, and the Strawberry Association.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Gotoarrow.png See also Russell Parish

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Campbell County is available online.[7]

Quaker[edit | edit source]

Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

South River Meeting House Graveyard database at Find A Grave. (64+ entries)

In the 1700s and 1800s, Friends from Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy also attended the Cedar Creek Meeting House in Hanover County, Virginia.[12]

  • Jane Douglas Summers Brown and Jones Memorial Library. Jane Douglas Summers Brown (1903-) Quaker Records: Jones Memorial Library (Lynchburg, Virginia); MS 1515. MSS, Jones Memorial Library, Lynchburg, Va. Available on 26 microfilms at FHL. Includes records of Campbell County Quakers; Brown assisted William Wade Hinshaw in the writing of the Virginia volume of the Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy.
Presbyterian[edit | edit source]
  • History of Hat Creek Church. 1834. By William Irvin. Columbia, SC : n.p. Online at: Hathitrust

Court[edit | edit source]

Chancery Court

  • Indexes (1793-1946) and images (1793-1914) to Campbell County, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[13]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

More than 175 genealogies have been published about Campbell County families. To view a list, visit Campbell County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.

  • The Campbell Clan in Virginia. 1954. By Leslie Lyle Campbell. Lexington, VA : The Virginia Book Co. Online at: Hathitrust

Immigration[edit | edit source]

  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. By Peter Wilson Coldham. 2007. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co. At various libraries (WorldCat). Includes wills of residents of Albemarle County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 11 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Lynchburg, Campbell County.[14]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Campbell Chronicles and Family Sketches: Embracing the History of Campbell County, Virginia, 1782-1926. 1927. By Ruth Hairston Early. Lynchburg, VA : J.P. Bell Co. Online at: FamilySearch Books, Ancestry ($).
  • Index to Mrs. Cabell's Sketches and Recollections of Lynchburg. Bulletin of the Virginia State Library, Vol. 13, No. 3 (Jul. 1920):35-45. Online at: FamilySearch Books Online.
  • Lest It Be Forgotten : A Scrapbook of Campbell County, Virginia. 1976. By Historical Committee of the Bicentennial Commission of Campbell County, Virginia. Altavista, VA : Altavista Printing Co. Online at: FamilySearch Books.
  • Virginia and Virginians : Eminent Virginians (from Settlement of Jamestown to Close of the Civil War). 1888. By Dr R. A. Brock. Richmond, VA : H. H. Hardesty, Publisher. Online at: Hathitrust.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Lynchburg (Independent City)Amherst CountyAppomattox CountyCharlotte CountyHalifax CountyPittsylvania CountyBedford CountyVA CAMPBELL.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 1966. By Katherine B. Elliott. South Hill, Virginia : K.B. Elliott. 2 vols. Vol. 1 online at: Ebook download, FHL. Vol 1-2 1983 reprints at FHL. Vol 1-2 1990-1992 reprints at FHL. Includes individuals who migrated out of Campbell County to other parts of the country.

Military[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War[edit | edit source]
  • Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. By Lloyd DeWitt Bockstruck. 1988. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 M2bL.
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Campbell County on page 129.
  • A List of Soldiers Who Made Declaration of Service in Revolutionary War. By W.S. Morton. Campbell County, VA. The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1962):79. Available at JSTOR ($) .
  • King's Mountain and Its Heroes : History of the Battle of King's Mountain, October 7th, 1780, and the Events Which Led to It. 1881. By Lyman C. Draper, LL.D. Cincinnati, OH : Peter G. Thomson, Publisher. Online at: Hathitrust.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include an Added Index to States. FHL Book 973 M24ur. Online at: Ancestry ($). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Revolutionary War Soldiers from Campbell County, Virginia. By Harriett A. Chilton. The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):297-298. Available at FHL. CD available at: New England Ancestors ($).
War of 1812[edit | edit source]

Campbell County men served in the 53rd and 117th Regiments.[15]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Campbell County, pp. 65-66.]
  • Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. 2007. By James L. Douthat. Signal Mountain, Tennessee : Mountain Press. Online at: Mountain Press ($) with Free online surname index. FHL Collection.
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy:

- 1st Regiment, Virginia Artillery (Confederate). Company C (1st) (Lynchburg Beauregard Rifles Artillery)
- 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Wise Troop), Company C (Botetourt Dragoons), Company I (Campbell Rangers)
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).[16]
- 28th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Clifton Grays).[17]
- 34th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Davis Artillery).[18]
- 42nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Campbell-Lee Guards) and Company I (Campbell Guards).[19]

Records and histories are available, including:

  • Page's Battery or Morris Artillery, 2d Corps, Army Northern Virginia. 1885. By One of the Company. New York, NY : Thomas Smeltzer, Stationer and Printer. Online at: Hathitrust.

Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Jones Memorial Library has a free online obituary index to many local newspapers. They also have a great collection of newspapers accessible in their facility.

The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.

Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.

Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. 1952. By George Barton Cutten. Richmond, Virginia : The Dietz Press, Incorporated. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 U23c. Includes a section on Liberty (now Bedford) silversmiths and watchmakers.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

A free index to Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1782-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.

Local Court

  • Virginia Wills Before 1799: A Complete Abstract Register of All Names Mentioned in Over Six Hundred Recorded Wills, ... Copied from the Court House Records of Amherst, Bedford, Campbell, Loudoun, Prince William and Rockbridge Counties. 1924. By William M. Clemens. Pompton Lakes, NJ : Biblio Co. Online at: Access Genealogy, Ancestry ($), Heritage Quest Online ($). Free online surname index and 2004 reprint purchase details at Mountain Press ($).

A free index to Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy wills and administrations (1754-1800) is available at the Library of Virginia.

London Courts

  • North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. 2007. By Peter Wilson Coldham. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. Includes wills of Lynchburg residents proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Online Campbell County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Land 1783 - - - - -
Personal Property 1785, 1785 - - - 1785 1785
Personal Property - - - - 1786 1786
Personal Property - - - - 1787 1787
Land - - - - 1787 -
Personal Property - - - - 1788 1788
Land - - - - 1788 -
Personal Property - - - - 1789 1789
Personal Property - - - - 1790 1790
Land - - - - 1790 -
Personal Property 1791 - - 1791 1791 1791
Land - - - - 1791 -
Personal Property - - - - 1792 1792
Personal Property - - - - 1793 1793
Land - - - - 1793 -
Personal Property - - - - 1794 1794
Land - - - - 1794 -
Personal Property - - - - 1795 1795
Land - - - - 1795 -
Personal Property - - - - 1796 1796
Land - - - - 1796 -
Personal Property - - - - 1797 1797
Land - - - - 1797 -
Personal Property - - - - 1798 1798
Personal Property - - - - 1799 1799
Personal Property 1800 - 1800 1|2|3 1800 1800 1800
Land - - - - 1800 -
Personal Property - - - - 1801 1801
Land - - - - 1801 -
Personal Property - - - - 1802 1802
Land - - - - 1802 -
Personal Property - - - - 1803 1803
Personal Property - - - - 1804 1804
Land - - - - 1804 -
Personal Property - - - - 1805 1805
Land - - - - 1805 -
Personal Property - - - - 1806 1806
Personal Property - - - - 1807 1807
Personal Property - - - - 1809 1809
Land - - - - 1809 -
Personal Property - - - - 1810, 1810 1810
Land - - - - 1810 -
Personal Property - - - - 1811 1811
Land - - - - 1811 -
Personal Property - - - - 1812 1812
Land - - - - 1812 -
Personal Property - - - - 1813 1813
Personal Property - - - - 1814 1814
Land - - - - 1814 -
Personal Property - - - - 1815-1850 -
Land - - - - 1816-1843 (gaps) -

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

Bibliography

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
  • 1782-1810 - Marriages of Campbell County, Virginia, 1782-1810. c1971. By Lucy Harrison Miller Baber. Lynchburg, Virginia : L.H.M. Baber and H.L. Williamson. Available at FHL. Online at: Ancestry ($) - 1980 edition.
  • 1782-1936 - Campbell County Marriage Index 1782-1936. Batch M868587.[20]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Gotoarrow.png See also Newspapers

The website of Jones Memorial Library includes a free online index to records of several local twentieth century funeral homes.

Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]

Indexes to Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records

The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available at FamilySearch. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.


Campbell County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Campbell County Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]

Campbell County Virginia Genealogy References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.co.campbell.va.us/377/County-History
  2. 2.0 2.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Campbell County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Campbell County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
  4. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive. 1872). Washington, DC : Government Printing Office, pg 70. Online at: Internet Archive. Available at FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  5. USGS Map, Topozone.com
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272, 303-304, 338-339. Digital version at Google Books.
  7. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  9. James Pinkney Pleasant Bell, Our Quaker Friends of Ye Olden Time: Being in Part a Transcript of the Minute Books of Cedar Creek Meeting, Hanover County, and the South River Meeting, Campbell County, Va (Lynchburg, Va.: J.P. Bell Company, 1905). FHL Book 975.5 K2bj; digital version at Google Books - free.
  10. F. Edward Wright, Quaker Records of South River Monthly Meeting, 1756-1800 (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1993). FHL Book 975.567 K2w.
  11. William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
  12. Mary Marshall Brewer, Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 (Lewes, De.: Colonial Roots, 2002), Introduction. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b.
  13. "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
  14. British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812. 1979. By Kenneth Scott. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Publishing Co., pgs 320-333. Online at: Ancestry ($), available at FHL Book 973 W4s; At various libraries (WorldCat).
  15. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 62. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  16. Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
  17. Frank E. Fields, 28th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 15.
  18. Johnny L. Scott, 34th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 135.
  19. John Chapla, 42nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 5.
  20. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Online at:https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.