Campbell County, Kentucky Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kentucky
Campbell County

Guide to Campbell County, Kentucky ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Newport
Organized: December 17, 1794
Parent County(s): Mason, Scott, Harrison[1]
Neighboring Counties
Clermont (OH)  • Hamilton (OH)  • Kenton  • Pendleton
See County Maps
Courthouse
Campbell County Courthouse, Newport, KY
Location Map
Campbell County svg.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

The County was named for John Campbell. The County has Alexandria and Newport as its seats and the County was created December 17, 1794. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Campbell County Courthouse
340 York Street
Newport, KY 41071
Phone: 859-292-3845[3]
Campbell County Website

Campbell County, Kentucky Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1852 1785 1852 1791 1785 1785 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1794--Campbell County was created 17 December 1794 from Mason, Scott and Harrison Counties. Campbell has two courthouses, one at Alexandria and one at Newport.
  • County seat: Newport[5]

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
  • Flagg Spring
  • Grants Lick
  • Gubser Mill
  • Hawthorne
  • Kohler
  • Oneonta
  • Persimmon Grove
  • Reeses Settlement
  • Ross
  • Tug Fork (hist.)
  • Twelve Mile (hist.)
  • Wilmington (hist.)
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • Biographies, Kentucky Biographies Project
  • Pictorial and Industrial Review of Northern Kentucky. Historical Souvenir, Nineteen Hundred and Twenty-three, Kenton and Campbell Counties. 1923. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free. Photographs and short bios of leading citizens of the county.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Campbell, Kentucky online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kentucky Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites have additional information on Campbell county cemeteries.

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1800 1,903
1810 3,473 82.5%
1820 7,022 102.2%
1830 9,883 40.7%
1840 5,214 −47.2%
1850 13,127 151.8%
1860 20,909 59.3%
1870 27,406 31.1%
1880 37,440 36.6%
1890 44,208 18.1%
1900 54,223 22.7%
1910 59,369 9.5%
1920 61,868 4.2%
1930 73,391 18.6%
1940 71,918 −2.0%
1950 76,196 5.9%
1960 86,803 13.9%
1970 88,704 2.2%
1980 83,317 −6.1%
1990 83,866 0.7%
2000 88,616 5.7%
2010 90,336 1.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Campbell County, Kentucky Genealogy census records online, see: Kentucky Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

More information about African American resources in Kentucky can be found on the Kentucky African Americans and the United States African Americans Wiki pages.

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Campbell County, Kentucky Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Hamilton CountyClermont CountyKenton CountyPendleton CountyBracken CountyKY CAMPBELL.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Campbell County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 53rd Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company F

World War I

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Campbell County, Kentucky Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Campbell County, Kentucky Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Campbell County, Kentucky Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977 for Caldwell, Henry, Hickman, Russell and Trimble counties. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Campbell County Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Campbell County Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Campbell County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campbell_County,_Kentucky."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Campbell County, Kentucky page 269, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Campbell County, Kentucky. Page 268-276 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 251-254.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kentucky. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Campbell County, Kentucky," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campbell_County,_Kentucky, accessed 6 August 2018.
  7. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.

Retrieved from "http://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Campbell_County,_Kentucky_Genealogy&oldid=3452817"