Cameron Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Cameron Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Cameron Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 15, 1870|
|Address||PO Box 1280|
Cameron, LA 70631
Cameron Parish Clerk of Court Website
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American
- 5.2 Biographies
- 5.3 Cemeteries (in rural areas)
- 5.4 Census
- 5.5 Church
- 5.6 Court
- 5.7 Gazetteers of Places/Localities
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 Thanks to the Cameron Parish Wiki Contributors
- 9 References
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Simon Cameron. The County has Cameron as its seat and the County was created 1870. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.
Cameron Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Cameron Parish Courthouse
119 Smith Road
Cameron, LA 70631-0549
Parish Clerk has marriage, probate, divorce, court and
land records from 1870 and military discharge records
from 1918 
History[edit | edit source]
- Named for Simon Cameron, first Secretary of War under Abraham Lincoln, the 16th President of the United States
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
- 1870--Cameron Parish was created 15 March 1870 from Calcasieu and Vermilion Parishes.
Parish seat: Cameron 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- Northeast portion set off to create Jefferson Davis Parish 12 June 1912.
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries (in rural areas)[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on Cameron Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
- African American Cemeteries, listing by county
- Cemetery Resources and Information
Census[edit | edit source]
- Cameron Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Cameron Parish Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Roman Catholic
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- Cameron Parish Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Gazetteers of Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
- United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Cameron Parish (over 525 entries)
(may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.) Requires login.
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Cameron Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Cameron Parish History Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
- Cameron Parish Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1883 - Cameron Parish List of Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1920 - Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War I[edit | edit source]
- World War I Draft Records (Genealogy Trails)
- Civilian Draft Registration, Cameron Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
- Discharge Papers, WWI, Cameron Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- World War II Missing and Dead (Army and Army Air Force) Cameron Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Project)
Korean War[edit | edit source]
- Korean War Fatal Casualties, Cameron Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Project)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
LSU Special Collection
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cameron Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Cameron Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1874-1883 - Cameron Parish Marriages - Brides, 1874-1883 (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1874-1883 - Cameron Parish Marriages - Grooms, 1874-1883 (USGenWeb Archives)
- Cameron Parish Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 - Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- The Southwest Louisiana Genealogical Society, Inc.
PO Box 5652
Lake Charles, LA 70606-5652
- Cameron Parish Historical and Genealogical Society
PO Box 1107
Cameron, LA 70631
- Louisiana Historical Society
428 Hector Ave
Metairie, La. 70005-4412
- Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - link to search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch.org FamilySearch Catalog for Cameron Parish.
- The Cameron Parish LAGenWeb Project, a member of The LAGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Cameron Parish.
- Cameron Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Cameron Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Cameron Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
Thanks to the Cameron Parish Wiki Contributors
[edit | edit source]
Contributors are people who write and edit the pages for FamilySearch Wiki. Thanks to the following contributors for helping to build this page (in alpha order). Anyone can be a contributor. Add content today!
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Cameron, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cameron_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cameron Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Aurora County, Louisiana, p.289
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Cameron Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cameron_Parish,_Louisiana, accessed 31 December 2019.