To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Cameroon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Cameroon Wiki Topics
Flag of Cameroon.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Cameroon Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Cameroon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Cameroon is a country in Africa bordered by Nigeria, Chad, Central African Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and the Republic of the Congo. Portions of the country were formerly colonies of Germany, France, and Great Britain. The official languages are French and English.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Cameroon Research

Links to articles on getting started with Cameroon research.

Cameroon Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Cameroon research.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Cameroon Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Cameroon.

Provinces of Cameroon EN.png


Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Cameroon. Regions:

  • Adamawa (Adamaoua)
  • Centre (Centre)
  • East (Est)
  • Far North (Extrême-Nord)
  • Littoral (Littoral)
  • North (Nord)
  • Northwest (Nord-Ouest)
  • South (Sud)
  • Southwest (Sud-Ouest)
  • West (Ouest)

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.


References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Cameroon," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cameroon, accessed 4 May 2016.